We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome”
Review of The Rothesay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rothesay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Highcliffe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great welcome”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Welcomed with a huge pot of fresh coffee and some home made cake "on the house". Good,, clean room, superb cooked to order breakfasts and plenty of parking spaces. Well situated for forest or beach holidays. Warm swimming pool for all the family. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a four poster bed and the room included a sofa area for watching the Tv. Nice and airy room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidaymaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    50
    22
    16
    19
See reviews for
48
118
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Been here loads as come to this part of the world quite often. The Rothesay just gets better and better. Attentive, helpful and friendly staff (and son!), very clean and well appointed room, great breakfasts. They've upgraded the swimming pool/sauna area, outdoor seating space and the entrance area so I got: huge pot of tea and lovely cake upon arrival, great room, two visits to the pool/sauna (1hr each - me in there alone!!) and friendly ane attentive care throughout. Excellent value for money and I'll just keep going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Lovely hotel and although on the main road is very peaceful. Staff very helpful and attentive, great breakfast, great room and lots of outside seating. Complimentary tea and delicious cake on arrival and plenty of off street parking in the grounds. Very pleased and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKKAMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I booked the place online via another website but accidentally put the wrong dates so I was very surprised when the owner rang me saying he was expecting me. I checked my booking and was very frustrated to see the mistake I made but as it was my fault I took it on the chin and had to pay the full price.
I rang the owner Michael next day and apologized and asked if I can book again, this time for the correct dates. He was very kind and offered me a discount on the booking which was much appreciated.
The stay at the BnB was amazing and the hosts were very nice. I loved our room and the tidiness of the place. The patio area was very nice and the swimming pool was a very good touch to the place over all I can't fault the place and would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asim2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed for two nights over the bank holiday and loved the place. It was very quiet and the room was nice. Breakfast was good . Michael was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Beowulf stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, Surrey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Trying to find a hotel in Highcliffe that would take a single night booking over a bank holiday is difficult, so many thanks to the Rothesay for accomodating us.

Outside the courtyard is a nice sun trap and there is a good size car park out the front.

Yes the hotel is on a main road, but the main building is set back, so you don't walk out the front door onto a busy road the car park is first, so i don't see this as a problem. Also its busy depending on your time of visit, like us we stayed on a bank holiday and the weather was good so there were a lot of people off ot the beach.

The room we had was small, but it had what we wanted and for a single night was not a real issue. Had a nice shower and the room was clean and tidy.

Breakfast was fine and like our room, met our needs without being exceptional.

Were woken up at 8 by what sounded like someone hoovering, but not the end of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank localpint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Rothesay. On arrival we were greeted by Michael the owner who immediately offered us a complimentary drink of tea or coffee. After depositing our luggage in our room we made our way to the patio area. The sun was shining and the patio was lovely. Michael then arrived with our drinks and home made cake. I ask, what more could you possibly ask for. A good size reasonably priced clean room I hear you say, well that was on the bill also, along with a great breakfast. The hospitality was second to none. Add to that the location, with Highcliffe Castle and the town literally just a few minutes away. Would highly recommend this hotel and if I am ever in the Dorset area again will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highcliffe
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rothesay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rothesay Hotel

Property: The Rothesay Hotel
Address: 175 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Rothesay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rothesay Hotel Highcliffe, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing