We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Welcome”
Review of The Rothesay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rothesay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Highcliffe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed for one night at the Rothersay. The welcome I received was wonderful, and offered a cup of tea on arrival. The room was OK, but a little noisy. Breakfast was full English and very good and overall, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

I would just like to say ( from myself and my partner Andy) we had a marvellous stay. Fabulous night sleep as bed was so comfortable. Very elegant rooms and your kindness for accommodating us was very much appreciated. We would definitely recommend staying at the Rothesay, with the castle and beach almost your garden.
This trip was a lets not go home trip!!! We found it on Google, looked through the list and favoured The Rothesay. And really glad we did, Michael met us at the door and was really welcoming and even made us a cup of tea.


Thank you

Kindest regards

Karla

Room Tip: Rooms are ample , shower room clean and practical. close to local castle attraction and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I'm not sure I stayed in the same hotel as previous reviewer as we had a great weekend. I left my husband to book and was thrilled with his choice. Within a short walk of highcliffe castle and the beach you'd have no idea it was so close. On arrival we pressed the bell at reception and dee arrived straight away. I have to say she was very welcoming and suggested the galleon nearby for dinner that evening. She also asked us what time WE would like breakfast so we felt customers came first. Our room was huge and lovely and warm. We had a four poster which was very comfortable with crisp white sheets. The complimentary toiletries smelt divine. We had a great nights sleep I have to say. There was a great choice for breakfast and when our cooked breakfast came it was piping hot. A lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I must try to explain to any potential visitor that there is so much wrong with this unprofessional, un-kept, bed and breakfast/hotel. Unclean,uncomfortable and nothing as described in any of the adverts. The indoor pool is hired out to public for swimming lessons and children's parents sit outside some of the rooms, so no privacy! The room was in an annex building which was not fresh,shower had no pressure, drainage was poor and with no extraction hence damp bedroom. Bed was lumpy and old,it would have been a nightmare if sleep was possible!! Don't go to breakfast hungry as the full English, isn't!! Pet free - except for owners husky dog and neighbors husky's that meet up at the hotel prior to their walks!!! The licensed hotel/bed and breakfast is honestly tired and without basic comfort. The car park has a pebble drive which alerts you to each car movement whatever the time of night!! Well I could go on and on but all I can say now is save your money, there are much better places to stay including a premier inn about 500 metres up the road.
I have not written my review until now as I have been corresponding with the owner who was trying to claim TWO fees for our stay in this appalling bed and breakfast/hotel. All in all a most unwelcoming place to visit and stay.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before parting with your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Family run business with great accomodation, including a good sized indoor pool which is unusual in a B&B, great breakfast, everywhere very clean and everyone very helpful, would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zephyr782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here with a friend whilst attending a function at another hotel close by that was fully booked. It is only a bed and breakfast but dining facilities are offered at adjacent hotels if you need them. The breakfast was very good. There is an indoor swimming pool and sauna which the owner switched on just for me. My room was adequate but strange with wooden Venetian blinds at the window - no curtains - as in the summer it would be very light even with them closed. A nice touch was tea served in their lounge area with mince pies. A pleasant night's stay and within walking distance to Highcliffe Castle.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank BobH764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Well what can I say Dee and Michael made us very welcome, rooms was lovely, hotel very clean, breakfast wonderful great variety, full English was superb, bacon had no fat on at all, and not a sign of oil any where, would highly recommend this hotel, and we will defiantly be going back

Room Tip: If you need a ground floor they have plenty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank red54ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highcliffe
0.1 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
401 reviews
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
763 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
407 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rothesay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rothesay Hotel

Address: 175 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highcliffe
Price Range: £72 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Rothesay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rothesay Hotel Highcliffe, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing