We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of The Rothesay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rothesay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Highcliffe B&B and Inns
ipswich
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at the Rothesay Hotel, we had a fantastic stay from start to finish.
As a family run business they do an excellent job, always have a Hello and a smile.
On our arrival we sat out in the lovely garden area with a very welcome pot of tea and scrummy cake.
The breakfasts were superb with Cereals, Porridge and a full English and even smoked Salmon and Scrambled Egg. ( and again staff superb and took the time to talk to you ).
Cannot recommend this Hotel any higher, we had the nearby Galleon Pub/Restaurant recommended by the staff and we ate there all 3 nights so good advice..
Thanks again for all your hard work.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IpswichSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    51
    22
    16
    19
See reviews for
48
119
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Witney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for one night as we had a wedding in Christchurch. The room was lovely it was clean tidy and very well presented. The owner was very helpful and welcoming. we had a good nights sleep and enjoyed our stay. My only criticism is that the breakfast was not the greatest. but was more than enough to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a pleasant B and B which is gradually undergoing updating by the owners. Areas that have been updated have been done well. We had a large room with a four poster bed. The room is OK but would benefit from some remodelling to do justice to what could be a lovely room. Tea and cake served in the garden on arrival was a nice touch and the owners were friendly and helpful. The usual tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room together with biscuits and nice toiletries. There was a large flat screen TV with a well positioned settee but sadly the TV reception needs technical attention. The bath was large but we had to wait for the immersion to heat the water as we wanted a bath at a time that didn't seem to fit with the hot water settings. (5.30 in the afternoon). Breakfast was good and no problems with the free wi-fi. One complaint as it probably would be for all B and Bs on this road is that the road is the A35 from Southampton to Bournemouth which makes the location very convenient for all that this lovely area has to offer but it is busy and quite noisy and the gravel drive and parking area added to the noise level - nothing too serious just something of which we were aware. I expect there are quieter rooms than the one which we had. The rate we paid was very reasonable and I expect this hotel will continue to improve as the owners work their way round to complete the upgrading. There is an indoor pool but the weather was fantastic and there is so much to do in the area that we didn't want to be inside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rothesay and can say without a doubt its one of the best places to stay in Highcliffe/Christchurch.
Michael/ Dee went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect.
Could not fault the place one bit 15 lovely well presented/modern rooms with all the facilities you need.spotlessly clean with large comfortable beds flat screen tv. tea/coffee making facilities,radio alarm clock with ipod/usb docking port.hairdryer.free wifi and use of the indoor swimming pool and sauna.outside decked area with plenty of relaxing chairs
Plenty of off road parking.
The breakfast was first class with a wide choice and everything cooked fresh to order.
will definetly be staying here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed for one Friday night when attending a wedding locally. Late decision to stay in area so only the Rothesay suite left. Booked through booking.com, we were running late on the day so went straight to the wedding and rang up to explain we would check in late (after midnight) Dee, the owner was most understanding and made arrangements for the key to be left in a place we could access. The suite was large with four poster, furniture slightly dated but mattress very comfortable which is what we wanted after a long day and Dad wedding dancing! Large bath and excellent shower, again slightly dated but functional. Breakfast was superb, we both had scrambled egg with salmon and service on Sat am completed by owners teenage children who were very polite, efficient and professional. Unfortunately, I left my wristwatch ( a 50th gift from my son so precious to me) behind in bathroom by mistake, but after a phone call / email to Michael it was found by the cleaner and dispatched by recorded delivery to us with no extra cost. Its great when a small place goes the extra mile to do this. Would highly recommend. Thank you Michael & Dee.

Room Tip: Rooms in main house will be quieter as premises on main road and large gravel car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PresidentOWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Rothesay is one of the nicest places that we have stayed in. The rooms are beautifully decorated and all reception areas are very tastefully decorated and furnished.There is a very spacious car park.
The hosts are very welcoming and friendly, and the breakfasts are excellent, with a great choice of freshly cooked and locally sourced produce.
The Rothesay is situated about five minutes walk from Highcliff Castle, and from there a very pleasant walk through a nature reserve takes you down to the beach.
We would definately stay there again,and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindavid68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Needed b&b before a business meeting and found the Rothesay on the internet - looked great so I took chance - well it was only one night - amazed at the hotel facilities standards and welcome. Great room garden aspect clean and tidy decent shower plenty of water pressure. Really friendly owners made me feel welcome even just for one night. Breakfast was again of a very good standard Dee was professional and helpful and even had time to be a bit chatty which is rare these days. I will return and will recommend. Book with confidence.

Room Tip: Get in quick I had the last room on a TUESDAY!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highcliffe
0.1 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
378 reviews
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
353 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,768 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rothesay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rothesay Hotel

Property: The Rothesay Hotel
Address: 175 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Rothesay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rothesay Hotel Highcliffe, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing