We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of The Rothesay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rothesay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Highcliffe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed for two nights at the Rothesay on 22nd-23rd Aug because a friend got married at Highcliffe Castle (about 5 mins' walk away). We arrived around 11.45 on the day of our first stay (which was earlier than normal check-in time), and despite having advised the staff during our booking that we would probably not be arriving until 4pm, we were shown to our room immediately and with no fuss. The room was very comfortable and, despite being close to the main road, very quiet. The morning breakfast was very filling - tea, cereal, fruit juice, toast, and full English! - and cooked to perfection.

What really set the Rothesay apart from other hotels we've stayed at though was the service. The staff were friendly and quite literally went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy during our stay - we were even given a lift to the train station at the end of our stay!

Previous reviewers have complained about having to book the pool in advance. We thought this was a great touch - it meant that we could book an hour of exclusive use of the pool and sauna, and we were able to take our pick of more or less any time during the day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPigot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2009

Small depressing double room that needs updating. Shower cubicle looks like it was built into a cupboard! Indoor pool has to be booked in advance as only 2 people allowed at any one time. We asked to be moved to another room and we were refused. Although we had booked for 3 nights we left after just 1 night but were made to pay for 3 nights. Owners have not ignored my letter of complaint. Avoid like the plague!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
2  Thank AshHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redman2005, Owner at The Rothesay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2009

Both Lynn and myself welcome feedback about the hotel of any description as it either confirms that we are providing guests with a good experience or highlights areas in which we can improve either the facilities or the service.

With regard to this particular reviewer, we sincerely apologise that we did not meet their expectations. Having said that, with regards though to the review itself, we are extremely upset as we feel that it does not accurately reflect the quality and service levels that both we and the hotel provide. It is our first 'terrible' and I believe that the reviewer is being less than accurate about the facts.

I am truly sorry that this couple did not find their stay at the Rothesay to be a pleasing one. They booked on-line through an agent 3 weeks prior to their stay and could have chosen any one of 12 rooms still available but chose the cheapest and ultimately smallest room. The room description states that it is a smaller double and therefore they were not misled . When they arrived they ask for something bigger but they make it sound that we point blank refused their request but the reality was that we were completely full and could not move them.

With regard to their complaint that they had to book the swimming pool - we do ask guests to book a time in the pool in order that they have exclusive use of this wonderful facility. If not, then there is a risk that too many people arrive at the same time and no one is able to swim properly. I do not know of a single other hotel that grants their guests exclusive use of their swimming pool like we do. On their day of arrival at 2pm, the pool was available at 3, 4, 5,7, 9 and 10pm and they chose not to swim at any of these times.

I personally departed these guests and asked them if there was a problem or reason for their early check-out and they clearly said that there was no problem and that the reason for their departure was due to an urgent family matter that they had to return home for. At no time did they say that they had a problem - otherwise I would have addressed it. Accordingly, and as we has turned away other booking for this particular week, and in accordance with our t&c's, we charged for the full duration of the stay. Again, this was paid without complaint.

We did offer that if we re-sold the rooms that a refund would be forthcoming but if we didn't then a future stay would be offered at half price. An offer that the lady said her mother might like to take up. Again, no complaint only thanks for the offer.

All that Lynn and myself ask, as owners, is that people are upfront and honest with us. If they are unhappy then tell us at the time not through a third party website. This allows us the opportunity to rectify an issue and not spoil a trip away. If anyone has a genuine complaint, addresses us personally, and are still unhappy then we would ALWAYS give a full refund as our reputation is important to us and we would not wish to take peoples hard earned money for providing a poor standard of accommodation and service. We cannot act though if we are not told.

Fortunately there are many more reviews of this hotel that I feel more accurately reflect our standards of service and quality of accommodation.

I will contact this reviewer direct and hopefully come to compromise but just wish they had been honest in the first place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed at The Rothesay for 2 nights to celebrate our 15 year wedding anniversary. on arrival we had a friendly welcoming and complimentary tea/coffee within the garden courtyard. The Castle Suite we sayed in is a very nice comfortable spacious room and would recommend this room.
Breakfast - Excellent! lovely quality food. The Rothesay is situated within walking distance to the town, Highcliffe Castle and seafront.
Michael & Lynn are very friendly,welcoming and would do all they can to help you have an enjoyable relaxing time at The Rothesay.
We would definately return next year or in the near future and would recommend this B&B/Hotel to freinds and family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durrant4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

A few nights here in the Butte Room that was very comfortable. This room is great if you can get it. We needed to stay longer and with short notice could only get upstairs in room #4 that is quite small, including a small bed that was not wonderfully comfortable. I believe there are other nice rooms like the Butte room available.
Internet access is free and available throughout although some difficulty getting it in the Butte room. Breakfast is superb however the window for cooked meals is between 0800 and 0900. I believe that if the hotel wasn't fully booked, you could still get something after 0900.
Previous reviews regarding creaky floors were valid but I wouldn't say it was a problem. We found it all very quiet.
Lots of parking out front and shops just a 5-10 walk.
The prices are on the high side but worth it for the big rooms, not especially worth it for the small rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Promised a free stay because of the poor state of the 'deluxe' room that we were overcharged for. Never materialised - waste of time, don't bother. Fancy welcome rubbish goods. Also if there are guests staying upstairs expect to remain awake until they settle because of serious creaking floor-boards.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaneElsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed at the Rothesay for three nights for a wedding in June. The hotel was lovely, very well decorated and comfortable. We were lucky enough to have one of the newly refurbished rooms which was clean modern and a pleasure to stay in.
Breakfast!!!! what can I say it was fantastic and more than enough to set you up for the day, with more choices than is usual for a bed and breakfast. Another lovely touch was being offered tea and coffee on arrival. All in all a relaxing time was had by us all, many thanks to the proprietors. Would love to come and stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coriander_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

No doubting that the hotel is in a good location - 5 minutes walk from the beach, close to the New Forest and other local sights/amenities. We stayed for two nights in a twin room - ok standard, but lacked finishing touches; like a decent set of curtains or blind to block some daylight out, which didn't justify the £80 a night rate. Breakfast was good quality but rather small. Being served til 9 am (if you want cooked) and the 10.30 check out (owner was on our door at 10.35 am for not being out) underline the frustration I find with B&B's like this - give a bit of flexibility for check out, breakfast times etc and make the clients life easier. This room was booked for me, so had to stay, i would look hard for other options before rebooking.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skemmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redman2005, Owner at The Rothesay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2009

I am very surprised that this guest has complained that the breakfast is small. From over 5000 guests in the 2 years that I have owned and run this hotel, I have had not one single complaint about the quantity.

For everyones information, breakfast comprises all of the following:
1. Tea or coffee freshly brewed and delivered upon sitting down.
2. Help yourself from a selection of 10 different boxed cereals - as many as you want!!
3. Help yourself to a selection of 3 fruits.
4. A full English breakfast of bacon, sausage, tomato, mushrooms and beans or selected alternatives.
5. As much toast and preserves as you can manage.

If this is small then please let me know what is missing.

With regard to our, and b&b's in general, alleged inflexibility, I comment as follows: Our standard check in times are from 2pm and our standard check out time is 10.30am. Both these times we vary considerably, to as late as midday for check out and as early as 11am for check in. In order for these to apply, then guests need to request a change - something that this guest never asked for. If he has asked then we would have obliged as long as we did not have the whole wedding party requesting the same.

We pride ourselves on being extremely flexible but please ask first rather than complain afterwards. If the answer is no, then you have every right to complain.

I am sorry if this guest was unaware of this and hope that it did not spoil his enjoyment of the weekend. I will try to be clearer with guests in the future as to what we can do for them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Highcliffe hotels
0 mi away
Castle Lodge
Castle Lodge
#1 of 6 in Highcliffe
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch Highcliffe
0.8 mi away
Beech Tree
Beech Tree
#6 of 6 in Highcliffe
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Rosebanks
#4 of 6 in Highcliffe
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Rothesay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rothesay Hotel

Address: 175 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highcliffe
Price Range: £72 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Rothesay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rothesay Hotel Highcliffe, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing