We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, room, breakfast all very good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rothesay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rothesay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Highcliffe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Location, room, breakfast all very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at The Rothesay with our nearly 3 yr old daughter for 2 nights. Our room was spacious, even with her extra bed. Good quality furnishings in room, lovely big bed. We were close to the busy main road, but soon got used to the traffic noise.

Very nice breakfast, freshly cooked, all served in a modern, well laid out breakfast room. Michael was very friendly, especially towards our daughter who loved the parrot he brought out to say hello to her.

Good value, close to many local attractions including Hoburne Naish Holiday Park where our friends were staying.

Will no doubt book again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    49
    22
    16
    19
See reviews for
47
117
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harlow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

When we arrived Michael showed us to the room - four poster, large bath and large seperate shower, settee and said that a tea/coffee would be waiting for us in the courtyard. After unpacking we went down and spent a very enjoyable half hour talking to Michael and Lynn and they told us where the good places were to eat and local attractions.
The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent and although we were out during the days we knew that M & L would be happy to help if any problems arose.
The B&B is in an ideal location as it is within walking distance of the town and a short drive to Christchurch and beyond.
So overall a very enjoyable stay with no hassle and no worries (apart from the weather of course but even M & L would have a problem sorting that out!!).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bisso133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Having visited this B and B in 2007 (wrote the review in 2008), and giving it the highest of praises, unfortunately we were let down this time. On the positive side the owners were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was nice. The room, however was a let down. We were put in the outhouse, which felt like a room that had been quickly converted to fit in more guests! The door handles were falling off (screws missing), windows,were dirty and cracked, the TV was tiny and old fashioned the bathroom fittings were on the brink of falling off the wall and the shower was like a cupboard!. For £85.00 we felt this was way over priced for the quiality of the room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jontaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

The Rothesay is a great little bed and breakfast, located just minutes walk from the lovely sandy beach at Highcliffe. We enjoyed walking all the way along the coast to Mudeford, which is a good spot to enjoy some seafood & you can catch the ferry across Christchurch Harbour. Bournemouth and the New Forest are also close by. Our room was very nice and had been recently refurbished. There is a great, tranquil outdoor decked area at the back of the hotel, perfect for catching some evening sunshine after a day of being out and about. We found the owners really helpful and the lovely freshly cooked English breakfast definitely got a thumbs up.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoMelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed one night over this bank holiday at the Rothesay Hotel and had a very enjoyable stay. First and foremost Michael & Lynn, the owners, really do go out of their way to make you feel at home and comfortable, and gave us a cup of tea on arrival!

Our room was excellent, Castle Suite, both comfy and very spacious with a 4 poster bed. The rest of the hotel is very nice, there's lounge, a sun deck and a very nice swimming pool with sauna, which you can book for exclusive use.

Breakfast was very good both a mixture of cereal/juices and cooked to order.

It's also not too far from the beach and Highcliffe Castle, 5-10 minute walk.

Thoroughly recommended and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choubi_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

Warm and hospitable welcome received on arrival which carried through the entirety of our 5 day stay. Children welcomed and looked after. Exclusivity to the well maintained swimming pool went down a treat. Castle, Nature reserve, beach and crabbing all within comfortable walking distance. An enjoyable stay by all the family, plentiful breakfast a treat for Dad !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilecoyote2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

From the moment we arrived at the Rothesay we were made to feel very welcome.
Both the rooms and dining facilities were much better than expected. Both my children really enjoyed using the pool on both day's we were there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highcliffe
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rothesay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rothesay Hotel

Property: The Rothesay Hotel
Address: 175 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Highcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rothesay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rothesay Hotel Highcliffe, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing