We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing clean friendly stay! will defiantly go back again!! Great for a quiet getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rothesay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rothesay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Highcliffe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing clean friendly stay! will defiantly go back again!! Great for a quiet getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

My fiance booked us the Rothesay Hotel for 2 nights as a surprise..on arrival the owners Lynne and Michael made us feel very welcome by chatting to us and offering us tea and coffee and giving us information on the area and wheres best to go. They then showed us to our lovely traditional room with a four poster bed (which was very comfy and me and my partner both had a great night sleep) . The room was a great size and very very clean.
In the morning we went down to the dining room where we was greeted by Lynne and Michael who once again made us feel very welcome and provided us with a fantastic breakfast with a wide variety of food.
The swimming pool was a great extra where me and my partner had it all to ourselves.
The Hotel was set in a lovely area with lots to see and do with the beach so close and Highcliffe Castle so near which was beautiful!
All round great little get away and the hotel paid a big part in that! will defiantly be going back again!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christinax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    50
    22
    16
    19
See reviews for
47
118
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

This is our first stay in a bed and breakfast, we usually book high end chain hotels. We booked for the location and were not disapointed. We were greeted by Lyn and Michael who showed us our room ( we had the Butte Suite). Michael made us a coffee and offered us some homemade cake while we checked in. Our room was spacious and clean and comfortably furnished. We loved the pool, being able to book it to have the exclusive use is a brilliant way to utilise this facility, no sharing the experience with other peoples kids! Breakfast was delicious. If we're back this way again we'd certainly stay again,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzyrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

When I arrived I was greeted by Lynn who gave me and my boyfriend a lovely tour of everything to do in the hotel. When I went into the room the first thing I noticed was how clean it was and how cosy it felt. We decided to take full advantage of the swimming pool and sauna. We then took a lovely stroll down the beach as it was less than five minutes away. That evening we took a taxi into Bournemouth and got a good taste of the night life. In the morning we went and had the inclusive breakfast and was delicious. Everything was cooked to perfection and my boyfriend and I had a lovely weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandraDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We paid £95 a night for two nights in the "Castle Suite" , This was just an oversized room with the smallest shower/toilet room I've ever seen. After showering on day one we went out and when we returned the towels I'd left in the shower for changing had been hung back on the peeling radiator! The bed had a huge dip in the middle so we got thrown together during the night. There are no blinds or nets at the windows - only drapes. So when changing we had to have the curtains closed or we were overlooked. We usually stay at the Somerford Premier Inn when going to Highcliffe, but this was booked for us as part of a wedding party. Some of the others in our party were also disappointed, especially with having showers that were either way too hot or way too cold within a matter of seconds! This is not 4 star and we definitely wouldn't recommend it or stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank super_c00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redman2005, Owner at The Rothesay Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation and I am sorry that it was not to your liking.
It is a consciious decision for our first floor windows not to have net curtains, in order to allow more light in. We have not had it raised as an issue in the past. Our ground floor rooms have them but I have still never known people not close the curtains before changing. A practice that I do not believe is unreasonable upstairs as well.
We take great care in describing rooms when we sell them so as not to mislead and ultimately disappoint people. The shower ensuite in this room is small and is described as such on our website. Unfortunately on this occasion, the room was booked on your behalf and so we did not have the chance to describe the room in detail.

No complaints were made to us either by yourself or any of the other guests you mention as being unhappy. Consequently we had no opportunity to rectify. Once again, before telling the world on this site, TELL US. You never know what we can sort unless you give us the opportunity.

Finally, as for not being 4 star. We do not decide our rating, this grading is done independantly by an industry recognised body, the AA. They grade us annually with our latest report being done only in July of this year. It is the AA that have deemed us 4 star.

I'm sorry that we were not to your satisfaction and the room was not to your taste. Despite its 'failings' it remains by far and away our most popular room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Friendly hostess and lovely breakfast. Bed and linen and towels were fine and the rooms warm, but there is little else good to say. Of a total of eleven lightbulbs in our bedroom & bathroom, four were not working and one was of such a low voltage to be near useless. Leaving one expired bulb on the used tea tray elicited no response. A single 25 ml bottle of shower gel was provided for two persons and not replaced when empty. The shower cubicle was of a good size, but badly needed cleaning, as did all the windows. In addition there were loose tiles around the bath. Furniture was disappointingly outdated, often with fabrics needing cleaning or replacing. The general appearance of the hotel was rather 'tired' and unkempt. Althought there was some evidence of refurbishment, our opinion is that it is superficial and long overdue . Overall............ adequate, but disappointing, and poor value for money. Over-optimistic star rating.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barkingforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redman2005, Owner at The Rothesay Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
I thank you for your honest and frank opinions and am extremely disappointed that the quality of our accommodation was not up to the standard that you required and expected. The 'blown' light bulbs, unclean windows and lack of shower gel are entirely within our control and should never have been an issue. My apologies for this sloppiness.

Our star rating is an independant one carried out by the AA (last done only 2 months ago) and takes everything that the b&b hotel has to offer into consideration and fortunately is based upon all of our rooms including all of our newly refurbished rooms. The rooms, fixtures and fittings are continually being upgraded and refurbished and although this room has not been done in the last 3 years since we took over, it remains one of our most popular. Its more traditional style (not outdated) is popular but if is not to your taste then contemporary rooms were available.

Trying to not get too defensive, I disagree with your assessment that our accommodation is 'tired and unkempt' and our refurbishment is certainly not superficial. All of our refurbishment to date has been done to a very high standard using only the best fixtures and fittings. I am more than happy to show anyone our work to date, guests or otherwise, as I am proud of what we have acheived in the short time since we took over. As we did not show you around the whole building, then your 'superficial' comment I believe to be without foundation.

My only wish, if anyone reads this, is that you tell us if you are unhappy in any way. Apart from when we are in bed, either Lynn or myself (Michael) are always available to discuss any problem and to hopefully rectify where we can. If you had told us of some of your niggles then we could have made your stay a little more enjoyable. Why do people wait until they get home, log on to this site and then air their grievances? Please speak to us and as least give us a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

we arrived at the Rothesay very late in the evening and were just expecting to be shown to the room however mike and lynn were so friendly, showed us around, had a chat about the local areas and what to see and do, they were always around to make sure everything was perfect for us during our stay! i have not met anyone so friendly in all these years of travelling! Mike and Lynn take total pride in what they do..they dont Run this as a business but as their own home and own guests! they are fantastic hosts and i wouldnt bother looking elsewhere anymore whenever im due to go to the new forest - rothesay it is!!! - thanks guys and well done for the superb work you are doing! a great example for other B&B's to follow!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIX5110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redman2005, Owner at The Rothesay Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Thank you for this very positive review, it is much appreciated and I am so pleased that you feel comfortable enough to recommend to your parents. It makes our job worthwhile when this happens.
We always strive to give the best possible service and to spend time with our guests. We value the fact that you have a choice to go anywhere and you chose to spend your hard earned money with us. We never forget that.
Because of our size and service levels people forget that we are a b&b and not a hotel which makes your comments all the more pleasing as you have recognised this.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at The Rothesay with our nearly 3 yr old daughter for 2 nights. Our room was spacious, even with her extra bed. Good quality furnishings in room, lovely big bed. We were close to the busy main road, but soon got used to the traffic noise.

Very nice breakfast, freshly cooked, all served in a modern, well laid out breakfast room. Michael was very friendly, especially towards our daughter who loved the parrot he brought out to say hello to her.

Good value, close to many local attractions including Hoburne Naish Holiday Park where our friends were staying.

Will no doubt book again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highcliffe
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rothesay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rothesay Hotel

Property: The Rothesay Hotel
Address: 175 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Rothesay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rothesay Hotel Highcliffe, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing