We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highcliffe
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean & comfortable but expensive”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Clean & comfortable rooms with friendly staff. Breakfast isn't anything special but the selection is good and represents reasonable value for money. Surroundings are quiet. Parking is plentiful. Reception staff were helpful and friendly.

Overall just a little too pricey for a 'budget' hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexmac27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    216
    59
    11
    5
See reviews for
251
341
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

A nice new (3yrs) hotel that is in a perfect location for Christchurch and the new forest.

Pros:
Large free car park
The staff all professional and personable.
Quiet site.
On site pub serves a good selection of food.
Great location in quiet town.

Cons:
The aircon/heating takes some getting used to.
The basement room we were in had an elephant in the room above that we heard a few times (wasn't a big deal)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank theflameburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Situated behind the main street in Highcliffe and fronted by a large car park (free to paying hotel guests), this hotel is well placed for visiting Christchurch, the New Forest and the local beaches, which if energetic by todays standards, are within walking distance. The staff are friendly and helpful as one has come to expect. The rooms are Premier standard fare, a good size, clean, simply furnished and clearly aimed at the short term visitor (mainly business) rather than the full blown holiday guest. My usual two main gripes exist here as well.
1) Rubbish fire instructions....... Small purple card on dark stained door, in the worst lit part of the room and written in tiny dark gold print that you need a magnifying glass to read.
2) No high level grab handle for getting in and out of the shower (for us older people) and anti slip pads on the bath base which are as much use as a chocolate teapot.

The restaurant (Table Table) is separate from the hotel building and is about a 45 second walk away. It fronts the Highcliffe main street and doubles up as a public bar as well. The breakfasts are served freshly cooked (as much as you want) rather than you having to parade down a line of stainless steel dishes containing anything from undercooked to overcooked food. They still employ those ghastly conveyor belt toasters though. (bit like watching paint dry)
Evening meals are of an excellent standard for the type of venue. My wife and I eat there on both nights of our stay. The price is not wallet busting and the wines were very good. The subdued lighting and decor are amongst the most restful I have experienced with Premier. You can actually read the menu without using a torch!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigglesMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Traffic noise is almost non-existent here - amazing for the general Christchurch / Bournemouth area. Good value for money. Haven't always had the best breakfast experience (i.e. warm food on cold plates taking too long to serve). The alternative is only a short walk away at the cliff car park.
Overall, a good place to be based for the terrific coastline.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Another good experience at a Premier Inn. They really do give good value. The welcome was excellent from the friendly and affable receptionist and put us in a good mood after a long drive.
The hotel was quiet and well located in the town. Parking was free and easy. We particularly enjoyed walking to the nearby beach for breakfast overlooking the sea. The first day we had breakfast at the Cliffhanger Cafe and the second we walked further to eat at the Beach Cafe at Friar's Cliff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Another great job from the Premier Inn team. Everything was faultless from the moment we were greeted through to the moment we left. The staff on reception were very friendly, room was spotless and ample size for the 4 of us. Breakfast was really good, albeit in a separate building.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Small rooms, staffs knowledge of vegan foods weak, noisy outside and inside. Walls not sufficiently insulated. Bathroom towels thin. Overall not as good as previous Premier Inns. Seems the brand is now more focussed on profit rather than comfort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, online customer service at Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highcliffe
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Address: 266 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 5ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the New Forest National Park and a short stroll from the stunning south coast seafront ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel Highcliffe
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing