We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quiet place, remote enough, close enough”
Review of Hotel Serpiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Serpiano
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serpiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Beautiful and quiet place above the Lugano lake, with spa, pool and sauna. Magnificent view, tranquillity and peace. Worth considering.

I have chosen the place because I intended to go shopping in an outlet in nearby Mendrisio. Those who arrive by car would definitely find the place charming and convenient. Place is hard to find though, especially at night. Do have a map or GPS handy!

Still, as I went alone, and booked the single room, I was little bit surprised by the fact that the bed in my room was actually - "single". Could be wider, I guess. But the room itself was generously large, and the view was fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergioME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Serpiano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here with another couple, on our way back from a short trip to Stresa and the Borromean Islands. I had found the hotel on the hotelcard.com website (which gives 50% off on about 250 hotels in Switzerland) and liked the fact it had a great view and a pool. Well, everything certainly surpassed our expectations! You do need a car, though, because although there is a bus connection, I doubt it runs often as the hotel is really located in the middle of nowhere. Coming from Luino along the lakeside, we could actually see the hotel when we were right across from Morcote, but it took us 40 minutes of winding along narrow roads to get to the hotel. Another reviewer mentioned the necessity of having a GPS. Very true. Without my iPhone GPS we wouldn't have found it very easily, as the village of Serpiano wasn't signposted until we were only about 5 kms away.

All the rooms have balconies and views of the surrounding mountains, although those in front have the best, looking out directly across the length of the lake to Lugano. We had dinner on the terrace - I would DEFINITELY rate it one of the top 5 views I've ever had for dinner! When we checked in, we'd asked reception to give us the best table, and they obliged us (although there were lots of others that had similar views). We sat there for about 3 hours, having our apéros, then dinner, then coffees and liqueurs (to the relaxing music of a lovely piano player - at least for us 'oldies' in our late 50s, early 60s). We were just so reluctant to leave the view: the constantly changing skies, from pale apricot to flaming red were breathtaking, and as night fell, there were thousands of little lights twinkling in the distance. A VERY romantic place to be!

Our room was very comfortable; there were courtesy bathrobes and slippers to go down to the wellness pool, which was great! Water temperature perfect! Also a little fitness room, a sauna and whirlpool. Breakfast was great. Lots of choice, and again, we drank in the view of Morcote below us. We found everyone we dealt with, in reception and the restaurants, very friendly and helpful. Only stayed one night, but will go back for sure and stay longer next time! There are regular and electric bikes for hire, and a multitude of hiking trails from the doorstep. My only objection was that all the signs and information, as well as the newspapers at breakfast, were either in German of Italian, but NOTHING was in French! I'm an English-speaker living in the French part of Switzerland, and I thought this very strange. When we mentioned it to the girl at reception, she said they don't get enough French and English-speaking guests to warrant translating things or ordering a French-language newspaper. This doesn't make sense, because I think if they advertised abroad and in French-speaking Switzerland, they'd get more customers. When we were there at the beginning of August, there were LOTS of empty rooms, so I think they could benefit from more publicity! Our room cost only 110 Swiss francs, instead of the normal CHF 220 rate, so I think we got excellent value for our money!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Words can not describe how wonderful this hotel is. Hotel Staff : Amazingly helpful, and very happy people. Hotel Amenities : The Hotel Bar Piano player gave the atmosphere a certain ambiance. Excellent swimming pool and wellness houses - have a LOMI LOMI Massage, it brings a whole new meaning to the word "relax" :-) Location : Fantastic panoramic views of lake Lugano and beyond. Value for money : YES ! Myself and 4 friends booked 5 single rooms all with balcony and lake views. Total package included 2 nights with breakfast and 4 course evening meal both nights + 2 wellness treatments all for just 329CHF! An absolute bargin for the level of service and well the feeling of being completely relaxed in this hidden gem. We all want to go back again with our partners for a romantic weekend. I could go on and on about how wonderful this place is, but you should go for yourself you will not be disappointed....you will not want to go home ... have fun!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swissmisstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 362kerstinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Margrith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natou6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten ein Eckzimmer. Sehr zu empfehlen.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank NegriSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serpiano
3.9 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 2 in Bissone
358 reviews
3.0 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
7.7 mi away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
5.3 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
3.1 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#2 of 2 in Bissone
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serpiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serpiano

Address: Serpiano, zona 45, Serpiano 6867, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Serpiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serpiano
Price Range: £78 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serpiano 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Serpiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing