We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must See!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Serpiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Serpiano
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serpiano
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Must See!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

A little hard to find but it is well worth it! I love the service. Guy(I think that is her name) was so helpful. Breakfast was included and it was a English breakfast. Has great views. Very inexpensive for what is included. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    91
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
110
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
punta gorda
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The outside of the hotel is quite ugly but inside there are all the facilites one would need for a short break . However as of the previous reviewer there were no fans or air con and it was probably about 35C. Hardly slept a wink. The next door room was also taken and we were kept awake all night by their TV and snoring because both sliders were open to try and get some air moving around. Quite ridiculous for a hotel of that price and quality. Restaurant food was not bad although extremely expensive compared to the UK or Italy.........£8 for a plate of frites! Beautiful grounds and the staff were lovely. We had a lake view room which was truly amazing. We travelled down on the cable car into the village (one cafe) and took the boat trip around the lake for the day which was an amazing experience. We also ate in the cable car restaurant which we would highly recommend although also very expensive.

Room Tip: If you want a cool room in the summer forgo the view and sleep under the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto G, Manager at Hotel Serpiano, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Badders10

Thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments and evaluations of our hotel. Your kind comments about the hotel are much appreciated. We do apologise for not meeting all of your expectations.

Our hotel is situated at an altitude of 650 meters which usually offers a nice refreshing breeze at night, especially when compared with the sometimes sticky humidity of Lugano, Mendrisio or any lake village. This is something which is highly appreciated by our guests and a reason why so many stay a long time with us. However, you really did pick one of the hottest nights so far this year to stay with us!

We have reviewed the selling price of the ‘frites’ and can confirm that they are charged at a price of CHF8 which would be equivalent to £5.57 on the current conversion rate. We believe this is in line with prices generally in Switzerland and Europe. We hope this helps to clarify this point and that you might now feel that the hotel wasn’t quite so ‘expensive’ after all.

We are sorry that your neighbour disturbed your sleep with the television. If we had known, we would have been happy to ask them to reduce the sound. But of course in regard to the snoring, we might have not been able to help!

Best regards
Seminar & Wellness Hotel Serpiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

A lovely setting Serpiano is the name of the hotel up on a mountain and not a village…lovely view BUT nothing else – including things we take for granted – like A/C. had just been in Milan and Sicily where it was hot, but it was nothing like here, such humidity and nary a breeze and – no a/c. too dreadful for words - hence my 'terrible' rating for sleep quality. Spent 3 nights/days attending a meeting here…took the funicular –a cable sauna car – down to the village and didn’t see a soul except the folks in the tiny market. good for a 15-minute stroll. Good for pensioners getting treatments and romantic couples I suppose. As others have said tricky to get to. wi-fi free only in public areas, otherwise must pay by the hour…and for an entire day it did not work in the public areas/conference room at all. too tranquil....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatinRzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I found this hotel with a good price when searching Lugano Hotels. First of all, I did the right way to choose this hotel.
Driving along a beautiful road with trees covering, you reach the hotel in 20 min. from the main road. Silence everyhere. You just dive into a green sea. Some of the rooms look to the forest, some of them looks to the lake. They upgraded my room with a fantastic view of the Lugano Lake.

The room was big enough and clean. Inside the hotel, there is spa center and a big closed pool. After seeing the Lugano town or shopping in Fox Town ( Outlet ) you can relax in there.

At night we did not go out for dinner because the road to the hotel may be scare. So we ate at the restaurant of the hotel which I believe we made a good choice. Prices are like usual restaurants of city center. But the dishes were big enough. And the presentation was just like a michelin star restaurants.

I want to go there again and relax there much more days.

I suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a short stay - girls weekend. This was my third stay at Hotel Serpiano, and just like the other times, it was GREAT! I shall return again and again. Last September the weather was better than this time, and we did quite a lot of hiking in the area, directly from the hotel. Monte San Giorgio is an excellent place for hiking with wonderful views over the lake and surrounding mountains. This time it was too chilly for that, so we just enjoyed the hotel facilities: lovely pool, comfortable rooms and EXCELLENT restaurant. The food was really far-star!!! Delicious, innovative, creative. The service is also outstanding. The very amiable manager stopped by our table at dinner and breakfast to make sure we were happy and comfortable. Although it was too cold to eat outside, we oohed and aahed at the stunning views from the terrace and hotel rooms. There can't be a better view in the world!

Our only surprise was that there were so few people. Personally, I think the management should advertise more in the French part of Switzerland (and subscribe to a French language newspaper for their guests to enjoy at breakfast!) and in English-speaking countries. For the moment it is still a fairly well-kept secret that has mainly Italian-and German-speaking guests.

I'll be going back! That's for sure!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I spent a relaxing weekend in Hotel Serpiano with Spa and Wellness treatments. Very good food and wine at the restaurant and we spent a beautiful evening drinking wine on the terrace overlooking the fantastic view.

The room was very clean and all the staff really friendly.

I will come back soon and recommend the Serpiano Hotel to my family and friends

Davide from Milan

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davide2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Perched high on a hill, right above Lake Lugano, hence offering a spectacular view. This is a great place if you want to find a remote place to spend some quiet, peaceful time. You can hike around, enjoy the fresh air and the spa facilities. One unavoidable downside for such a place is that it isn't so convenient to get to, though a public bus takes you here right to the door steps, otherwise driving is probably the easiest. The room that i stayed in was clean, comfortable and overlooked the woods. Would certainly return to stay if I was in the vicinity again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serpiano
0.9 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta
3.0 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
7.0 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dellago
Dellago
#1 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serpiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serpiano

Property: Hotel Serpiano
Address: Serpiano, zona 45, Serpiano 6867, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Serpiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serpiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serpiano 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Serpiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing