We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in ever way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cademario
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I spent 2 amazing nights at Karhaus last week and it totally exceeded our expectations. Not only was the view amazing (their pictures did not lie) but the facility, rooms, common areas a, spa, pool, and dining room were new, clean and very pleasing. The staff was amazing from the front desk, the restaurant, and the spa, courteous, helpful, and very friendly. The Chef was amazing and adapted his recipes to accommodate my wife's food allergies without any impact on the quality or flavor of the food; in other words they totally lived up to their healthy lifestyle passion and mission. Most staff spoke English so there was no language barrier. The drives up and down were thrilling as the road is narrow but well worth the challenge. We would recommend for those who don't enjoy such rides to hire a taxi or perhaps see if the hotel could pick you up at the train station. We are DEFINITELY going back!

Room Tip: Please ask for a lake view room it is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandV20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very nice comment.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa and appreciated the amazing view as well as our atmosphere. We appreciated very much your precious comments regarding our staff.
It’s a pleasure to know that you felt comfortable during your short holiday. It is a great satisfaction for us to hear your compliments as our main goal is to let the client feel like at home.
We look forward to welcome you soon again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Best regards from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Private Selection Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Recently reopened, the hotel's interior is still fresh and prices are fair for the region; yet the remote location and poor access act as an impediment to making short trips anywhere - which, however, given the average restaurant with insufficient seating capacity and the small spa/sauna/gym area, is just what you would want to do.

The good:
- quiet setting on top of a hill/mountain
- really stunning views
- clean, modern rooms
- free wifi and use of gym and pool area

The bad:
- the interpretation of what constitutes service at a top class hotel seems to somehow have gone wrong; service with an attitude simply does not make guests feel welcome and is pretentious
- food at the restaurant is only average and strangely, two separate (limited) menus are offered to create the impression of choice between two different restaurants within one place
- sauna area of spa is too small and contains only one shower cabin (queues...)
- drive up the hill is a true challenge, with locals and even buses using the narrow and extremely winding road as a race track; a real turn-off for driving into Lugano just for a dinner

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MsMaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the surroundings of the Kurhaus Cademario. We appreciated that you like the newly renovated style of the hotel.

We are sorry you had the impression that the service was not welcoming you. We will take care of your note.

We are surprised that you find our restaurant offer low. We developed the two menus in “one” due to the high requests of guest to be accommodate for a dinner with a view but with the same offer as in the La Cucina restaurant. In addition to them we have also our daily changing menus for selection in case a guest would prefer a 4-course menu. We will certainly follow your hint regarding our food impressions.

We are at your disposal for any feedback you might want to share with us. It is thank to your help that we learn and discover how to improve and provide a better service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Sunny greetings from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Private Selection Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If we should have to give a name to perfection we would call it "Kurhaus Cademario".

We stayed 9 days at the hotel and enjoyed everything: the view, the situation, the spa, the room design, the cleanliness, the friendliness of the staff, the rich and healthy breakfast, the excellent restaurant, the fact that we could hike in the nearby forests and use the Post busses halting just in front of the hotel and many, many other details.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoleilSunSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.
It is a pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and it is a great satisfaction to all our staff to hear your compliments.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Private Selection Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel and SPA is actually nice. Rooms are up to expectations, view is amazing, personnel is very kind, all the time. So, why 3 stars (though I admit, as I write I am still undecided between 3 and 4)?
I think it felt short on a few things... Here is what I found great and not so great:
good:
- Competent and kind personnel
- Spacious room, with an amazing view if on the lake side
- SPA has all you need (great to go out and see the mountains while in the pool)

not so good:
- no food after 9.30! The alternative is going to town, quite a few km of curves and mountain roads, and restaurant should be booked well ahead of time (so haven't tried it)
- Brochures were mostly in German, sometimes in Italian and rarely in English
- Buttons to enable some features in the SPA area (i.e. small fountains or tub) were not working
- The steam room I found did not have enough steam - I was getting almost cold between one steam 'cycle' and another - same for the sauna, too dry (but I guess this is up to taste).

All in all, I think this is a nice place to stay, but could really benefit with some improvements

Room Tip: Chose the one with the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101,001,101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Kurhaus Cademario and appreciated our newly renovated style as well as our DOT.Spa. We would like to inform you that our hotel is classified as 4 stars Superior.

It’s a pleasure to know that you felt comfortable during your holiday. It is a great satisfaction for us to hear your compliments as our main goal is to let the client feel like at home. All our staff try to establish a direct contact with our guests by maintaining at the same time our competence.

We took note as well of the lowlights you mentioned. It’s a pleasure to receive positive comments, but we are at your disposal for any feedback you might want to share with us. It is thank to your help that we learn and discover how to improve and provide a better service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Sunny greetings from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Private Selection Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I decided to spend the NY week in the Tessin and discovered the Kurhaus above Lugano. It was a great decision and we thoroughly enjoyed the rest and the tranquility that the hotel offered us. It has been entirely remodeled and I found the modern atmosphere most pleasing. Service was excellent, staff friendly and courteous. Rooms were good sized and it is well worth the difference in price to have a lake view. In addition to the restaurant there is a bar where one can snack or eat. The food was excellent. If you eat in the restaurant, it is necessary to book your desired time. The hotel has very nice spa facilities and an indoor/outdoor pool. In the a.m., there were introductory classes (albeit only 30 min) in either yoga, pilates. aquagym, the 5 Tibetians -- depending on the day. Teacher was excellent. Also enjoyed the massage we had. The directors were extremely open and available -- they even organized two hikes in the area which we thoroughly enjoyed. The small town of Cademario is an easy 20 minute walk and worth the trip. In short, a great place to go.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a lake view -- rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Kurhaus Cademario over New Year’s and appreciated our newly renovated style as well as our atmosphere. We appreciated very much your precious comments regarding the Restaurant and the DOT.Spa.
It’s a pleasure to know that you felt comfortable during your holiday. It is a great satisfaction for us to hear your compliments as our main goal is to let the client feel like at home. All our staff try to establish a direct contact with our guests by maintaining at the same time our competence.
We look forward to welcome you soon again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Best regards from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel has been tastefully renovated in 2013. The location is wonderful overlooking Lake Lugano and is ideal for hiking trips.
The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. If you have the choice do not take room 129 on the 1st floor, which is located right above the kitchen. Food odors enter the room.
We had a light dinner in the bar, the food and wines were excellent.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 1st floor near the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice post.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you appreciated our newly renovated style and were captured by the our lake view.
We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the room. During our closing – phase from 14th to 30th January 2014, we will try to improve our ventilation system to avoid food odors in the room.

With the hope of welcoming you back at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, we thank you for your contribution to improve our service.

Sunny greetings from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Located 3 hours away by Car from Zurich, at the hilly village of Cademario, the drive was quite challenging but the view was priceless. The Hotel's Highlights: Spacious room with the breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, large balcony, the lovely decoration and interiors, the relaxing DOT Spa with its huge an modern spa, outdoor pool overlooking the lake, the friendly and attentive service at the restaurant and at the bar (La Terazza & La Cucina), food and beverages are surprisingly reasonably priced (they were of very good quality and tasty) and the free non-alcoholic beverages at the mini bar. On the other hand, Kurhaus Cademario's Lowlights were the renovation at the garden (we weren't able to check it out to have a walk) plus the reception when we arrived could have been friendlier. We were fortunate enough to be the very first guests at the hotel right after the major renovation. The Infrastructure of the hotel was immaculate. It was not fully booked. Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa is definitely one of favorite Hotels in Switzerland and we are coming back. Thank you for the wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tumfave815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your visit and to have given us your precious impressions.
We are very happy to hear that our renovated Kurhaus Cademario is now one of your favorite Hotel in Switzerland. We appreciated very much your comments regarding the Restaurant and the DOT.Spa.
We took note as well of the lowlights you mentioned. It’s a pleasure to receive positive comments, but we are at your disposal for any feedback you might want to share with us. It is thank to your help that we learn and discover how to improve and provide a better service.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Sunny greetings from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cademario
2.9 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
3.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
3.0 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
318 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Cacciatori
Hotel & Spa Cacciatori
#2 of 2 in Cademario
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa

Address: via Kurhaus 12, Cademario 6936, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Cademario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cademario
Price Range: £133 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at an altitude of 850 m, the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa offers magnificent view of the Lake Lugano and the surrounding mountains. Cademario is one of the sunniest spots in Switzerland and is just 12 km from Lugano. Situated in an extensive 3 ha park grounds, the hotel includes 82 rooms and suites, one restaurant, a bar, conference and banqueting rooms, various terraces with panoramic view and the 2.200 M² DOT.Spa. Savour the Ticino way of life and "Italianita." The hospitality, charm and friendliness of the south and the northern sense of precision and quality. Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa: experience the Dolce Vita, Ticino style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing