We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valbella Inn Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valbella
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
710 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,644 helpful votes
“Excellent family hotel”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We spent four nights around X-mas and really enjoyed this place. Travelling with a five year old child this place gave us everything we wanted: modern and at the same time "Alpish" hotel style, great indoor pool including sauna, whirlpool (ca. 32 degrees Celsius) and an icecold "Kneipp" area. The "Kids Inn" designed by Lego and very child-focussed nurses gave us time to enjoy the superb food in various styles rounded by some great wines. It has is price but is definitely a place to return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new, additional building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FrankGeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    30
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
103
41
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The rooms are great - very contemporary decor and clean. Our duplex 2 bedroom until unfortunately was on a wall adjacent to the kitchen and so we could hear pots and pans being washed up until nearly midnight every night. The hotel was full, so there was not much they could do about it, although they were apologetic. By the end of the stay, we got used to the noise, but the first couple nights were difficult. The hotel is very good for children - the kids club is a brilliant space although the staff do not speak much English, so if your children are English speakers, you may need to supervise them a bit.

The food was good, but not great, and there was enough variety for a week of skiing, although we did take refuse in the local pizzeria two nights to add some variety.

The spa was very nice, but you need to walk outside to get to it from the hotel, which is quite uncomfortable when it is cold outside - and it was very cold the week that we visited. Also, there are communal changing rooms, which as a Brit, was a bit uncomfortable.

The hotel location is great for the children's ski school - the meeting point is just outside. There is a quite a walk to get to the intermediate ski area, including crossing a road, or taking a bus, which I wasn't wild about. The ski school will drop your children at the hotel's kid's club for lunch, which is a great service, as it means you don't need to rush back from the other side of the valley to get the children at 12.

Overall, the hotel was very good and staff friendly. I'm not sure that the resort is one that we would want to go back to for skiing, as it is quite limited and is quite spread out which is difficult if you have small children and want to ski with them.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMumUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

A family hotel just next to Lenzerheide. The owners have started to refurbish the hotel and the new rooms are very nicely done. There is a small Spa which also allows children to go in and the breakfast buffet is very good. The rooms are mainly to the mountain side so they are very quiet and the hotel itself is not directly next to the street. The only thing which is a little annoying is the parking: when the hotel is full you have to park approx. 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weil am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We spent a wonderful winter holiday with small chlidren at the Valbella Inn.

Our room was very well appointed and in good condition. We found it spacious, bright and with a very nice view. Room service was good and everything perfectly clean. We appreciated plenty of well thought storage space for clothing and skiing equpiment.

We enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the hotel and all facilities provided. The Kid's Inn was great with lots of well thought playing options, very nice spaces and was very well kept. We very much appreciated the supervisors working there.

The swimming area was well designed and equipped, both relaxing and a great place for the kids as well. We did not use the wellness area in a seperate building.

The location was very good for skiing with easy access to the west side slopes via Valbella ski lift. Access to the east side slopes required a small bit of 'exercise' but skiing back from the east side was very easy and via a very nice 'red' run. The ski room of the hotel wa swell equipped and spacious, too.

All public areas of the hotel were very clean and well kept. Special requests were dealt with promptly, effectively and in a friendly manner,

We were very happy with the breakfast: Broad and delicious choice of foods with good quality, good service and nice views. The full choice was also available also at the end of the breakfast time, which we very much appreciated.

Diner was generally very good as well and we very much liked the food. However, here are the only negative remarks I'd like to make: Sometimes the service could be slow. While most of the waiters were very friendly (especially the Italian ones!), there were a few negative exceptions. We also missed some of the typical cheese based Swiss dishes and think it would be nice if at least either Fondue or Raclette would be available.

The price for our stay was high but after all adequate for what we got. We plan to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cocos_knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

A wonderful place to stay at. In the middle of a wonderful nature, very close to the slopes, you find the Valbella Inn.
Thomas and his wife Ramona are managing the place with a lot of attention. We had a room in the new building at we found it very nice, large and confortable.
The dinner was deliceous and the wines have a very reasonnable price. Breakfast was very good, with many specialities of the region like cheese and bread, marmelade and air cured meat.

I can recommend the Valbella Inn to anyone travelling to Lenzerheide.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas_Moritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2010

A big positive point is the Kid's Inn childrens club, our kids loved going there, ideal for children up to about 8 years old. We were not so happy that it was closed between 3pm and 5:30pm, exactly when we would have liked to have sent our children there. I think the time restriction ends at the end of January.

The room was of a good size very clean, but looked quite dated.

The restaurant itself is quite pleasant, enough space to easily get a table but the food seemed quite expensive for what was an average standard. The service varied from very good to frustratingly slow. Breakfast was served on the first floor in the pavillion which has an amazing view over the mountains. Pretty standard buffet breakfast, OK.

Position is close to the ski school (for smaller kids) and there is one lift nearby but the best skiing area cannot be accessed by foot. You either take your car or the (free) bus. Not too much to do within a short walk of the hotel (one pizzeria, a post office and a small shop/bakery). If you are into cross country skiing then this is a good place with direct access. We had trouble finding a car parking space and it was difficult to know which spaces were for the hotel.

Swimming pool was of a smallish size but had a good whirlpool part but water in both was a bit colder than we would have liked. The Sauna and fitness rooms needed a key to be accessed, so if you had a swim and then just fancied a quick Sauna you had to go back to reception. Didn't really understand the point of this since you didn't have to pay.

In general we enjoyed the holiday, the mountains and skiing here are amazing, and probably explain why the owners can charge a high price for an average hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZurichRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascona, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Very good Hotel. Next Year they have a new SPA and new larger Rooms ina separate building. Plan looks Gr8. Food @ dinner 2 expensive for the quantity - especially with kids. Perfect location to "fall" on the ski slopes...

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cybersun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valbella
0.1 mi away
Posthotel Valbella
Posthotel Valbella
#4 of 5 in Valbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maiensasshotel Guarda Val
Maiensasshotel Guarda Val
#1 of 10 in Lenzerheide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#2 of 10 in Lenzerheide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lenzerhorn Spa & Wellness
0.9 mi away
Bestzeit Lifestyle & Sport Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kurhaus
Hotel Kurhaus
#4 of 10 in Lenzerheide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valbella Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valbella Inn Resort

Property: Valbella Inn Resort
Address: Voa Selva 4 | 7077 Valbella, Valbella 7077, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Valbella Inn)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Valbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valbella Inn Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Valbella Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing