We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Jungfrau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jungfrau Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area with a field on the front and a beautiful view on the mountains including (of course!) the Jungfrau. The receptionists were very welcoming and helpful and gave us a few tips on the area. We had a superior room which was fairly large with a big balcony on the impressive Jungfrau. Furniture is a bit outdated and cheap (lamps on night table!), but it is clean and frankly I didn't expect more for this price: this is Switzerland and a very touristic area after all. We drove there and they have a free parking at the back, but we saw the train station just at the end of the street. Breakfast was very good with a little bit of everything (excellent fresh bread). The only downside is that despite a quiet area, I had to wear earplugs... because of the guy snoring in the room next door. But my husband couldn't hear him, so it wasn't really obvious.

Room Tip: For this rate, it is really worth choosing a room with Jungfrau view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris77CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    52
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
63
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hotel within easy reach of the station and to Interlaken . The hotel gives you a card to have free travel by public transport in the local area. We went on the train in the afternoon to have a look at Interlaken and have a drink and came back again for dinner at the hotel. This train gets you to Interlaken Ost, which is the next stop and the end of the line for this connection. The other station in Interlaken station is Interlaken West, at the other side of town. There are connections by bus from Ost to West if needed as I think trains to Berne and other main cities go from there. The hotel gave us a time table for the trains but you can manage without as plenty on large notices around the station. It is a nice, fairly obvious stroll to the centre from the Ost station but too far to walk to the West station from there. There are plenty of bars and hotels on this route (Hoheweg) which goes past the Hohe-matte park area.
As we happened to stay here on a national holiday (1st August), we went down to Interlaken again after dinner and enjoyed the amazing fireworks in the Hohe-matte park which started just before 10 pm. We needed to get transport back again at about 11 pm. In fact this turned out to be a bus (slightly confusing from the time table even though it has a picture of a bus on it if you look properly). Anyway it was fine. The bus came and all the world got on it. The first stop was Wilderswil station so that worked out ok. I am glad we had done the trip earlier in the day though. There were taxis at the train station so we could have taken one if needed.
Very nice dinner at the hotel. We had the "fit" options with salad. I am not sure how fit they were as there was quite a lot of mayonnaise on some of the individual salads. Very nice though. Lovely pork fillet. We spent CHF98 (£68) on dinner for two with drinks and coffee and shared starter, perhaps a little pricey. Our room was upgraded on arrival and had fantastic views of the mountains and village in a corner room with two windows. The decor was rather brown but spotless and roomy and the beds very comfortable. The room cost CHF220 (£153)for one night including tax. Breakfast very good. Staff very helpful, particularly at the reception. No air con.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed a night here with my daughter on half board. Standard rooms was good, comfortable bed, balcony with Jungfrau view. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Made sure we were comfortable. Gave us ice, fan . Totally different than the Hotel Jungfrau in Luterbranen. Dinner was very nice and breakfast buffet good. Elevator .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBuffingtonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Hotel Jungfrau is situated very near to wilderswill station. The hotel rooms very little small but good enough for small family. We stayed for 4 nights. There is a small balcony with view of jungfrau. Breakfast was very good.

The Hotel staff was also helpfull and provided us information about the area. Overall we loved our stay.

Room Tip: take room on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik_Arora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We trip at the Jungfrau Hotel was very good. The service at the Hotel was exceptional. Email correspondence was prompt and courteous. Late check in was processed smoothly. Easy access to Interlaken city centre. The food was very good ( both Breakfast and Dinner, and we are vegetarians ). The staff also help organise our activities such as Paragliding and Canyon Jumping . They also had a lot of local knowledge , especially about the weather which was very useful . I would strongly recommend The Jungfrau Hotel and its excellent staff

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We liked the hotel but the rooms (we took 2) were not very well located, in spite of the reservation confirmed for 2 rooms at same floor. They did not have it for well located rooms (front to the mountain), as expected by us. Nature around is really beautiful.
Service was OK and receptionist and manager very friendly.
Breakfast was basic and the restaurant was a little expensive for families (not too many convenient options).
Better if you are a couple or alone to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonioFrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Ideally located (by car or train); gorgeous mountain views with balcony; super nice staff; great food at on-site restaurant; free train pass; comfortable spacious room with extra long and deep bathtub; free breakfast, parking and in room WiFi; decent price....what's not to love!! You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crjmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
1.7 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
666 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#19 of 40 in Interlaken
172 reviews
2.2 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungfrau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungfrau Hotel

Property: Jungfrau Hotel
Address: Schulgaessli 51, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungfrau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jungfrau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing