We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful haven in the Bernese Oberland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Certificate of Excellence
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful haven in the Bernese Oberland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

This Hotel is siuated in the beautiful Bernese Oberland in the village of Wilderswil. The hotel is a typical Swiss Chalet type of Hotel. The welcome that we received here was a very warm one. The rooms are pleasantly appointed and the cuisine is fantastic. If you are looking for peaceful surroundings in superb Swiss scenery then this is the place. It is a very convenient centre to travel to other destinations in Switzerland.
The quality of the catering is excellent.
I would recommend the Alpenblick without any hesitation

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    60
    40
    16
    6
See reviews for
45
120
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have recently stayed at the Alpenblick, Wilderswil and received a wonderful welcome. We had a clean spacious room with regular changes of bed linen and towels. The food is excellent with a wonderful buffet breakfast and a 5 course meal served in the evening. The location is in a beautiful village and is very convenient for buses and trains. The area is ideal for walking. This was not our first stay at the Alpenblick, we have been there for many years and hope to continue doing so in the future. Yvonne & Richard Stockli run an excellent hotel with an attentive staff.

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you like more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_O48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I was on my way to Grindelwald and had called ahead to the Hotel Alpenblick to make a reservation for one night. I stopped in Wilderswil to get gas and decided to check my GPS to see how far the hotel was. It said 1.1km, which didn't seem quite right as Grindelwald was still 10kms away. Working on the assumption that the GPS had the right hotel (mistake) I pulled up to the very traditional looking Hotel Alpenblick and told the desk clerk I had a reservation. No problem. I got a small but very clean room on the top floor with a beautiful view. It wasn't until I spoke to a couple from Wales later that evening that I realized I was in the wrong hotel. 'Alpenblick' is a fairly common hotel name in Switzerland! Oh, well, it was a very pleasant stay. The food in the dining room that evening was very good and the waitress did a good job of explaining the menu choices. The breakfast buffet was excellent. I had to pay for WiFi but couldn't get reception on the top floor had to use the ground floor to connect. The staff were very friendly and helpful with questions that I had. It actually turned out to be a pretty good find even if it was in the wrong town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymro1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Alpenblick, Wilderswil is a Swiss Chalet Hotel. It is a traditional Swiss building and so do not expect air conditioning, lifts or saunas.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean with regular changing of the bed linen. The cleaning staff are excellent.However,guests should choose carefully the type of room to suit them as some may be small for some tastes
The food is excellent. We have chosen half board for many years and have always enjoyed the meals. On one evening each week there is a hot and cold buffet and each Tuesday a meat fondue. Each meal has five courses, with starter, soup, main course, dessert and cheese.
In addition you can choose the a la carte or the Gourmet pepared by Richard Stockli, a top chef. The hotel is managed personally by his wife Yvonne, who speaks several languages and is always on hand to deal with any requests. All the office staff and the waiting staff are most helpful
The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the Bernese Oberland with a frequent bus and train service to Interlaken ( 5 minutes ) and to the Lauterbrunnen and Grindenwald valleys

Room Tip: Try to choose a room that is big enough for your needs. Study the various categories.If you choose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Spent 2 nights this July on our way to Jungfraujoch. A beautiful hotel with gorgeous views on the Alps.

Its a family run operation and they provided exception service and took care of us really well.

Their restaurant serves gourmet quality dishes with sumptous desserts. The fron-desk staff were very accomodating with directions and bus tinmeings and provided wonderful recommendations on things to do.

Their free morning breakfasts' was of a vey high quality as well. Ample options.

Room Tip: Its a decnt walk to the hotels from the Widesrwil station, u will need to take the local bus or a ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

1) The rooms are SMALL. They are really small, so this hotel does not fit a long stay.
2) There is no Wi-Fi in the rooms. There is a Wi-Fi access (for money one should pay) and this access means on the first floor (and may be ground floor - cannot tell exactly) there is a small area one can connect to Internet. We were awarded by free WiFi access at our last evening in the hotel.
3) There is a strange lack of shampoo/conditioner etc in the bathroom. Meaning, the hotel provides a liquid soap and this is all. Fortunately, we were warned about that before coming. It is strange because daily morning room cleaning was of a very good quality. Moreover, towels are changed quite regularly. However, take your shampoo, conditioner and all other chemistry with you.
4) That Michelin star of a restaurant. The daily menu for half board visitors and restaurant guests is not the same (more exactly, visitors get a subset). However, the food is really good. We stayed in the hotel for 10 days - each day evening menu was (totally) different. Really good salad bar - it is a serious advantage. And, though a cheap one, table serving is thoroughful and excellent. So, the restaurant is an additional fun and a plus to the hotel.
5) Very well trained staff. No complaints. Moreover, we got a real help with tourist information when it was needed.
In summary - it is good for something like up to three nights/two days experience. Otherwise - I would prefer another hotel in the same village.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor in the main building, where the reception is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I was recommended to dine in this hotel restaurant, even though it was in a different location of my stay. Fortunately for me, I decided to check it out. I was warmly greeted and decided to go for Chef/owner Richard Stocklis' six course tasting menu. I was greeted by his wife Yvonne and was eased into the BEST dining experience I have ever had! The atmosphere was quaint, and welcoming. The table was ideal, and the menu recommendations were more than helpful. I have a culinary background, and have experienced excellent service/food in many countries. The menu is seasonal, and began with a loaf of bread from a local bakery(recipe from the chef). Various kinds of butter were offered in a nice presentation. The amuse bouche was in three pieces, and made my mouth water in anticipation of what was to come. I don't want to spoil the trip for you so I will briefly tell you there was an amazing potato salad course, a fresh crispy salmon, a fois gras course that made me reevaluate my current living condition in the US, a perfectly cooked veal trio course(sweet bread, brain, and loin) in a wonderful sauce, a cheese tray with over 20 variations, and a desert of apricots(ice cream, apricot chips, nuts, and apricot sauce). The desert was a truly extraordinary piece! To go along with each course, was an exceptionally complimentary wine pairing. I was also closely attended to by a server that perfectly described each course and presented it in a manner desirable of all executive master chefs! To surmise, the only thing better than this "experience" would be to repeat it again, and soon!

Room Tip: Reserve your table in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chase l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#2 of 7 in Wilderswil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#3 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
Address: Oberdorfstrasse 3, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick Hotel Wilderswil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing