We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view - but you can get such views from any hotel in the Alpine region”
Review of Hotel Schonbuhl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Schonbuhl
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Switzerland is beautiful and so the views around this hotel is very pretty. It is a 15 mins walk from the train station.

It is a family run business. The owner is very unfriendly. And has many rules -e.g. you cant bring any food from outside, stay quietly, use the tiny swimming pool at specific times only...
Wifi is available in the lobby only, provided you buy chocolates/drinks etc.

The nice thing about the hotel is the view - however, you can get such views from any hotel in the Alpine region.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mkglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here while on a group tour for about 2 days in October and I already want to return. The hotel is great value for the views alone. It was so great to see the Alps & charming houses from my bedroom window. My room was basic but clean and comfortable. We enjoyed hanging in the lounge area at night and drinking the local Swiss beer at the bar. We ate 2 dinners there that were nice and a basic breakfast. Get to know the owner Urs. He's really nice. He warms up to you after some good conversation. Other than the views, the hotel is perfect for its location near Interlaken, so if you're coming for outdoor activities or to visit Jungfraujoch, this is an affordable place to stay that's a short bus ride from Interlaken. I hope to visit from the Bahamas again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BahSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

stayed 2 nights here with Expat Explore and we loved it! Our room had a balcony facing the mountains and the views were breathtaking! The owner Urs was quiet but charming in his own way. He does have some rules such as no electronic devices in the dining hall and keep the bathroom dry (shower curtain IN the tub). Breakfast was simple but sufficient but the dinners were very delicious!

a short walk to the train station to go up to Jungfraujoch and the trip was awesome! Free wifi when you buy a drink from the bar and the password changes daily. Will surely return to this hotel when I visit Wilderswil again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and try their dinners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel was just so homey it was great. We did have to share a bath (though some rooms have their own), but everything here was so nice it made no difference. The lobby was like your living room at home. The kitchen served all home cooking that was super good. The views out my window were the best. I know it's a hostel but it really was a great place to stay. It was also close to the train station so an easy route to the "Top of Europe" at Jungfrau. I really was surprised with this place. There was a lobby bar and wifi. The rooms without the bathrooms had sinks and plenty of outlets for charging. It was warm and cosy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merryld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

accomodation in jungfrau region in the expat explore tour
the view is great, you can see the mountain, crisp air, cows in meadows
room is clean, no tv(who need tv with great view from the window)
about 20min walk to the train station to go to jungfraujoch

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mafmSel_mlysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This quaint hotel is nestled in the foot of the Alps. The views are indescribable.

The rooms are minimalist but comfortable and are in ear shot of cows grazing in the meadows. We stayed in a room on the top floor of the hotel and for whatever reason, the bathroom was void of electricity. So if you needed to use the bathroom at night, you would be doing so in complete darkness. This was not the case for rooms on the lower floor though.

The food was well prepared and homely, unlike most other hotels.

The Hotel is close to the bus and train stations making the town of Interlaken easily accessible.

There is also wifi access, provided you purchase a drink from the bar.

Our 2 night stay was enjoyable and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Top Floor do not have electrity in the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClairBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es gibt Zimmer mit einer Sitzecke, diese sind vom Platzangebot her komfortabler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#28 of 39 in Interlaken
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#1 of 7 in Wilderswil
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 7 in Unterseen
170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#5 of 7 in Wilderswil
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schonbuhl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schonbuhl

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 18, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range: £77 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Schonbuhl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing