We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed and breakfast in the area with very attentive and friendly hosts.I”
Review of Chalet Gafri - BnB

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet Gafri - BnB
Ranked #1 of 9 Wilderswil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best bed and breakfast in the area with very attentive and friendly hosts.I”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I would not consider staying anywhere else in the Interlaken area. Owners friendly, helpful and attentive. Very well appointed and immaculately clean. Situated in a quiet area of a beautiful village with wonderful views of the mountains from all rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for this valuable recommendation of our BnB and also for pointing out the ideal situation of Wilderswil and surroundings with the two lakes and the mountains. We look forward to see you again next year. Best wishes from Gabi&Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
76
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I spend my holiday with my wife and child

Really its amazing place and amazing area
Mr and Mrs Garfi's great hospitality. We would definitely recommend it to our friends and families and would like to share this amazing experience to everyone!

Abdullah alaardhi

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying at our Chalet. It was a great pleasure to welcome you with your lovely Little Girl. Best wishes - Gabi&Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed with my family (two adults and two children (4 and 7) in the family room, my parents in the adjacent double room) at Chalet Gafri for three nights in Easter week. From beginning to end, the stay was a true pleasure. The rooms are spacious and immaculate, the beds comfortable. We stayed on the top floor with views of the Jungfrau alps and the village. Fritz and Gabi give attention to pleasant details like the bouquet of fresh garden flowers in the bathroom and the Alpkäse and local sausage on the breakfast table. They made us feel so welcome, giving us daily advice on excursions and restaurants. Gabi, extra thanks for the lovely Easter eggs you made for the kids!
All in all, we warmly recommend this B&B!
Wilderswil is a wellkept, pretty village, good starting point for excursions in the Jungfrau area. Just 200 metres from Chalet Gafri is a nice kids' playground and some hiking trails in the woods. We would love to come back to discover more of the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It was so nice to have you staying with us over easter, great Family with lovely and well educated children. Thank you so much to be such nice guests and best regards.
Gabi&Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights.The bed and the pillows were simply out of this world. The room was extremely comfortable, modern and spacious. The breakfast was also amazing. No complains whatsoever.Would definitely recommend to anyone willing to explore the Interlaken area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank imecostalima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for your Kind words. It was a great pleasure to have so nice guests, please come again when you visit our Country next time!!! Gabi&Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oestrich-Winkel, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Me and my girlfriend spent 5 days in Chalet Garfi and it truly suprised us as it feels like home not only because the wonderful double room with mountain view balcony but also because Mr and Mrs Garfi's great hospitality. We would definitely recommend it to our friends and families and would like to share this amazing experience to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you very much for your very good rating. It makes our job easy to have such nice guests in our new chalet. Best wishes to you both - we hope to welcome you again whenever you visit our country.
Gabi&Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent 3 great nights this weekend at Chalet Gafri! Gabi and Fritz are fantastic hosts and made great suggestions for our family of 4 (2 kids under 5) - including tobogganing and playground visits. The family room was perfect for us - spacious, clean and comfortable. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMmcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
It makes it easy to us as hosts to look after such a nice Family with well behaved two lovely kids.
Thank you very much, yours Gabi&Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was my second Winter visit to Chalet Gafri and everything was to the same extremely high standard as last year. The accommodation is immaculate; clean, modern, spacious and beautifully warm. Breakfast is served in very pleasant kitchen/dining area within the Chalet building. The kitchen facilities can be used at other times to prepare your own food for taking out on hikes etc. - very useful indeed. Gabi and Fritz are the perfect hosts and again I was made to feel very welcome.

If you are new to the area (or to Switzerland) I can highly recommend Wilderswil as a holiday location. There is so much to do and see within a short distance, but there are also excellent transport connections for exploring further. Every visitor receives a guest card that allows free travel on local trains and buses between Wilderswil and Interlaken (and slightly further on some bus routes). The guest card is very useful for accessing the main railway lines or for a visit to Interlaken for an evening meal.

On my short visit I was able to do the following:

Arrival day: I arrived at lunchtime on a beautifully clear day; I was able to quickly unpack and head out to the Schilthorn mountain. This requires a train journey from Wilderswil to Lauterbrunnen, a cable car to Grütschalp, a shuttle train to Mürren (or a lovely one hour walk if you have more time) and then a two stage cable car to the Schilthorn peak at just under 3000 metres. The views from the top are stunning, and there is a revolving restaurant if you are planning to eat there. This is the mountain where they filmed "On Her Majesty's Secret Service" and so there are lots of references to James Bond, including an exhibition centre and a burst of the theme music as the cable car arrives at the top!

Second Day: Another day with very good weather. I was able to complete one of my favourite winter walks from the Niederhorn mountain, down to Waldegg. This is very easily accessed - from Interlaken West, you can take a bus up to Beatenberg (end station) where the cable car to the Niederhorn starts. Or, you can take a bus to Beatenbucht (on lake Thun) and reach Beatenberg by Funicular railway. Return from Waldegg is by bus. The walk is signposted and takes about 3 hours; there are a couple of steep sections which can be slippery if the snow is thin or icy, so walking sticks are highly advisable. You can also do a shorter walk from the top to the middle cable car station, Vorsass. The views from the top are wonderful - because the Niederhorn is set back a bit from the big mountains, you see a vast panorama of peaks.

Third Day: Slightly more cloudy weather, so I walked straight out from Wilderswil to Zweilütschinen (about 1 hour). This is the fork in the valley where the two Lütschine rivers meet. You can take the train from Zweilütschinen to Grindelwald or Lauterbrunnen, but I opted to continue my walk to Lauterbrunnen (another 1.5 hours). Normally in the winter this walk can be very icy, but this year was unusually mild and the path was clear until the last section near Lauterbrunnen. From Lauterbrunnen I took the cable car to Grütschalp and walked along the top path to Mürren for lunch in the Restaurant Jägerstübli at the Hotel Bellvue - this has an outside terrace with lovely views.

Fourth Day: A repeat of last year, but the walk from Sunnbüel to Gemmi (the Gemmipass winter walk) is very special. The walk takes you to the south side of the Alps across the historic Gemmipass; the walk is a moderate uphill and can be quite tough if there is a strong wind or deep snow - walking sticks, good boots and warm clothing are essential. To get to the start of the walk, take a train to Kandersteg (via Interlaken / Spiez) and a bus to the Sunnbüel cable car station at the end of the valley. From Sunnbüel, the walk takes about 3.5 hours to the Gemmi; if it is clear you get amazing views down to Leukerbad and also to the southern Alps. From there you take a cable car down to Leukerbad, then a bus down to Leuk, a train to Visp and then another back through the new Lötschberg tunnel to Spiez / Interlaken. I had excellent advice at Wilderswil station and the whole journey (including the cable cars) was arranged for me on one ticket within a minute or two - this is truly amazing integrated transport!

Fifth day: Time for one last delicious breakfast, a quick stroll around the village and then home. Fritz kindly provided a lift to Interlaken West station, which was very much appreciated.

In summary, I can thoroughly recommend Chalet Gafri as the place to stay in Wilderswil, and I consider Wilderswil to be an ideal holiday destination for a visit to Switzerland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RT3812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Gafri, Inhaber at Chalet Gafri - BnB, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your great detailed report, not only about our Chalet but also about all the trips and excursions, very helpful for other futur guests. With our best regards, Gabi &Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
1.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#1 of 7 in Wilderswil
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
673 reviews
2.0 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Gafri - BnB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Gafri - BnB

Property: Chalet Gafri - BnB
Address: Muehlenenstrasse 34 | 3812 Wilderswil-Interlaken, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Gafri - BnB 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Bed & Breakfast-Chalet with large and modern furnished superior rooms, all with balcony/terrace, very quiet situated and with mountain-view in the heart of Switzerland. We recommend a minimum stay of 4 to 7 nights as Inerlaken-Wilderswil is very central for trips and excursions in the local area and all over Switzerland. Ideal to start off for Top of Europe and Piz Gloria as half- or day trips. Visit also close by chocolate- and cheese manufacturing. Idyllic scenery for guests that like to just come and relax. Breakfast buffet (also gluten- and lactose free products on request). Free tea and coffee self-service all day for our guests. We will be pleased to advise best places to visit once you are with us. By the way, on our breakfastbuffet you will find many local and home made product and specialy our Alpine cheese and butter is coming from the Nesslern-Alp above Saxeten, ower 2000 meters. The charater of the products is shaped by the wild herbs and florwers that the cows munch during the whole summer. Your hosts: Gabi&Fritz ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalet Gafri - BnB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing