We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel used to be fabulous. The new owner has ruined it. The building is old; the rooms small and mod. cons. are non existent. This has always been the case.
The problem is that the new owner has changed the layout and the atmosphere. The superb first floor room formerly used for dining has become an unused conference room but is also the corridor to many bedrooms leading to a conflict on the rare occasions it is used.
The pizzeria/bar has become a completely unsuitable breakfast room.
The old restaurant is now the dining room. The service is slow- VERY slow and the choice laughable. The food quality is poor.
The staff are unfriendly - the owner in particular.
And this then highlights the unfortunate drawbacks of staying in such an old building which previously you could ignore.
The location is good but that's not enough and of course the price is typically Swiss expensive.
There are much better hotels in the area at the same or lower prices.
Please don't stay at this hotel - you will be very disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    100
    44
    15
    30
See reviews for
71
99
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

10 minute walk from the train station, tucked in a corner , and with a pretty nice view of the glacier from the first second floor. rooms are small, but comparable to European standards. We all fit on the bed, though a bit tight..me , my wife and our five year old. Reception staff is courteous, but generally over worked( we went peak season) so questions are answered but quite to the point. the rest of the staff was very accommodating and helpful. I wanted to fish for trout, away from the mad tourist rush of the valley. They guided me to a nice place a couple of valleys away, very quite and with plenty of trout. The first floor " hang out" game room with the attached balcony is a nice touch, especially with children. Breakfast spread is decent enough, and the free parking is a bonus ! Overall , if you're not a five star luxury person, I'd recommend the place.

Room Tip: Second floor, facing the Jungfrau massif!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbychyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two days (23rd and 24th July 2013) and had a very bad experience the very first day of our stay. The lady in the evening shift in the reception was very very rude and disrespecful. We stayed in 4 hotels during our stay in Switzerland and this was the worst experience. Very unfriendly staff. We asked for an adaptor to charge our US gadgets and the lady said you have to pay a deposit of $20 as security deposit so we dont run away with it. No trust at all. We were charged $5 for Wi-Fi that does not work in your room (works only in one designated area in their hotel). We met few other guests staying here who had similar complains.

The room given to us on the first floor was very hot and suffocating. The noise levels in this hotel are very high, we literally felt we were sleeping on the road with all the cars and trucks passing by. We could hear people walking and running in the room above us. I would not recommend this place nor will go back to it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kala I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wilderswil hotels

Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
352 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Baren for 10 days and had an excellent time. We had a larger room with a sitting area, which was worth it as the first floor lounge is less homely than some hotels we have been in. The hotel was spotless and our room cleaned regularly with linen changed half way through. We were on half board; the food was excellent - others have written about the wonderful breakfast buffet; the table d'hote menu is excellent too. Wine feels expensive but water was supplied at no charge. There are some quirks about this hotel; the breakfast area has two unused pizza ovens and an old range in the middle; the internet seems to be a domestic router and only available in the first floor lounge (and you have to pay for the wireless key; but not an on going usage charge) - but overall we felt welcomed and well looked after. The key test is would we go back; the answer is yes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

This experience was a NIGHTMARE. (The young lady who works reception in the mornings is very nice and helpful.) However, the man who works at night- I think he is the owner- is always looking for a fight. He was involved in a loud confrontation with another guest while we waited at the desk to speak to him. When I told him the light bulbs in our room where broken, he yelled... yes yelled... at me in front of other guests, that he believed I was trying to steal light bulbs from his establishment. He never sent up light bulbs, and we spent 6 nights in the dark. On another occasion, he saw us walking in with a box of crackers and again he confronted us with a loud angry voice, and told us no eating was allowed in the rooms and we must use the dining room. So we sat in the dining room with our crackers, and he barked at us that the dining room was only for those who were ordering from the menu. Not once during the 6 nights were our linens or towels changed. If the purpose of this was to save money on water, they should have fixed the faucet in our room that was broken and could not be turned off. The sink is at the far side of the room, next to the bed and not anywhere near the bathroom, so the constant running water was annoying all night, and it made the freezing room damp. The Internet did not work, the tiny little 1950's TV did not work, and the refrigerator in the room did not work. The slanted, sagging leaning floor appeared to be ready to collapse through. There is no elevator and you must lug your bags up the many flights of stairs. When we paused to take a breath, the horrible owner- man came up behind us and told us not to block his stairs and to keep moving. No one else was on the stairs so it seems he just needed something to be angry about. He follows guests around watching every move. The maid did no vacuuming and never emptied the trash cans, all she ever did was make up the beds with the same old linens. Every evening we would come back to the dismal room and take our trash can down the dumpster outside and empty it ourselves. Avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelTsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had breakfast and dinner here and were very impressed with the food - and with the energy of the Hungarian lady serving it. Breakfast included all the usual cereals and muesli, huge platters of fruit, local breads, jams and honey, croissants, cold meats, smoked salmon and a delicious sauce, plus hot sausages, rosti, meatloaf, speck and scrambled eggs.

The staff were friendly and efficient, sorting out taxis and luggage transfer for us.

The standard rooms we had (two separate nights) were small but comfortable, although the one on the top floor was a trek with heavy suitcases.

The wifi worked best on a landing on the first floor where people congregated around the single sofa there, but it wasn't bad in the adjoining lounge - a quirky place with old furniture, small tables with sparkling white tablecloths and some twee things going on with chickens and eggs.

If we'd been staying longer we would have upgraded to a room with a balcony but our view across the street was fine; the mountains are always somewhere in sight.

And we actually liked the sound of cowbells hurtling past one morning at 6am!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Extremely Friendly and helpful staff, Superb breakfast buffet highly recommended. Great view from balcony a comfy armchair in the room would of been a great improvement and a T.V with a bigger screen as my poor old eyes are not as good as they used to be. Very good value.
Quirky wireless connection trek,the only place it seems to connect to the wireless internet is the first floor lobby comfy chairs are provided here though.
Summing up for the price you pay the comfort location and service are great would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meljl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#1 of 7 in Wilderswil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#33 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Property: Hotel Baeren
Address: Oberdorfstrasse 1, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Baren The hotel Baren is located in the heart of Wilderswil in the beautiful Jungfrau region. Comfort and the Swiss hospitality as well as the regional cuisine with fresh products make the hotel Baren a wonderful place to stay The Jungfrau, the North wall of the Eiger, Interlaken, Grindelwald, the lakes of Thun and Brienz, as well as numerous sights and a magnificent nature are nearby and can be explored during daily excursions. If you are in the region for your holidays, a celebration or a conference, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel Baren. The Baren team with Erika and Bernard Muller ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing