We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this very warm, cozy and comfortable hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was hearty and sumptuous. We ate dinner at the restaurant once and really enjoyed our meal.
The bus stop for the bus to the train station is quite close by but we always walked, found it quite pleasant. However, if you have luggage, take the bus. Trains to Interlaken OST are every 30 minutes or so and the journey time is 5 minutes, covered in Swiss Flexi saver pass.
Overall very pleased with the hotel and will definitely recommend.
Negative: Had to pay SFR 5 for the Wi-Fi password, very poor network in the room. Strong signal only available in the lobby. Also, no coffee/tea making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: We booked a room with balcony, got some decent mountain views. However, it would be preferable for s...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AyeWanderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    101
    47
    15
    31
See reviews for
72
101
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I totally agree with previous reviewers that some reviews have been harsh and the record does need to be put straight.
I have just returned from a second, 10 day, visit to the Hotel Baeren, this last visit being since Herr Mueller (who was friendly, but took the time to speak) and family have taken ownership and I can't wait to go back again next year. This is a real Swiss Chalet type Hotel, as we imagine it to be.
I am fussy, a real 'Mrs Bucket' and the only gripe I have is that towards the end of the stay a ball of hair/fluff appeared behind the bathroom floor and was not removed - to my knowledge it was there for at least three days.
Apart from that, everything was excellent. The location to the railway station (a ten minute walk) and bus stop was ideal. The room was clean with bedding changed frequently and with a wonderful view of the Jungfrau from the room and especially the balcony. The breakfast was excellent, with so much to choose from: bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, cold meat platters and smoked salmon (which could do with being placed in a cold chiller), prunes, dried and fresh fruits, cereals, a wide choice of breads, various fruit juices and warm boiled eggs, which were replenished when empty, except for one occasion. The breakfast really does set you up for the day.
A mention and thank you must be made to the staff, in particular, Anita, who I believe to be the Hotel Manager and a real asset. She was extremely knowledgeable of the area and also very friendly. No problem or request was too much and done immediately. Natalie was also very cheerful and friendly.
Each night we ate in the hotel restaurant, the food was excellent (especially the veal in mushroom sauce with rosti and veg!), although service was slow. I do feel that perhaps the slowness of service is something Herr Mueller should address. The Head Waiter, whose name I didn't get a chance to get, was excellent, but he was basically running the restaurant on his own. Erikca, although friendly, only worked at her own speed, putting pressure on the others. For a few evenings there was a large tour group and even with Natalie helping out, this was all too much for the staff and they really could have done with some extra help. On average, our two course meal was taking two hours to order, wait and consume.
Wilderswil is a wonderful spot outside the main town of Interlaken and handy for trips on Lakes Brienz and Thun, Lucerne is only two hours away by train and there is very easy access, via the excellent Swiss Railway system, to the Schilthorn (a must), the Jungfrau, Murren, Grindelwald and numerous other typically Swiss places.
One useful tip is to purchase a First Class Rail Pass, rather than a Second Class. The rail carriages have more room and comfort and this also allows you to sit on the top deck of the boats without paying a supplement.
A lovely holiday, thanks to the Hotel Baeren.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel with balcony which gives views of the Jungfrau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBoxerDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have read the recent reviews about the Baren Hotel and having just returned from our holiday we feel many reviews have been particularly harsh.
We have stayed at this hotel many times, initially over 30 years ago, and our recent stay of 10 nights did not disappoint. The welcome was genuine and Natalie (Herr Mueller's daughter) was very helpful. The bowl of fruit provided in the immaculate bedroom was a nice touch. The food (five courses each evening) was superb and if you wished to change a course, it was no problem. The waitress (Erika) was friendly and efficient with a great sense of humour. All the staff were happy to talk with you, despite their workload. The breakfasts had a vast choice and our only criticism was that with a couple of large groups in the hotel with equally large appetites we often came down to find that all the choice of hot food had been eaten. When we asked for fresh food to be cooked this was done as quickly as possible. It was amazing how much some guests managed to eat each morning.
Our accommodation was clean and we had fresh bedding three times during our ten night stay, with extra pillows provided as soon as we requested them.
We do feel, however, that guests on half board need to be aware of the facilities for dining, which have changed this year. If you look at the Baren's own website, the restaurant looks typically swiss and charming...that is not where guests on half board now eat. This is only for those choosing a la carte and groups are also seated close to this. The rest of us were seated in the former pizzeria, which was usually fine for breakfast. The problem arose each evening when there was no room to get to your seat at times, as the tables were so close and the waitress had to stretch across guests to serve others, as she could not get behind them This was really not acceptable in a hotel/restaurant. We felt, as did other people, as though we were second class. We spoke to members of staff who told us that this is where diners would be seated from now on. I think that this needs to be reviewed.
In all, we had excellent service and food, good company and a super holiday at this hotel.
Yes, the hotel needs updating and there are plans afoot to do so. Do not go if you want modern chrome, air conditioning and an all singing, all dancing modern hotel. Do stay there if you want a three hundred year old hotel with a history to tell and charm. We enjoyed our holiday and already plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Upgrade and choose a room with mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidlandsDisappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I have just returned from spending 18 nights at the Baeron Hotel and for the sixth consecutive year: therefore having regard to some of the views posted I feel justified in submitting my review and making additional comments in order that prospective visitors can understand what they will be experiencing during their visit.

This is the third summer that Mr Bernard Muller has been owner of the hotel and each year he has introduced changes which are intended to make visitors enjoy their stay at the hotel irrespective of whether it is for one night or indeed longer: at this point may I indicate that if I were Mr Muller I would personally take offence at being considered old as suggested by one reviewer, Bernard is 50 years of age and following a skiing accident has made him walk with a pronounced limp , so please take note that there is absolutely nothing old about him and indeed the hours he works would leave lesser people stumbling with exhaustion. I hope I have set the record straight.In all of the time we have known him he has demonstrated a willingness to ensure that all guests receive a high level of service and quality in the food that is served as well as trying to make guests feel at home in his establishment.

For visitors from the New World who have expressed in some reviews of their disappointment during their visit and who may not have an understanding or appreciation as to how buildings were constructed in Switzerland in the 18th Century: the Baeron Hotel was built during this period completely of wood and did not have the benefit of concrete floors , air conditioning was something which hadn’t been conceived even in the New World, indeed its quirkiness is part of the charm of the building , yes the floors and ceilings do creak and on occasions this can prove irritating when guests are practicing their walking exercises in their bedrooms late at night but at worst this lasts 10/15 minutes and at no time over the last 6 years have either my wife or myself lost any sleep because of this minor disturbance.

The rooms do indeed vary in size and facilities , we stayed in one room on our first visit where the original proprietor’s wife actually stated that we shouldn’t have been allocated it given the length of our stay , it certainly proved to be a challenge in moving around the room and the storage facilities available but we made the best of it without making a fuss: and for the past four years have enjoyed a room which has the added bonus of a balcony ,what a wonderful way to start the day relaxing and taking in the views of the mountains in the distance. I agree that the televisions are way past their sell by date ,I dumped my 12 inch set many years ago and is accepted as being far too small for viewing in comfort and the Internet is a frustrating feature requiring one to use the amenities in the general lounge: hopefully both will be updated in the very near future but neither element spoiled our holiday. Yes there are features which the owner accepts needs to be improved but all takes time and money but he has the determination to make the Baeron the preferred hotel for staying at when visiting this area of the Bernese Oberland. So try and check before you book as to what amenities you are likely to get in the room.

Breakfast is now an outstanding feature of the hotels proposition to guests , there is a vast array of cold meats, cheeses and smoked salmon plus the obligatory bacon , scrambled eggs , rosti , sausages ,cooked tomatoes plus an assortment of cereals and other health conscious delights and to finish freshly cooked croissants with a choice of black cherry jam , marmalade. Having spent one night in a four star hotel in St Moritz during our recent stay , I can positively say that the Baerons breakfast takes some beating.

I categorically refute the claims that staff are rude or just being polite , everyone from the Receptionist to the staff waiting in the restaurant / Pizza bar where most of those on half board take their evening meals are friendly and ready to resolve any issues which might arise over the food selection. Switzerland is indeed an expensive place to visit and to help mitigate the costs , I would certainly endorse the Half Board option as the 5 course meal more than justifies the cost when compared to visiting either the hotels’ restaurant or those in adjoining establishments for fine a la carte dining where one would expect to pay a higher tariff. Overseeing the service to all diners is Guiseppe , an amiable italian , blessed with being multi lingual which is reassuring for any new guest to the hotel whose linguistic skills might be somewhat limited.

Comments have been made re having to personally carry the luggage to and from the room, at no time have I experienced this , a simple request when booking in and then when booking out prompted the arrival of a member of the staff to carry the luggage , so perhaps the use of the word “please” might allow new arrivals and departees to receive the same treatment.

The Baeron is without doubt a superb establishment , very Swiss , excellently located within close proximity to the station (10 minutes walk downhill or via the local bus which is free during one’s visit and beneficial for journeys within a set zone of the area). Central for getting to Grindelwald or Wengen and other key locations in the area.

It is amazing to discover the number of people who come back to the hotel year on year indeed there is one charming lady who has been coming for 38 years , so perhaps this is an endorsement of its appeal to both new and old guests. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Speak to the Hotel Direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loanarranger_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Arrived at St Moritz on a Cosmos Tour in the shoulder season Lovely old style hotel that no doubt gets very busy in the high season but was empty apart from our small group They do not provide evening meals and there were not many options available Our host (not tour guide)helped by contacting local eateries and we had meals delivered which was appreciated

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank australiaClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel was chosen on purpose right in the middle of to lakes, thun and brienz, near to Interlaken, bern, brienz and etc. Geneva was a bit further... the hotel was good, big breakfast, just could keep meats and cheeses and similar food on cold plates or like special equipment that keeps it cold (seen it in other hotels on the trip) and keep away the flies... didn't like one waitress as she thought she knew best and told me how to drink my drink!! I mean, cmon, move over, im the customer ok?! but the receptionist was very nice so I guess u have to have some pluses and minuses...otherwise, it was fine, livable. annoying that wifi was only in the communal area. bed was with a crack, two matresses put together....its a thing in these countries, horrible! I am sure all guests will find lots of things they don't like but overall I would stay there again as it was for sleeping, not staying all day in the room... ps: there was a fridge with a lock!! I mean really? ....otherwise have fun!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Baeren in August 2013. The hotel is located in the beautiful village of Wilderswil, and is a really nice building. The rooms are small and a bit dated but clean and comfortable.
If your looking for mod cons like flat screen tv's this place is not for you. I would definitely recommend having a balcony as the views are great. Wi fi is only available in one room upstairs but is free. Breakfast is really good with a vast choice.
The hotel is located about 10 min walk from the train station and the bus stop about 2 mins so transport around the area is easy. The hotel has plenty of free car parking.
We didn't eat in in the restaurant although it looked very nice, menus looked expensive but there's not a cheap menu anywhere in Switzerland.
Now for the manager, the man i assume mentioned in other reviews, he does come across as a bit grumpy and probably could do with going to charm school for a term but is always smart and polite.
Overall I liked this hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livewire28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
0.6 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
54 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
667 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#20 of 40 in Interlaken
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Property: Hotel Baeren
Address: Oberdorfstrasse 1, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Baren The hotel Baren is located in the heart of Wilderswil in the beautiful Jungfrau region. Comfort and the Swiss hospitality as well as the regional cuisine with fresh products make the hotel Baren a wonderful place to stay The Jungfrau, the North wall of the Eiger, Interlaken, Grindelwald, the lakes of Thun and Brienz, as well as numerous sights and a magnificent nature are nearby and can be explored during daily excursions. If you are in the region for your holidays, a celebration or a conference, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel Baren. The Baren team with Erika and Bernard Muller ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing