We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Baeren
Nearby Hotels
Alpenrose Hotel and Gardens(Wilderswil)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jungfrau Hotel(Wilderswil)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick(Wilderswil)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine-Inn by Jungfrau Hotel(Wilderswil)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Berghof Amarant(Wilderswil)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Schonbuhl(Wilderswil)
US$107
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Waldhotel Unspunnen(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$331
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de la Paix(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
64
106
49
17
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
106
49
17
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmwilderswil stationstaff were friendly and efficientswiss charmno elevatorbus stopadult childrenample parkingfabulous breakfastguest passnice staytop floorfree ticketslocal travelquaint hotelwithin easy reachswiss holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

nice clean and quiet hotel. 16 km from the ski resort and 8 km from interlaken. very good breakfast. close to the train station, nice view. if you are looking for nightlife this is not the place.
there are lots of nature attraction nearby.

Room Tip: since it is a wooden build you hear everything (all kind of cracks ) after you got used to it its ok.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mennys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A few friends and I were in Switzerland for a snowboarding trip and we made hotel arrangements a bit late (for the holiday season). We wanted to stay a bit closer to the actual slopes but ended up going with Hotel Baeren because it was a good value and not too far away. We had booked a room for 3 people and were actually given 2 adjoining rooms; 1 single room & 1 double room which both shared a bathroom. For the price, it was a great set up. We even had two wonderful little balconies! Breakfast was substantial & delicious. No lifts so make sure you travel light. Free parking which we never had trouble getting. All in all, lovely place.
A few things to know before you book if you are going there for the slopes; the hotel is still a bit away from the actual slopes. You have to either take a ski shuttle bus to Grindelwald or take the train to Grindelwald. The bus leaves from right out front the hotel & is free once you have purchased a lift ticket (nobody ever checked our passed though). The train is also free with lift tickets (you don't get your ticket checked at the Wilderswil station either). Once you get to Grindelwald, you have to switch trains and then take another train up to the actual slopes. They do check your ticket (RFID card) to get on this train. All in all it seemed to take about 1 - 1.5 hours from leaving the hotel to touching the snow. Not really a big deal but not nearly as convenient as other set ups (i.e. we went to France and were practically ski in / out for 110 euro a night). All in all, lovely place just be sure you understand that it takes a bit of effort to get to the slopes.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor so you don't have to drag your ski bags through long hallways & multiple stairways.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetSetterPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We enjoyed so much our stay in Baeren Hotel. We highlight the friendly climate at the evenings and the excellent buffet breakfast. The service is very good and the hotel has several nice places to let you feel as home. The only point for improvement is the Wifi (it´s not free and couldn´t be accessed from rooms)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustavo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Was very disrespectful, attendants have a lot of attitude. There is no concept of service. After 9 pm, ALL lights are switched off and the corridors are pitch black.. Their behaviour is very closed and Does not make you welcome at all.. Charged for wifi but did not work at room. House flies over cheese at breakfast. Overall very poor experience

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank sreyas789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for one night (2a, 3c) and we very pleasantly surprised by the excellent restaurant at the hotel. The food was delicious and very seasonal. There is a relaxed atmosphere in the Inn, it was welcoming and spotlessly clean. The bedroom decor was quaint and the bathroom was small but there is an old world charm to the place. We had a family room that was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety on the buffet.

Room Tip: Check in advance that the bathroom is en-suite.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okeeffek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews