We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An improving Swiss Style Hotel”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived mid Sunday morning and we were able to go straight to our room. The room was typical Swiss style with a nice seating area along with table and chairs. It really looked great after so many visits to modern style hotels. The bathroom was adequate but in need of modernisation.
Having unpacked we went for a drink in the bar. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and this continued throughout our whole stay. This was especially true for our waitress Erica who made us feel part of the family.
We booked half-board and our four course menu on the first night was high quality and well-balanced; although we never have the soup. Our only regret was that we were not seating in the main dining area. The food over the next few nights did not reach the same standard but following a discussion with Bernard, the Hotel owner, things did improve since we were able to modify the set menu; this had not been previously explained.
Bernard also explained how he is slowly trying to improve the hotel, when funds allow. The main dining room and bar area have already been developed and if this standard is used to develop the rooms then in a few years it will be and excellent hotel.
Breakfast is already excellent with a wide range of quality foods on offer.
It is important to note that lots of locals use this hotel and there were many guests that clearly used this hotel frequently.
The Hotel is based in a Swiss village a short bus/train ride from Interlaken, where we have based our visits for many years. We were very pleased to be away from Interlaken Centre which has lost the quality and variety of shops.
We spend the week walking in the mountains, using the train from Wilderswil. This makes a great base for skiing, walking or touring as you can access Grindenwald, Murren and Wengen easily.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

very friendly staff
great breakfast, nice restaurant overall
charming old hotel (nice room below the roof, bathroom a bit small though)
light sensor in the corridor would be handy
near the railway station, a skibus spot in front of the hotel, satisfying parking lot

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

nice clean and quiet hotel. 16 km from the ski resort and 8 km from interlaken. very good breakfast. close to the train station, nice view. if you are looking for nightlife this is not the place.
there are lots of nature attraction nearby.

Room Tip: since it is a wooden build you hear everything (all kind of cracks ) after you got used to it its ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mennys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A few friends and I were in Switzerland for a snowboarding trip and we made hotel arrangements a bit late (for the holiday season). We wanted to stay a bit closer to the actual slopes but ended up going with Hotel Baeren because it was a good value and not too far away. We had booked a room for 3 people and were actually given 2 adjoining rooms; 1 single room & 1 double room which both shared a bathroom. For the price, it was a great set up. We even had two wonderful little balconies! Breakfast was substantial & delicious. No lifts so make sure you travel light. Free parking which we never had trouble getting. All in all, lovely place.
A few things to know before you book if you are going there for the slopes; the hotel is still a bit away from the actual slopes. You have to either take a ski shuttle bus to Grindelwald or take the train to Grindelwald. The bus leaves from right out front the hotel & is free once you have purchased a lift ticket (nobody ever checked our passed though). The train is also free with lift tickets (you don't get your ticket checked at the Wilderswil station either). Once you get to Grindelwald, you have to switch trains and then take another train up to the actual slopes. They do check your ticket (RFID card) to get on this train. All in all it seemed to take about 1 - 1.5 hours from leaving the hotel to touching the snow. Not really a big deal but not nearly as convenient as other set ups (i.e. we went to France and were practically ski in / out for 110 euro a night). All in all, lovely place just be sure you understand that it takes a bit of effort to get to the slopes.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor so you don't have to drag your ski bags through long hallways & multip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaH1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We enjoyed so much our stay in Baeren Hotel. We highlight the friendly climate at the evenings and the excellent buffet breakfast. The service is very good and the hotel has several nice places to let you feel as home. The only point for improvement is the Wifi (it´s not free and couldn´t be accessed from rooms)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustavo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Was very disrespectful, attendants have a lot of attitude. There is no concept of service. After 9 pm, ALL lights are switched off and the corridors are pitch black.. Their behaviour is very closed and Does not make you welcome at all.. Charged for wifi but did not work at room. House flies over cheese at breakfast. Overall very poor experience

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank sreyas789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for one night (2a, 3c) and we very pleasantly surprised by the excellent restaurant at the hotel. The food was delicious and very seasonal. There is a relaxed atmosphere in the Inn, it was welcoming and spotlessly clean. The bedroom decor was quaint and the bathroom was small but there is an old world charm to the place. We had a family room that was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety on the buffet.

Room Tip: Check in advance that the bathroom is en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okeeffek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
714 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 7 in Unterseen
171 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#16 of 39 in Interlaken
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#1 of 7 in Wilderswil
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 1, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range: £77 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Baren The hotel Baren is located in the heart of Wilderswil in the beautiful Jungfrau region. Comfort and the Swiss hospitality as well as the regional cuisine with fresh products make the hotel Baren a wonderful place to stay The Jungfrau, the North wall of the Eiger, Interlaken, Grindelwald, the lakes of Thun and Brienz, as well as numerous sights and a magnificent nature are nearby and can be explored during daily excursions. If you are in the region for your holidays, a celebration or a conference, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel Baren. The Baren team with Erika and Bernard Muller ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing