We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow capped mountains and cowbells”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have just had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Baeren. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival and were always given very helpful advice whenever we asked for information. Our room was clean and comfortable, there was ample choice for breakfast - I particularly enjoyed the Bircher muesli and bus and train stops were easy walks from the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is well located for hiking, grabbing the cog rail train to the Jungfrau and many rooms have lovely views of the beautiful alps. That said, it is old and though clean with comfortable beds it is in need of updating. There is no elevator. The breakfast was good and the waitress was very sweet and helpful. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was very good with limited choices of entrees running 30-45 Francs. There was only one server in the dining room and we had to go in search of her to finally get our check. There are very few restaurant choices nearby but you can find many in Interlaken not far away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the Jungfrau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDS591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. It is not in interlaken, it is a village near interlaken. The lobby staff was very rude and surcastic with their remarks. The wi fi was not free and we were charged 5 swiss franks for the same. But to my horror it didnt work in the room. When i spoke to the reception staff they said that it may work in the room else it will only work in lobby only. I requested them to change my room to a room near to the lobby to which they asked for 30 euros as cleaning charges since we had just put in our suitcases in the room.....no courtseys....drunk men including a bar tender passing racist remarks on asians. It was absolutely humiliating.... Beware of such a hotel. No room service available

Room Tip: Better stay away from this hotel if you dont want to spoil your trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vickysugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here in May, 2013 with my wife, as we were on trip to Switzerland for 3 days. As Interlaken is very much flooded with tourists we chose to stay here. It is located in town named Wilderswil that is 5 mins away by well connected train from Interlaken. It is located totally surrounded by mountains. The weather was very good and foggy with a mind blowing view of snow capped mountains. We chose to live on the room on top most floor for better view. The breakfast served here is lip smacking. Many many varieties ranging from juices, dry fruits, fruits, croissants along with best of Swiss cheese. I would highly recommend stay here away from hustle and bustle of flooded Interlaken.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor have a lobby and provide mind blowing views of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RushinShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived mid Sunday morning and we were able to go straight to our room. The room was typical Swiss style with a nice seating area along with table and chairs. It really looked great after so many visits to modern style hotels. The bathroom was adequate but in need of modernisation.
Having unpacked we went for a drink in the bar. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and this continued throughout our whole stay. This was especially true for our waitress Erica who made us feel part of the family.
We booked half-board and our four course menu on the first night was high quality and well-balanced; although we never have the soup. Our only regret was that we were not seating in the main dining area. The food over the next few nights did not reach the same standard but following a discussion with Bernard, the Hotel owner, things did improve since we were able to modify the set menu; this had not been previously explained.
Bernard also explained how he is slowly trying to improve the hotel, when funds allow. The main dining room and bar area have already been developed and if this standard is used to develop the rooms then in a few years it will be and excellent hotel.
Breakfast is already excellent with a wide range of quality foods on offer.
It is important to note that lots of locals use this hotel and there were many guests that clearly used this hotel frequently.
The Hotel is based in a Swiss village a short bus/train ride from Interlaken, where we have based our visits for many years. We were very pleased to be away from Interlaken Centre which has lost the quality and variety of shops.
We spend the week walking in the mountains, using the train from Wilderswil. This makes a great base for skiing, walking or touring as you can access Grindenwald, Murren and Wengen easily.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

very friendly staff
great breakfast, nice restaurant overall
charming old hotel (nice room below the roof, bathroom a bit small though)
light sensor in the corridor would be handy
near the railway station, a skibus spot in front of the hotel, satisfying parking lot

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

nice clean and quiet hotel. 16 km from the ski resort and 8 km from interlaken. very good breakfast. close to the train station, nice view. if you are looking for nightlife this is not the place.
there are lots of nature attraction nearby.

Room Tip: since it is a wooden build you hear everything (all kind of cracks ) after you got used to it its ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mennys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
0.6 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#28 of 39 in Interlaken
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#2 of 7 in Wilderswil
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 7 in Unterseen
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 1, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range: £83 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Baren The hotel Baren is located in the heart of Wilderswil in the beautiful Jungfrau region. Comfort and the Swiss hospitality as well as the regional cuisine with fresh products make the hotel Baren a wonderful place to stay The Jungfrau, the North wall of the Eiger, Interlaken, Grindelwald, the lakes of Thun and Brienz, as well as numerous sights and a magnificent nature are nearby and can be explored during daily excursions. If you are in the region for your holidays, a celebration or a conference, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel Baren. The Baren team with Erika and Bernard Muller ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing