We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we stayed at in all of Switzerland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Lovely hotel with beautiful views of the whole Interlaken area. Our room in the chalet was a large size with a great bathroom (with full tub and shower). The room also had a wonderful balcony. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast buffet was huge. And the only breakfast buffet we stayed at in Switzerland that incorporated hot foods (eggs and bacon). There is also an outdoor pool (which we didn't use because it was too early in the season) and a children's playground. Our small toddlers loved playing in the playground and enjoyed the toys in the hotel's reception area too. The hotel even has a TV which carries a live view of the top of the Jungfrau so you can see the view before making the long trip up the mountain. If ever I'm in the Interlaken area again, I will definitely be staying at the Hotel Berghof.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anngiemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel sits up above Wilderswil and has fantastic views. It is very comfortable and has the feel of a large family run guesthouse. Everyone was very helpful. Perfect for families. Good breakfast. Ask for a room with a view on a higher floor. We used the hotel as our base to ski in Grindelwald and Wengen and it worked very well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in February 2013. Plenty of snow and quite cold weather. Warm and clean rooms. Good food, for breakfast "the buffet" and for dinner " 5 courses menu" Lobby and small bar make this hotel "gemütlich". Beautiful view on the mountains. Hotel is very well located for walkers and as a starting point for excursions in the whole JUngfrau region including the Unesco site "Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe"

Room Tip: Ask to remove the "unneeded furniture" from the room Corner rooms acces to balkony goes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonja p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Very clean rooms (quite new), super huge breakfast buffet, friendly staff willing to help and support. Unfortunately we could not use the swimming pool which is closed during the winter months. Reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BM-Loe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights in June 2012, The wheater was not so nice at the time. mostly rain.
The room was small with a lot of furniture which made the area to move on not so big.
The location was good with a wonderful wiew over the mountains.
The hotel had a outdoorpool but we didnt try it due to the wheather.
Breakfast very nice och the staff serviceminded.
The hotelbar was VERY expensive thou.
Sadly said not so priceworthy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MedelSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Berghof in September along with 2 other couples. We have been traveling to the Interlaken area for over 20 years and usually stayed at the Alpenblick-just down the hill. We decided to give the Berghof a try this year and it was not a disappointment. The rooms are spartan by U.S. standards, but typical for European. Small, spotless, and comfortable beds. We had a corner room on the third floor with two small balconies and amazing views. We always get half-board and it was well worth the cost. The breakfast buffet was generous and filling with a large selection of home-made breads, cold and hot foods. The evening meal was delicious and relaxing in a lovely dining room with large windows and beautiful views. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Will we go back? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Interlaken area is special and the views from this hotel allow you to really take it in. The hotel is on a hillside at the edge of Wilderswil and while it is somewhat isolated from residences and other retail business is only a short walk to the small village. It has unobstructed views of the Lauterbrunnen Valley with the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau in full view (assuming clear weather of course) from the lobby, the porch, the dining room and the balconies of the rooms. The setting feels rural and is confirmed by a couple of residences several hundred yards up the hill in back of the hotel that have a few milk cows, whose cow bells are so pleasant to hear, something unique to this part of the world.

Our room was modest size, clean, quiet and quite comfortable with a balcony - a very restful nights sleep. The bathroom was small, but had heated towel racks which came in handy for small laundry projects needed when traveling for 3 - 4 weeks. Free WiFi was available. English TV was limited, but did offer CNN.

The lobby is generously sized with a large TV showing area highlights and seating for viewing the valley; behind the lobby was a large common area with lots of seating and a bar. The dining room was large, pleasantly appointed with many tables offering excellent views of the valley and surrounding area. Interlaken, Grindelwald, Lauterbrunnen, and the gondolas to Murren, Gimmelwald, etc. are a very short drive from the hotel - note the last few hundred yards of the road to the hotel narrows to a single lane in spots, but this is lightly traveled and never presented a problem.

We ate dinner in the hotel one evening and found it quite good but as with most of Switzerland slightly pricey. The free breakfast buffet offered the usual cererals, fruits, breads, eggs, bacon/sausage, juices, etc. - more than adequate for most appetites. Again, the views while eating were unbeatable.

All of the hotel staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

In summary we would return without hesitation for the location, the views and enjoyment of a great area of the Alps.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the front of the hotel for slightly improved viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flylikeahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderswil
1.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#1 of 7 in Wilderswil
137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 7 in Unterseen
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#28 of 39 in Interlaken
60 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 23, Wilderswil, Interlaken 3812, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Wilderswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wilderswil
Price Range: £98 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open May to mid September if weather permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Berghof Wilderswil Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing