We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”
Review of Hotel Kreuz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leissigen
Penrith
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“great holiday”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just arrived back from Shearings Glacier Express holiday nice hotel in pleasent location in village we had room 102 first floor overlooking the lake, this room is part of shearings upgrade and if you can afford it £100 its well worth it recently refurbished large shower and bathroom bigger bedroom,2 chairs sitiing area,tv,tea/coffee speaking to other guests there rooms seemed to be on the small side and often in need of upgrade even though we were there for 6 nights paying the extra was worth it the room as I said overlooked the lake and the railway line now weather it was our room but from other reviews we could not hear the trains sometimes the odd rumble but never kept us awake and I have good hearing, the food is typical of Shearings standard with a swiss twist came round with seconds every night so you would never go hungry, there is no sitting area so you had to sit at your dining table at night, they had a pub next door but was mainly for locals and very smokey, the down side was as it was Switzerland the wine was expensive at 30fr per ltr bottle most couples went to the local spar and drank in there room which was not a great way to socialise as most people went to there room at 9pm. Hanz and Lisa were great hosts and were always there with a helping hand the other staff were also great Dominque was funny a real rock chick with her own local band so always had a good conversation with her. The holiday itself if you book the extra trips make sure your bank account is healthy as it is with Switzerland the trains are expensive but worth it we have been on the Glacier Express before with Shearings and also with Inghams this was our 6th trip to the Junfrau area, so we know what to expect, bern is a great city,we did the Golden pass trip as we had not been to Montreau before was excellent, Tony our driver drove us over the Juan pass witch was very high in the mountains as we started to climb the snow was falling pretty heavy imagine a large coach on a single track road it was awesome the scenery was some of the best I have ever seen in the snow that driver must have nerves of steel we just got to the top in time as another local service coach arrived dont know what would have happened if we had met together.was a bit diissapointed with the Glacier express trip dont get me wrong it is one of the best train journeys in the world but was onlt 1 1/2 hours long the whole trip is 8 hours but last time we went with them we were on for 5 hours one of the best bits of the journey is over the oberalp and we did not get to see it as we get off at Andermatt so dont know why Shearings do it that way as the golden pass trip is 2 hours. if you have never been to the area before and dont want to do all of Sjhearings trips you acn get a Junfraubahn pass ffrom 2 days upwards which does all the cable cars,trains in the Junfrau area and is a lot cheaper just google Junfraubahn or sbb which is the swiss railway site for timetables its in English as well. overall a great hotel and great holiday.

Room Tip: choose upgrade room 102 first floor the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    41
    4
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went to this hotel with a Shearings holiday. It was one of the friendliest hotels we have used. Most of the staff spoke very good English. our room was large and overlooked the lake. it was kept clean and there was complimentary bottles of water and the toiletries were replenished during our stay. There was also a fridge and a safe deposit box . We had a large balcony with table and chairs so we could look over at Lake Thun, enjoyed one spectacular sunset during our stay.Breakfast was a good range of continental and English food and although there was only a choice of 2 main dishes and no choice of starter or dessert the food was very tasty and there was always "seconds" offered. Bottles of wine seemed expensive but glasses of house wine were not too bad. there is a supermarket nearby. We had a gala night when we were entertained by a trio of local musicians. .A railway ran between the hotel and the lake but caused us no problems at all. Altogether a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were on a Shearings coach trip so arrived on mass which was not a problem for the staff ,we were give a warm welcome .Our room over looked the lake which was wonderful especialy to wake up to such a fantastic view, as with most of Switzerland the prices in the hotel were a little pricey ,but there is a super market in the village ,just a short walk from the hotel, handy for packed lunches . The rail way line could be bother some if you are a little sleeper ,but you could have a room on the other side of the hotel. An excellent hotel on the whole ,perhaps a little dated ,well worth a visit ,thanks to all the staff for making our stay enjoyable

Room Tip: one over looking the lake at the top of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank judithNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The village of Leissegen is right on the southern edge of Lake Thun(ersee) This is a really nice hotel situated just a few minutes walk from the lake.

When we arrived (October 2013, with Shearings Coach Tours) we were warmly greeted by Hans & Lisa (the proprietors of the hotel). From our room (202) we had a (joint) balcony and a great view of the lake and the railway (which can be a little noisy whilst trying to sleep)

The hotel is sort of back to front, the front entrance is in a side street, while looking at the front entrance being in the side street, that must make the rear of the hotel facing the main road ??, you'l know what I mean when you visit.

The hotel generally is very clean and tidy, the staff are very attentive and friendly and speak fluent English, I speak fluent German, so language was not really a barrier.

We were there for about a week, the food was various throughout our stay and very enjoyable. One evening we had what the hotel called a "gala night", 3 Swiss musicians playing for us all evening, 2 accordions and a 3rd player with a double bass and a tuba, a great nights entertainment.

On one of our trips/excursions the hotel made a lunch pack for those that wanted it. Their breakfast's are fairly extensive, sausages, scrambled egg, fried bread and all the normal continental foods, plus juices and yoghurts etc.

Only one small failing point was our room toilet, it was stained by lime scale, this can be cured so easily with a proprietary cleaner ???.

All in all a very nice enjoyable stay, one day we will return to the area and Hotel Kreuz, many thanks Lisa, Hans & staff.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the front of the hotel for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigalw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of October 2013, as part of a Shearings holiday. We paid £108 extra to Shearings for an upgraded room on the front, overlooking the lake and the railway! The railway was not a problem, as trains do not run in the middle of the night. The road is quiet, as it is only very local traffic.

The room we had was modernised, as many are now. The mattresses were a little firm, but OK for a good sleep. The room was cleaned to a high standard.

The food throughout the stay was excellent with ample portions, and seconds if required! Food is always freshly prepared by a good chef, and plates are always very hot. They dealt with a full coach load very efficiently, and always with a smile. The glasses, cutlery and napkins were always spotless. Breakfast had a good range of stuff, and efficiently laid out.

Adapters for the weird Swiss plugs were freely available at reception. Lisa & Hans are usually on hand to help.

The only negative is that there is a large mark up on wines for meals, although the local beer was OK. However, there was always the supermarket!

Overall, an excellent package with Shearings, a shame this lovely place it is not closer to home!

Room Tip: Front of hotel for a stunning view. Pay extra to guarrantee a modernised room, but then you may get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveStevenJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family (with two small kids) stayed here during the Swiss heatwave in July 2013.

We were upgraded to a recently renovated family room on the 1st floor, which consisted of a main room with a double-bed, a second room with two bunkbeds, plus we had a large balcony with tables and chairs, overlooking the lake. It was a truly stunning view, but, as other reviewers have mentioned, you have to cope with the occasional sound of passing trains throughout the night.

The hotel is next to the road, but the main road through Leissigen is behind the village in a tunnel, so you don't get the heavy traffic.

You can walk out of the hotel, under the road, and in 5 minutes are at the lakeside, with a kids playground, and a Lido nearby. There is also a bakery 2 minutes from the entrance to the hotel, in case the nice breakfast doesn't fill you up.

The staff were really helpful, very child-friendly, and unlike some Swiss hotels, we weren't charged a supplement for parking, or the children having breakfast with us.

The only downside was that our 1-night-stay was during a horribly hot spell of weather, and there were no fans or air-conditioning to cool us down in the rooms, otherwise we would've stayed for an extra night.

And, although our room was clean and modern, elsewhere in the hotel, it felt like the decor was from the 1970s. Even the hotel's lift had no internal doors, so we had to keep our girls fingers away from the front and back walls while it was moving.

Overall though, for 175 CHF, this was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room, and bring a bottle of wine to drink on it's balcony, overlooking the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleMikeAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Staff is very friendly, rooms are clean. Although the rooms with a lake view are a bit noisy due to passing trains (up to per 6 hour), the panorama of lake and mountains is marvelous.
Breakfast and dinner are of good quality.
The design of the hotel/rooms is (a bit) outdated, it feels like going back to the 70 or 80 –ties.
Wifi not available in the rooms.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are more quiet. Trainstation is 2 minutes away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank-VL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leissigen
3.5 mi away
Strandhotel Seeblick
Strandhotel Seeblick
#1 of 2 in Faulensee
114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Baeren
Hotel Bellevue Baeren
#1 of 1 in Krattigen
15 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken
4.2 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
668 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#3 of 5 in Beatenberg
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz

Property: Hotel Kreuz
Address: Dorfstrasse 32 | 3706 Leissigen, Leissigen 3706, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Leissigen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leissigen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kreuz 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Kreuz can be found in the quiet village of Leissigen, 8 km from Interlaken. It offers rooms with balconies and panoramic views over Lake Thun and the surrounding mountains.There is a sunbathing lawn with deck-chairs.Swiss and international cuisine including fresh fish from the lake is served in the restaurant, featuring a lake-view terrace. Half board includes a 4-course dinner (choice of 3 main dishes). Full board includes a 3-course lunch and a 4-course dinner (choice of 3 main dishes). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kreuz Hotel Leissigen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing