We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kreuz
Nearby Hotels
US$288
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gloria(Beatenberg)
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$233
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$510
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
30
45
4
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
45
4
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake thunlake viewshearings coachglacier express tripmain dishgreat hotelfantastic roomroom was clean and comfortabletrain stationhansswitzerlandbalconysceneryinterlakenbernrailregion
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just arrived back from Shearings Glacier Express holiday nice hotel in pleasent location in village we had room 102 first floor overlooking the lake, this room is part of shearings upgrade and if you can afford it £100 its well worth it recently refurbished large shower and bathroom bigger bedroom,2 chairs sitiing area,tv,tea/coffee speaking to other guests there rooms seemed to be on the small side and often in need of upgrade even though we were there for 6 nights paying the extra was worth it the room as I said overlooked the lake and the railway line now weather it was our room but from other reviews we could not hear the trains sometimes the odd rumble but never kept us awake and I have good hearing, the food is typical of Shearings standard with a swiss twist came round with seconds every night so you would never go hungry, there is no sitting area so you had to sit at your dining table at night, they had a pub next door but was mainly for locals and very smokey, the down side was as it was Switzerland the wine was expensive at 30fr per ltr bottle most couples went to the local spar and drank in there room which was not a great way to socialise as most people went to there room at 9pm. Hanz and Lisa were great hosts and were always there with a helping hand the other staff were also great Dominque was funny a real rock chick with her own local band so always had a good conversation with her. The holiday itself if you book the extra trips make sure your bank account is healthy as it is with Switzerland the trains are expensive but worth it we have been on the Glacier Express before with Shearings and also with Inghams this was our 6th trip to the Junfrau area, so we know what to expect, bern is a great city,we did the Golden pass trip as we had not been to Montreau before was excellent, Tony our driver drove us over the Juan pass witch was very high in the mountains as we started to climb the snow was falling pretty heavy imagine a large coach on a single track road it was awesome the scenery was some of the best I have ever seen in the snow that driver must have nerves of steel we just got to the top in time as another local service coach arrived dont know what would have happened if we had met together.was a bit diissapointed with the Glacier express trip dont get me wrong it is one of the best train journeys in the world but was onlt 1 1/2 hours long the whole trip is 8 hours but last time we went with them we were on for 5 hours one of the best bits of the journey is over the oberalp and we did not get to see it as we get off at Andermatt so dont know why Shearings do it that way as the golden pass trip is 2 hours. if you have never been to the area before and dont want to do all of Sjhearings trips you acn get a Junfraubahn pass ffrom 2 days upwards which does all the cable cars,trains in the Junfrau area and is a lot cheaper just google Junfraubahn or sbb which is the swiss railway site for timetables its in English as well. overall a great hotel and great holiday.

Room Tip: choose upgrade room 102 first floor the best
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RichyPenrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went to this hotel with a Shearings holiday. It was one of the friendliest hotels we have used. Most of the staff spoke very good English. our room was large and overlooked the lake. it was kept clean and there was complimentary bottles of water and the toiletries were replenished during our stay. There was also a fridge and a safe deposit box . We had a large balcony with table and chairs so we could look over at Lake Thun, enjoyed one spectacular sunset during our stay.Breakfast was a good range of continental and English food and although there was only a choice of 2 main dishes and no choice of starter or dessert the food was very tasty and there was always "seconds" offered. Bottles of wine seemed expensive but glasses of house wine were not too bad. there is a supermarket nearby. We had a gala night when we were entertained by a trio of local musicians. .A railway ran between the hotel and the lake but caused us no problems at all. Altogether a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were on a Shearings coach trip so arrived on mass which was not a problem for the staff ,we were give a warm welcome .Our room over looked the lake which was wonderful especialy to wake up to such a fantastic view, as with most of Switzerland the prices in the hotel were a little pricey ,but there is a super market in the village ,just a short walk from the hotel, handy for packed lunches . The rail way line could be bother some if you are a little sleeper ,but you could have a room on the other side of the hotel. An excellent hotel on the whole ,perhaps a little dated ,well worth a visit ,thanks to all the staff for making our stay enjoyable

Room Tip: one over looking the lake at the top of the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank judithNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The village of Leissegen is right on the southern edge of Lake Thun(ersee) This is a really nice hotel situated just a few minutes walk from the lake.

When we arrived (October 2013, with Shearings Coach Tours) we were warmly greeted by Hans & Lisa (the proprietors of the hotel). From our room (202) we had a (joint) balcony and a great view of the lake and the railway (which can be a little noisy whilst trying to sleep)

The hotel is sort of back to front, the front entrance is in a side street, while looking at the front entrance being in the side street, that must make the rear of the hotel facing the main road ??, you'l know what I mean when you visit.

The hotel generally is very clean and tidy, the staff are very attentive and friendly and speak fluent English, I speak fluent German, so language was not really a barrier.

We were there for about a week, the food was various throughout our stay and very enjoyable. One evening we had what the hotel called a "gala night", 3 Swiss musicians playing for us all evening, 2 accordions and a 3rd player with a double bass and a tuba, a great nights entertainment.

On one of our trips/excursions the hotel made a lunch pack for those that wanted it. Their breakfast's are fairly extensive, sausages, scrambled egg, fried bread and all the normal continental foods, plus juices and yoghurts etc.

Only one small failing point was our room toilet, it was stained by lime scale, this can be cured so easily with a proprietary cleaner ???.

All in all a very nice enjoyable stay, one day we will return to the area and Hotel Kreuz, many thanks Lisa, Hans & staff.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the front of the hotel for a view of the lake
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigalw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of October 2013, as part of a Shearings holiday. We paid £108 extra to Shearings for an upgraded room on the front, overlooking the lake and the railway! The railway was not a problem, as trains do not run in the middle of the night. The road is quiet, as it is only very local traffic.

The room we had was modernised, as many are now. The mattresses were a little firm, but OK for a good sleep. The room was cleaned to a high standard.

The food throughout the stay was excellent with ample portions, and seconds if required! Food is always freshly prepared by a good chef, and plates are always very hot. They dealt with a full coach load very efficiently, and always with a smile. The glasses, cutlery and napkins were always spotless. Breakfast had a good range of stuff, and efficiently laid out.

Adapters for the weird Swiss plugs were freely available at reception. Lisa & Hans are usually on hand to help.

The only negative is that there is a large mark up on wines for meals, although the local beer was OK. However, there was always the supermarket!

Overall, an excellent package with Shearings, a shame this lovely place it is not closer to home!

Room Tip: Front of hotel for a stunning view. Pay extra to guarrantee a modernised room, but then you may get one anyway without paying extra, as more get upgraded!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliveStevenJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews