We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beds in Switzerland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Brienz
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best beds in Switzerland!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for the Axalp Air show (which was cancelled unfortunately). The beds were by far the most comfortable on our entire European trip! The hotel is directly across the 2 lane street from the train station, and sits atop the local TI. The hotel staff speaks English and was very accommodating and friendly. Our room had a balcony that faced the lake with a view of the alps. The hotel's restaurant had a large menu with lots of options and was reasonably priced. Overall, this was one of our favorite hotels and we recommend it!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the lake. They seem to get better reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    10
    10
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
375 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stopped for lunch in Brienz, en-route to Gimmelwald. We were pleased to find that the Weisses Kreuz Restaurant offered vegetarian and gluten-free menu options.

The outdoor terrace offers views of the lake and the bus/train station and is situated on the main lake-side road that runs through Brienz.

We found the (English speaking) waitress to be very friendly and informative regarding the menu. And the food was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
356 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

A tad understaffed perhaps or real busy on a Swiss national day holiday. Had to wait a bit to check in.

Rooms was as per described in Internet. Clean. Just enough room to manoeuvre around the beds. Standard Swiss space constraints I guess.

Breakfast is standard Swiss or continental fare; plenty of bread croissants ham and cheese.

Lunch was real disappointed pricey and poorly cooked. Pork was passé able. The roast chicken was very dry or reheated till dried.

Suffice for a quick night stopover but a bit busy for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolv3rin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

location near train station is great. view over the lake is great. but we were given a room with bare neon lamp. and the bread at the breakfast doesnt have the high swiss quality. we would try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluefish999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is definitely worth to stay in.
Great breakfast, friendly service, nice rooms - very clean - and perfectly situated close to station, harbour, bus stop and shops, bank and post office.
Restaurants on-site; as well as close by.
Also next to Rothorn station.
I will be back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2009

This is not a hotel to enjoy for stay, is just to go in and leave in next day to see the area. Very noisy, with road and train under your window. The room was clean, but the hotel looks used too much. Very good breakfast for a day to start. Do I recommend it.? Yes, if you want just a clean place to sleep. Very expansive!!!!!!! for this location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdm892000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneve
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2009

4.50 X 4.00 m very basic room for 200 SFr. a night...
1.90m long beds and shower at 1.60m: no good for tall (or normal?) people.

The lake is just in front of the room... but separated by the main road, the bus station and the train station. Busses and trains go all night once an hour during week-ends, but not at the same time of course.

Check-in very laborious and the owner is not smiling at all, God knows why.
Bad experience, will never go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brienz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brienz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lindenhof
Hotel Lindenhof
#5 of 12 in Brienz
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brienzerburli And Lowen
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Baren Brienz
Seehotel Baren Brienz
#2 of 12 in Brienz
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schonegg und Spycher
Schonegg und Spycher
#4 of 12 in Brienz
14 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Chemihuttli
Hotel Chemihuttli
#3 of 12 in Brienz
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weisses Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weisses Kreuz

Property: Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Address: Hauptstrasse 143, Brienz 3855, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Brienz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Brienz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weisses Kreuz 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Weisses Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing