We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The hostel is on the lake bed and it is very beautiful location. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. Great value for the money.

We have one great experience to share which left us in great taste for the hostel and the country - we forgot our money and gold rings under the pillow when we checked out. We realized it after couple of hours and came back running worried. The room was cleaned out and the staff had saved the few hundred Euros and gold rings. I forgot the name of the lady who did that, her honesty helped the trip to end with great feeling instead which could have ended up being a very sad one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshokGanapam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

My boyfriend and I had a private room with a balcony, and the view from the balcony remains to date the most spectacular panoramic view that either of us have ever experienced. While our opinion of the hostel itself was great, it was certainly heightened by the staff and other guests. We all cooked dinner together and had a bonfire outside where we had a few beers and exchanged travel stories. We formed some wonderful memories at this hostel.

One complaint that I do have is that there could be more washrooms. That was a bit of a drag at times.

This hostel is in a location that makes it fairly simple to access the nearby town of Interlaken (you can buy a bus pass at the hostel), which offers far more excitement than Iseltwald does. Iseltwald itself is rather quiet, as is the hostel.

We quite enjoyed our stay, and if we find ourselves in this neck of the woods again, we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purple_inferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

After looking at the online pictures from their website, I had high hopes. Apparently someone is skilled in photo editing/ framing. The lodge looked picturesque like it was alone in nature near the lake. The pictures of the rooms were also misleading. We arrived and checked into our room. It was like a flashback from summer camp, bare-bone bunk beds from Ikea with mattresses 20 years old, and no reading lamp. The room did have two lockers for four people, a sink, mirror and two outlets. The keys weigh a ton and there is one per room, read four people per room. Somehow it worked. When you leave, you leave the key in a unsecure common area. However the Slovenian staff were very nice and helpful. The internet actually worked, granted it was a bit slow. And they did offer a free breakfast which was decent, still don't know about the coffee. The free bus passes were a real help as we used them to travel to Interlaken, and on to Thun. It depends how desperate I am, if I will stay here again. The locals, esp. the ones in the service industry, read restaurant, didn't seem appreciative of our business, as we were buying overpriced pasta and pizza. We eventually stopped going to make a point not to give our hard earned cash to under appreciative people, read mean trolls. Nice location, great perks, but is that enough?

Room Tip: your call, here are the facts. Try it once
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Having spent four nights with my family in the summer of 2012 in a quatraple room in this hostel, I have to say that the place is in desperate need of renovation and proper maintainance. Moreover cleanliness is lacking, there were just one (shared) shower and a toilet per 8 rooms in each of the two floors and the shared kitchen was tiny and practically unusable, while breakfast was, well, "spartan" and the receptionist, although friendly and helpfull, was unavailable from 12 noon to 4.30 p.m.. On the positive side, the free kayaks in the wonderful lake and the resort itself which is tranquile and near most Jungfrau attractions (if you have a car).

Room Tip: Some lake view rooms have a balcony ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SALONIKIOS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Lake Lodge was a nice change from the hostels right in the middle of the city. I'd spend the day off bungee jumping, or canyoning, or hang gliding, or rafting and then it was great being able to come 'home' to a more relaxing environment. Plus, the Lodge has free kayaks to use for hostel guests, which I definitely took advantage of. The staff is super friendly, breakfast is included, and even though linens aren't technically included, you still get a blanket and a pillow without paying extra for sheets. I'd definitely recommend this lodge to anyone who needs a break from the more chaotic hostels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Very nice location in a calm area on the lakeside, great opportunity to rent kayaks for free and good facilities to cook in the kitchen (although only one cooking plate). The room was quite basic, a bit too expensive for what it was (no private toilet), but we had a sink and a balcony with view on the lake. To be recommended when staying in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandra1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

the hostel was really amazing in all aspect.the view from balcony was superb.the rooms were clean and spacious.the bathroom and toilets we clean.both the ladies were really nice and helpful.there was guest kitchen.they provide free kayaking.25 min bus journey from interlaken and last bus frm interlaken is at 2103hrs (we missed it once :( ). but the place is worth the distance.a swim in lake breinz will refresh you like anything.they provide a normal breakfast.the cabins are made of wood.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zubinmahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iseltwald
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Du Lac
Hotel Chalet Du Lac
#1 of 3 in Iseltwald
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strandhotel
Strandhotel
#2 of 3 in Iseltwald
53 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Iseltwald
Hotel Bellevue Iseltwald
#3 of 3 in Iseltwald
57 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 39 in Interlaken
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel

Address: Im Feld 17, Iseltwald 3807, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Iseltwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Iseltwald
Price Range: £24 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing