We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace of mind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peace of mind”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed here for 5 days. The location is amazing, just by the lake and Jana, the girl at the concierge is beautiful and extremely nice and helpful! The only problem is its slightly away from Interlaken Ost and you have to take a bus to get to the hostel - though its not a massive issue since you have a bus every hour. You can book all kinds of adventure sport activities right from the hostel, and some of them will even pick you up from the hostel. The location of the restaurant outside (by the lake) is just breathtaking. You can also rent canoes.

Overall, a great hostel for anyone looking for a peaceful time at one of the most picturesque locations in the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sum_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    26
    9
    8
    10
See reviews for
15
34
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A cracking location on the shore of Lake Brienz, Lakelodge is a fantastic hostel. I stayed 3 nights in a 4 bed dorm with only one other so we were lucky. The chap on the check in desk was friendly & very willing to offer help, advice & book activities. Clean rooms, good breakfast included, excellent bathrooms/toilets, mountain bikes & kayaks can easily be hired for the day & great a place to swim in the lake. Perfect for adrenaline junkies who like jumping off perfectly safe bridges, to those who prefer to go for a stroll into the alps or a cycle around Lake Brienz. A little out of Interlaken, however there's a decent hourly bus service from Iseltwald main square into the city centre, about 20 min ride. Only cons are maybe have a few more room keys for everyone & little AC in the warm weather, minor details really to be honest. Very satisfied, I highly recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Go for the smallest dorm available, quieter & less disturbances, no brainer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyTutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The hostel is on the lake bed and it is very beautiful location. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. Great value for the money.

We have one great experience to share which left us in great taste for the hostel and the country - we forgot our money and gold rings under the pillow when we checked out. We realized it after couple of hours and came back running worried. The room was cleaned out and the staff had saved the few hundred Euros and gold rings. I forgot the name of the lady who did that, her honesty helped the trip to end with great feeling instead which could have ended up being a very sad one.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshokGanapam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My boyfriend and I had a private room with a balcony, and the view from the balcony remains to date the most spectacular panoramic view that either of us have ever experienced. While our opinion of the hostel itself was great, it was certainly heightened by the staff and other guests. We all cooked dinner together and had a bonfire outside where we had a few beers and exchanged travel stories. We formed some wonderful memories at this hostel.

One complaint that I do have is that there could be more washrooms. That was a bit of a drag at times.

This hostel is in a location that makes it fairly simple to access the nearby town of Interlaken (you can buy a bus pass at the hostel), which offers far more excitement than Iseltwald does. Iseltwald itself is rather quiet, as is the hostel.

We quite enjoyed our stay, and if we find ourselves in this neck of the woods again, we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple_inferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

After looking at the online pictures from their website, I had high hopes. Apparently someone is skilled in photo editing/ framing. The lodge looked picturesque like it was alone in nature near the lake. The pictures of the rooms were also misleading. We arrived and checked into our room. It was like a flashback from summer camp, bare-bone bunk beds from Ikea with mattresses 20 years old, and no reading lamp. The room did have two lockers for four people, a sink, mirror and two outlets. The keys weigh a ton and there is one per room, read four people per room. Somehow it worked. When you leave, you leave the key in a unsecure common area. However the Slovenian staff were very nice and helpful. The internet actually worked, granted it was a bit slow. And they did offer a free breakfast which was decent, still don't know about the coffee. The free bus passes were a real help as we used them to travel to Interlaken, and on to Thun. It depends how desperate I am, if I will stay here again. The locals, esp. the ones in the service industry, read restaurant, didn't seem appreciative of our business, as we were buying overpriced pasta and pizza. We eventually stopped going to make a point not to give our hard earned cash to under appreciative people, read mean trolls. Nice location, great perks, but is that enough?

Room Tip: your call, here are the facts. Try it once
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Having spent four nights with my family in the summer of 2012 in a quatraple room in this hostel, I have to say that the place is in desperate need of renovation and proper maintainance. Moreover cleanliness is lacking, there were just one (shared) shower and a toilet per 8 rooms in each of the two floors and the shared kitchen was tiny and practically unusable, while breakfast was, well, "spartan" and the receptionist, although friendly and helpfull, was unavailable from 12 noon to 4.30 p.m.. On the positive side, the free kayaks in the wonderful lake and the resort itself which is tranquile and near most Jungfrau attractions (if you have a car).

Room Tip: Some lake view rooms have a balcony ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SALONIKIOS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Lake Lodge was a nice change from the hostels right in the middle of the city. I'd spend the day off bungee jumping, or canyoning, or hang gliding, or rafting and then it was great being able to come 'home' to a more relaxing environment. Plus, the Lodge has free kayaks to use for hostel guests, which I definitely took advantage of. The staff is super friendly, breakfast is included, and even though linens aren't technically included, you still get a blanket and a pillow without paying extra for sheets. I'd definitely recommend this lodge to anyone who needs a break from the more chaotic hostels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iseltwald
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Iseltwald
Hotel Bellevue Iseltwald
#3 of 3 in Iseltwald
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strandhotel
Strandhotel
#2 of 3 in Iseltwald
48 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#1 of 3 in Ringgenberg
73 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Seiler au Lac
Hotel Seiler au Lac
#1 of 5 in Boenigen
137 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Brienzerburli And Lowen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel

Property: Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel
Address: Im Feld 17, Iseltwald 3807, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Iseltwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Iseltwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing