We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chalet Du Lac
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Iseltwald
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional vacation”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Super relaxing village, best scenic view ever, staff are very friendly like one family, very helpful, clean place, everything helped to make an unforgettable vacation, the only two cons are: last bus from interlaken leaves at 8 pm, and hotel reception closes at 11 pm! But these didnt affect our plans anyway! Btw, dont forget to ask for transportation card from the hotel

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MahammadMohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    23
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Locust Valley, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you are visiting the Jungfrau region (Interlaken) of Switzerland, which in itself is majestic, you may really want to stay in this lovely area. I felt like I was dropped into a dream. Right on the Lake, gorgeous views and beautiful prospects. The proprietor, Susanne, was extremely accomodating and lovely. There is a very good restaurant as well, so you don't have to go far. The food is just what you would expect from a Swiss restaurant - very good. Hearty. The food in the German speaking part of Switzerland is a bit heavier. My daughter and I visited the beginning of September and the hotel was in easy access to the mountains we were hiking. The weather could not have been better. We travelled around a bit and this particular part was very special - I will never forget it. Thank you for a lovely time and for making our trip memorable.

Room Tip: We were situated in the back of the hotel - although the room was more than adequate and lovely - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

My family & I stayed here for 2 nights in a deluxe lakeside view room which was absolutely stunning. The views over lake Brienz were stunning and the hotel itself very typical of Swiss pensions. My only critism would be that there was no kettle in our room and having a young daughter with us who was in bed by 8pm in the evenings, we had to rely on our trusty flask for hot drinks!

We will definitely be returning next year ( albeit with a travel kettle! )

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bublicious1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condom, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A memorable location literally on the waterfront of Lake Brienz. Everything about this place is just right and if I could award the staff six stars I would. In our short stay this will remain as the memory; personally I would advise driving straight through Interlaken itself, which has the feel of a tourist trap. We ate in Interlaken twice, an Italian and traditional Swiss restaurant, the food and atmosphere at the Hotel Chalet du Lac restaurant was far superior. There is a boat service and a public bus (free to those staying in the Hotel) to Interlaken so if you arrive by Train its very easy to connect to here. I hesitate to give such a glowing review as I don't want to find the place fully booked next time I want to go, but I can't not as they fully deserve it.
BTW, the swimming pool is the lake, most refreshing!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank condomcalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This summer was our fourth year at Chalet du Lac and it remains one of our favourite places in Switzerland, no - the World! We are already dreaming of our journey there next August, stepping off the Dampschiff 'Lotschberg' at the jetty, strolling with our bags through the delightful lakeside village of Iseltwald, being welcomed again by the wonderful Susanne and her friendly team, then sitting in the terrace restaurant, enjoying the delicious food whilst gazing at the lake and the mountains opposite. The highlight of our stay this year was the annual Swiss National Day celebrations on 1st August - fireworks, marching bands, a blazing beacon on the lake and much merriment all evening. Breakfast is of course the traditional Swiss fare, fresh bread, local cheeses and ham, fruit - a welcome relief from the British obsession with fried eggs and bacon. Many dinner dishes are fish - pike/perch is a particular favourite of ours. Although the Swiss Franc is unfortunately rather expensive nowadays (only 1.5CHF per £1) the half board tariff is definitely the best option - no need to pay 100CHF for dinner - and you can choose anything from the menu. And where else can you find such scenery, hospitality and serenity? It's worth every Franc!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABORIGINEFIDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a lovely small hotel in a very small town (Iseltwald)outside of Interlaken. The hotel offers a complimentary bus pass for the local bus into Interlaken (about 25 minutes that departs every hour) .
The staff was friendly and professional and the hotel was spotless. We ate in the the restaurant which is very popular. The food was delicious, and right on the lake, and is as expensive as the rest of Switzerland. We had a second floor room with a small balcony with a stunning view of Lake Brienz. The complimentary breakfast is continental and fresh.
Switzerland is very expensive and a basic meal with no wine, appetizers or dessert is easily 100 francs. We enjoyed buying local bread, cheese, wine and /or sliced meats for about 20 francs and enjoying them on our balcony.
The only caveat is that although the restaurant serves their last meal at 9:00 in the evening, it can remain noisy until about 10:30 or so. We, however were generally so tired from days of exploring that it made no difference.

Room Tip: Request an upper room with a balcony on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Waverley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Rooms facing the lake had excellent views, furnishings are basic and clean. Breakfast had no hot food so in comparison to other European hotels of same rating was not as varied. Reception staff were not friendly, rather cold and aloof. Had a booking discrepancy and I was told sort it out myself with the booking agency, not even wanting to look up phone number after being requested. Her attitude was totally dismissive and uncompromising, luckily the booking agency were much more accomodating and sorted everthing out promptly. Like everything in Switzerland overpriced for what you get even in other major European tourist destinations.

Room Tip: ask for lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveaholiday20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iseltwald
0.3 mi away
Strandhotel
Strandhotel
#2 of 3 in Iseltwald
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Iseltwald
Hotel Bellevue Iseltwald
#3 of 3 in Iseltwald
52 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
151 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#20 of 40 in Interlaken
173 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Seiler au Lac
Hotel Seiler au Lac
#1 of 5 in Boenigen
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Du Lac

Property: Hotel Chalet Du Lac
Address: Schoren, Iseltwald 3807, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Iseltwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Iseltwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chalet Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing