We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining at Hotel Rosenlaui”
Review of Rosenlaui Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rosenlaui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosenlaui Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosenlaui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have eaten at many starred and Michelin restaurants world wide but for a surpassingly gourmet meal do try to not only stay but to eat what Chef Andreas prepares daily.You will count it as one of your best memories.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you like old houses with the special athmosphere of the past and appreciate the peace in rooms without TV, W-Lan, radio and telephones then you`re at the right place! The owners are very charming, the food served on old dishes is excellent and the large drawing room is inviting to read, discuss or play games.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beatricebrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Our family recently spent two nights at Rosenlaui and had a great time. Although it's location is a bit remote, it is a great base for hiking a beautiful valley. Meiringen and Grindelwald are both within easy striking distance by bus. The hotel, although lacking many modern amenities, had great food and we were treated on a tuesday night to a yodelling concert. Easily the best value that we found over a week spent in switzerland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We read about this in the Rough Guide and drove there on spec. They said they could put us up for one night, but not two as a group was coming. The next morning the proprietress, who was very helpful, said there'd been a cancellation and we could stay on; but we'd already made other plans. The location is absolutely unbeatable. DO take the perilous walk up the waterfall: it's a natural wonder. The hotel fuels itself and even charges its electric car from the waterfall. That must be why the lights are rather dim and flickery. But that's all part of the ambience. You could be in 1900, in a Thomas Mann novel, with big public rooms full of old sofas, books, pictures, pianos, doo-dads. Our room had a porcelain jug and basin, but there was a real Bathroom too, across the hall! One for gents and one for ladies, serving the whole floor. Likewise two toilets. The gourmet dinner was part of the package (just as well, since there's nothing else in the valley), and was excellent from beginning to end, so long as you didn't mind it being a prescribed menu. Breakfast likewise: this is Switzerland after all. Highly recommended if atmosphere and friendliness are more important to you than "special needs."

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sensiferous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

The hotel Rosenlaui above Meiringen is wonderful. Built as a Victorian spa in 1904 and being restored to the period by the young Kehrli couple, it’s a rustic berghotel with a lot of charm. No en suite bathrooms or wifi, but an excellent daytime menu and a thoughtful, inexpensive pension fixed menu in the evening. The hiking in the area is fantastic in all directions and at all levels, with the Wetterhorn and Wellhorn and their glaciers overhead, and the Eiger just over the Grosse Scheidegg pass. The salons serve as an alpine mini-museum, and the tourist Glacier Gorge nearby, under different management, is worth an hour’s walk up. The pension prices are very attractive. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2007

Do yourself a favor-book a visit to this wonderful hotel and experience what brought visitors here 230 years ago! The atmosphere is intoxicating with the rushing water and spring flowers-the ringing of the large cow bells signalling that soon the heards will be brought back to the Alps meadows to graze until winter.
The food is first class and I will never forget the way my skin felt
after a morning shower in water devoid of hard minerals which
make your skin feel all tight. Instead your skin feels silky -no moisterizer needed!!
I will go back again, because there is a desire for all of the "modern" amenities Rosenlaui Hotel does not have-and therefore I can sleep in peace, high in the Alps and hear the footsteps of history just outside my window.

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank bolt1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2007

The Hotel Rosenlaui is absolutely wonderful. The guide books will tell you that it was once an absolute gem, attracting royalty and the rich and famous of another age. Look closely, we are told, and you will see the signs of an aging queen of a hotel. And that is true, but then why look closely? Simply put, we loved it and here we ate the most elegant meal that we had on our entire trip; we’d go back again in a heartbeat.

First, look that frontage and setting in the first photo below. You can see that it is set into a steep hillside and most of the guest rooms face the front. What you can’t see is the wide brook that runs with snowmelt past the front of the hotel and that absolutely sings you to sleep at night. As for the rundown, dowdy atmosphere, take a look at these pictures and if they signify a bygone age, so be it. I found it enchanting.

Although the Postbus does stop at the hotel (the route runs from Grosse Scheidegg to Meiringen), it does help to have a car.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aeschi96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosenlaui
0.0 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reuti
Hotel Reuti
#1 of 5 in Hasliberg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#4 of 10 in Meiringen
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meiringen
Hotel Meiringen
#2 of 10 in Meiringen
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosenlaui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosenlaui Hotel

Address: Rosenlaui CH-3860, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Rosenlaui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosenlaui
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing