We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a true gem”
Review of Rosenlaui Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rosenlaui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosenlaui Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosenlaui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is one of the most special hotels I have ever stayed at: a beautifully restored and maintained Victorian-era hotel set in a spectacular location with fabulous food, friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable and individually decorated. Toilets and showers are in the hallway to preserve the original character of the hotel and avoid cramming ensuite bathrooms into each room. There are simpler (and cheaper) double rooms without the mountain views (you have to bring your own sleeping bag and towels). The view from the front-facing rooms is splendid. The ample breakfast buffet and the four-course dinner are included in the price. The hotel is an excellent starting point for several walks and hikes or a walk through the glacier gorge (a World Heritage Site). Take the bus from Meiringen or Grindelwald and enjoy the views, instead of navigating the hairpin turns in your own car.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room with windows facing two directions - lovely and light. It's worth pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

It's a lovely old hotel situated in the Rosenlaui valley. The 1st floor has some lovely decor of old furniture and paintings which take you back in time (in a good way).
Rooms - Good beds, spacious, lovely view of the mountains from the balcony. Note - no ensuite or TV / Wifi (not a problem for us).
Food - 3-course meal was included and was of a very good standard. Breakfast was reasonable but maybe could do with a little more variety.
Staff - Very helpful and friendly especially as we were one of the few non german speakers.
Attractions - Great walking, also visited the gorge and Reichenbach Falls in Meiringen nearby. Note - the post bus is free if you stay at the hotel and is an especially good way to get about the valley and over to Grindelwald.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

There are three ways of reaching the Rosenlaui Hotel from Meiringen, near Interlaken in Switzerland - by car, by bus or on foot. After taking the 100+ year old train that takes you from Meiringen to the vista point of the Reichenbach Falls where Sherlock Holmes vanished while fighting with Moriarty, I decided to walk towards the glacier for 2 hours and on foot I reached Rosenlaui. The hotel price includes a three-course dinner as well as breakfast the next day. Showers and toilets are outside your room but the beds are quite comfortable. The food was excellent and wine choices quite high quality. There are many excursions you can take it from there and the views are absolutely out of this world. You can understand why Arthur Conan Doyle decided to have his famous detective disappear in such an idyllic place. If you want to step off the beaten path, come discover Rosenlaui

Room Tip: Ask to have a room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wonderful lady and I made this trip on the advise of a work associate. He knows what he is talking about as we could not have been more pleased with our stay.

Beautiful location and more important - super nice employees and owners made us feel welcome.

Try it - you will love it.

Jeff Parke and Cynthia - Illinois

Room Tip: Cold week on October - not sure if they had pool or fitness. Everything else is #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stopped by for lunch on the terrace while hiking through the Alps on the Via Alpina. Located just outside the front door of the hotel, the terrace is so very pleasant: a grouping of umbrellas and tables near trees. Views of forest, peaks and the historic hotel are out of this world. Service was very attentive, courteous and efficient. We ordered the Goethe Teller, named after the famous German poet who stayed here many years ago. The plate consisted of three types of cheese, several types of bread, prunes, cherries, dried apricot, hazelnuts, sliced apple, lettuce, a baked potato loaded with sour cream and chives, and a small glass of some cream of vegetable soup. Paired with Swiss beer, this was a perfect meal for hungry hikers on a hot and sunny day. As we sat there and watched happy hikers and sightseers come and go, we thought of Goethe and the many other famous folk who have stayed at this Belle Epoche place over the past 100-plus years: Nietzsche, Tolstoy, Conan Doyle, etc. What fun. We highly recommend dining on the terrace on a fine summer day. You'll never forget it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rehoboth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Staying at this hotel is like stepping back a hundred years, but with good showers, excellent service and first class food.

We had a top floor room with wonderful views of the mountains. There are no lifts. Crisp white bed-linen looks and feels lovely. The beds are quite hard, the pillows, only one supplied per person, are extremely soft - we would have appreciated extra pillows. White towels (could be a bit bigger for showering) and shower/hair gel are provided in the rooms.

The room was very warm, we turned the radiator off as soon as we got in. Overnight we had the windows open. The stream just outside was quite full and very loud. Not quite the gently tinkling brook I was hoping for.

No en suite facilities. Showers are shared, two to each floor, with basins in the same area, all look to be very new. Everything was very clean.

Dinner was first rate. It is a set menu included in the price of the room, drinks are extra. We started with a prosecco before the first course of a really excellent white wine soup. Neither of us is particularly found of pumpkin so the next course of Kurbiscrustini was not really to our taste. The beef stroganoff was made with very tender beef and served on a bed of piped mashed potato. With this we had 50cl of a very acceptable Valpolicella and litre of sparkling water. Finally the pannacotta dessert with an intense raspberry sauce was gorgeous.

The following morning breakfast continued in the same vein: bowls of yoghurts and fresh fruits including blueberries, strawberries, blackberries, all perfectly fresh and completely unblemished - the tastes were wonderful. Several different fresh breads and bread rolls, home-made jams - the apricot was superb - and excellent coffee served with hot milk, the coffee pot kept warm on a burner at the table. Really excellent way to start the day.

Our bill for one night including evening meal, drinks and breakfast came to 292 CHF. Guests can take the post bus to and from the hotel free of charge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I'd heard great things about Rosenlaui for years, and was not disappointed. Rooms are simple, clean and pleasant. Showers (much appreciated after hiking) are instant heat and high flow. We were there one evening with a musical performance during dinner, sort of camp, but in good fun. Food was very good and service first class. Setting is stunning at the base of a range of cliffs. Hiking here provides maple opportunity to observe Swiss cows beginning the cheese production process.

Room Tip: As near as I can tell the rooms are about all the same. I'd probably go for one of the lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schwanewede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rosenlaui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosenlaui Hotel

Address: Rosenlaui CH-3860, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Rosenlaui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosenlaui
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing