We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want in a quiet mountain town!”
Review of Mountain Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you could want in a quiet mountain town!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I hesitate to write this review because I love that Gimmelwald is a such a secret! But if you're visiting Gimmelwald, I highly recommend the Mountain Hostel. My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of the town and hostel (we visited in the off season.) The staff were friendly and helpful, especially in helping us plan and choose a hiking route. We enjoyed the food, the clean and cozy rooms and the chance to hang out in the common room and get to know the other guests. The only thing I would say is to be prepared to eat in the common room instead of the dining room "restaurant" area if you choose to eat at the hostel instead of the other hotels. It seemed fair enough to us since the dining space is so small but certainly does cut the charm of "eating out" and it may be worth it to eat your dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    12
    11
    0
See reviews for
16
34
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here and enjoyed each day looking out on the view of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountains. No cars, no stores, just the cable car stop. Delicious food served in the Mountain House Cafe
Very reasonable cost to stay at their hostel. I was in bed 26 in the female room but got great sleep every night.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank cathycrymes1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

For the money, it's a good deal. It's easy to get to (tram stop is literally a few feet away) and the views are stunning. My only complaint is for the restaurant (which is in the same small building). When I went to the dining room to have dinner, I was told (rather rudely) that since I was a hostel guest, I would have to leave the dining room if someone from outside came in to have dinner. What? No explanation was given when I asked the reason other than (I was) "a hostel guest".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We went out of our way to come to this hostel specifically while backpacking Europe and it did not disappoint!! We loved this place so much. Everything from the beautiful town, the trails around, the activities to do, the amazing pizza at the hostel, the nice owners, and the awesome atmosphere. We made so many friends and really got to have a fantastic time here. They are really doing it right!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Randi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Petra and her daughters are gracious hosts and have an amazing hostel in Gimmelwald. If there is availability, book it! As soon as you step off the cable car you will want to extend your stay (as most visitors will confirm). The view is spectacular but the staff and other travelers are even better. Hostel is fun, clean, well kept, has WiFi and a great common area. Petra helped me organize several hikes, runs, and other logistics with the rest of my trip. I instantly met a group of fellow solo travelers and we cooked dinner together, went on a trail run, and went hiking too. Such an amazing place, I can't wait to come back for a full week!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Absolute, flat-out, breathtaking, awe-inspiring, memory-making paradise. That’s what the Mountain Hostel in Gimmelwald is. I spent one of the best weeks of my life at this fantastic place. The location in amazing, but it’s really the environment that sets this hostel apart. Nowhere else in my travels have I come across a place full of so many friendly, caring people. There aren’t any lockers, which initially scared me. But soon enough I discovered it’s a beautiful reflection of the fantastic atmosphere here, because you never have to worry about anyone ever touching your stuff. The rooms aren’t incredibly spacious, but that’s also ok because everyone is courteous and makes an effort to get along with one another. It really is like living in a dream here.

Breakfast is provided, and during my stay it consisted of bread, generic nutella, chocolate muesli, and milk. There’s a coffee machine for which you receive 1 token per day, but honestly the coffee wasn’t that great. Try to go for the free tea that’s usually in the kitchen. Showers do cost 1 franc, which might be a surprise at first – but prepare yourself: everything in Switzerland costs money, and usually a lot of it. There’s a very well-stocked kitchen that has everything you might need for preparing lunches and dinners, along with a fridge where you can store any cold items you might have. There’s a few local cheese shops in Gimmelwald, but for any substantial groceries there’s a very nice Coop store up in Mürren – a beautiful 30 minute walk or short gondola ride away. Mürren also provides the nearest ATM if you’re needing more Francs, unless I missed one in Gimmelwald. There’s also a lock-out time from 9:30am – 11am. If you stay here, please try to abide by that time. The staff really needs it to keep the place tidy! Laundry is available, but it costs 5 francs to use a washer. Dryers, however, are free. There’s also an additional building that offers a free pool table. I didn’t have any of the food from the bar/restaurant at the hostel, but everything I saw looked delicious and smelled even better. I can recommend the dark lager Rugen Brau that’s on tap there. I’m definitely not a beer connoisseur by any means, but I found this one to be very good, although expensive.

If you’re looking to go hiking, Gimmelwald makes for a perfect jumping off point. There’s a multitude of maps and guide books in the main room of the hostel, and the staff is more than willing to suggest good hikes in the area. A few suggestions from my experience:

1: Chilchbalm. This hike heads straight out of Gimmelwald to the end of the valley. The end point provides a beautiful view of the mountain amphitheater. Total round trip mileage is about 5.3 miles.

2. Tanzboden. This hike is absolutely fantastic, especially on a day with clear weather. You head across the river and up the ridge towards a small jut of rock called Spitzhorn (The Shark Fin). While it is pretty aggressive, the end point of this hike provides you with breathtaking views of the adjacent valley that is hidden when in Gimmelwald. Tanzboden translates to “The Dance Floor,” which is the flat expanse of grass and alpine flowers you reach at the base of Spitzhorn. If you’re an experienced hiker or climber, you can get up to the top of Spitzhorn for even greater landscape views.

3. Bryndli. This hike leads to a peak that juts over the valley in which Gimmelwald is located. If you can, head on past the point and continue further up to a flat plain that leads to Rotstockhutte. I ran here one morning with a really awesome guy I met at the hostel one night, and it was one of the greatest runs I’ve ever been on. Once you make it beyond Bryndli you’re treated to incredible views, and you can’t help but be in awe as the Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau loom over you in the background.

4. Schilthorn. This hike is pretty aggressive, as it includes over 5000ft of elevation gain. But the views from the top of the mountain can be worth it if you have a clear day. There’s also a cable car that will take you all the way to the revolving restaurant and James Bond memorabilia at the top, but it is very expensive. It does make for a weird experience if you hike it, though. Arriving at the top of a peak after a long hike and finding a whole bunch of tourists and a fancy restaurant just seems so out of place compared to the usual cairn and registry.

5. Any trail your heart desires! There are so many options for trails to explore, and it’s impossible to pick one that won’t deliver amazing views or great memories. So whether you’re looking for the best trail running you’ll ever find or a nice stroll through beautiful Swiss flowers, just get out & explore!

A few notes on how to get to Gimmelwald. From the Interlaken Ost Station (Not to be confused from Interlaken West), take a train to Lauterbrunnen, catch the waiting bus outside the station to the Stechelberg gondola station, and take the gondola to the first stop of Gimmelwald. The total cost to get from Interlaken to Gimmelwald is 16 francs if I remember correctly, and it’s handy to buy one ticket for the entire trip from the information booth at the Interlaken train station instead of purchasing tickets for each route along the way.

So that’s all to say, you have to come here. Once you’re here, you’ll realize what everyone means by the “Magic of Gimmelwald,” and you’ll understand why you never have to travel anywhere else in the world. Come to the Mountain Hostel. Come to paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trekking262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Getting up to the Mountain Hostel is pricey- I had a Eurail Global Pass and it didn't cover it. You have to take a train to a bus to the cable car, so be prepared. Once you get there, the view is breathtaking.
The hostel itself is ok. Rooms are cramped but clean. They neglect to tell you that you have to PAY for the shower, which is RIDICULOUS to me. And the bathrooms were kinda nasty and stinky. I didn't have the breakfast in the am because it looked pretty disgusting. And their lock out starts pretty early so I was glad I got up and showered and ready pretty early because I didn't realize that the night before.
The do give you a visitor card that allows you access to the pool in Murren, which is very nice. And the restaurant that is right next to the hostel has AMAZING food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stupy219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#8 of 11 in Murren
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Hostel

Property: Mountain Hostel
Address: Gimmelwald, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mountain Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Gimmelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing