We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mittaghorn
Nearby Hotels
Stechelberg(Stechelberg)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alpenruh(Murren)(Great Value!)
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eiger Guesthouse(Murren)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Horner(Lauterbrunnen)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Silberhorn(Lauterbrunnen)
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Oberland(Lauterbrunnen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
64
22
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
22
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrick stevesthe cool mountain airsome tlcswiss alpshiking trailscow bellsplace to stayglass windowsbreadbeds were comfortablepension gimmelwaldtimvalleyhikeshowercowsswitzerland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If you like being around other Americans who want to sit around all evening recounting the fabulous places they "hiked" that day, you should stay here. If you don't, and you'd rather be somewhere picturesque where you can enjoy peace and quiet, don't go here. This place is rustic for sure, with an incredible view, and I guess you could call it cozy. But I found it run down and unpleasant. The floors creek and you need to be willing to put up with your neighbors' comings and goings. The fact that it's inexpensive made it more palatable. However, I'd rather come to Gimmelwald as a day trip and find a other hotel which is modern and clean, with an in-room bathroom.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jarred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a great experience. The double room, shower, and bathroom areas were all clean and tidy. The breakfast of bread, jam, and cheese was a good start to the day. Tim is extremely knowledgable of the area and had excellent suggestions for hiking and knew the conditions of the trails. We felt very welcomed, starting with our initial email contact until we left at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a better view but rear rooms are cheaper.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgs0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel is up on the the hill. I'm sure our views would have been great, if the Alps were not cloud covered! The walls are THIN, the rooms are big. This is NOT a fancy place, but hanging out with other guests over dinner was a treat! (Definitely pre-order the dinner.) Tim was a fantastic host, helping us understand the culture of the life in a tiny village in the Alps. You have to pay for the showers. I suggest ear plugs - not just because of the thin walls, but the goats across the "road" have bells on their necks!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This hotel was definitely a highlight for our European trip. We spent three nights here. Like others have said the physical hotel is pretty good, but its the atmosphere that makes this place. If there are other travelers in the hotel you have to eat the dinner- we met some wonderful people and stayed up late into the night talking. The views are incredible and the town charming. Stop reading reviews and pull the trigger.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

If you are looking for the charm of the Alps, good conversation and a slower pace this is the place. It is not the Ritz. Walter and Tim make you feel like a welcome guest in their home. Meals are family style where you swap stories of the days experiences and tomorrow's plans late into the night. The location is a wonderful gateway to all the activities the Alps offers. You can get a home cooked meal here or dine with younger drinking crowd down below (food in both locations is good), but definitely take your first meal with Walter as you may decide you have no need to eat elsewhere. Besides cook, manager, and maid, Tim is a great concierge with knowledge in all the trails, activities and weather. Hope to come back one day.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank JimDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews