We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Esther's Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Gimmelwald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is one of the most beautiful places in the world. Ester's offers the perfect setting for enjoying hiking or not. To sit on the porch and watch the people walk through and watch the parasailers fly by is my isda of a great afternoon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maggie74044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Esther runs a clean place and gives good advice for hiking and sightseeing. We signed up for breakfast 1 morning. The next morning we left to go hiking early, so we used the kitchen to make our own breakfast and sack lunches with supplies we had bought the day before.

The views are great, it's the Alps.

Room Tip: Wifi worked best in dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michigandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great place to stay for a day, a week or longer. Big, airy accommodation with fantastic views. Esther a great hostess. Good restaurants across the street and in nearby Murren. Or self-cater in fully equipped kitchen. Grocery store in Murren. A cable car trip up to the Schilthorn for breakfast - fantastic! Trummelbach Falls a 5 minute bus ride away. Endless hiking trails for all skill levels right off the front porch.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you like calm, peaceful, bed and breakfasts with luxurious views of the Alps and a hearty and delicious all-you-can-eat breakfast, this is the place for you. My wife and I spent a night here during our honeymoon in the Alps, and if I were to do this again, I would certainly book it for more than just one night. The views cannot be beat and we especially enjoyed the quaint feeling of the town with no cars. However, be careful and know that Esther is only available at certain hours of the day to check people in and answer questions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leprechaun32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Esther is a very warm and engaging host who readily shares her wealth of knowledge regarding the surrounding area including hiking. We were very impressed by the cleanliness of the B&B and took advantage of the shared kitchen to make our dinners since eating out is prohibitively expensive! There is a Co-op grocery store is Murren which has a variety of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner which is a 35 minute walk up from Gimmelwald or a short tram ride. The room we stayed in (room #5) is a loft and is very cozy. We did have to be mindful of the low ceiling being tall but, we knew that when we reserved the room. It is highly recommended that visitors to Gimmelwald allot extra days to account for the ever changing weather. We were fortunate to experience two beautiful clear sunny days wrapped about one rainy low visibility day. This definitely is a must see stop on any trip to Switzerland and Esther's Guesthouse is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SoCalWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Esther's beautiful, flower-covered porch is a great place to watch the sunset over tha Alps! We loved our spacious room with large windows we could leave open at night. We also enjoyed the large shared kitchen and full-sized refrigerator. Gimmelwald is a peaceful slice of heaven. Esther was very helpful and friendly. We definitely will return on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 are large and nice with a view of the village and mountains. They share a bathroom wit...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Esther was so helpful and accommodating! The guesthouse is clean, very nice and has beautiful views of the mountains in all directions. We loved staying in this tiny village. There are only 2 restaurant options available and no stores to buy food, but if you get food in Murren or Lauterbrunnen, you can use the kitchen in the guesthouse. If you enjoy quieter, less touristy places, this is perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schmierie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#11 of 11 in Murren
79 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esther's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esther's Guesthouse

Address: Kirchstatt, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gimmelwald
Price Range: £116 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Esther's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esther`s Guesthouse Hotel Gimmelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing