We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Barcarolle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prangins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel literature advertizes a "beach bar," giving the impression that it is possible to swim in the lake right in front of the "beach bar." That is not possible. When we were there in June, the water was clogged with water weeds, detritus from nesting birds, and was turbid and quite dirty. There is, however, a publc beach reached by a pathway on the right side of the hotel, and there the water appeared cleaner. The room we were give had no lake view and we were told those with a view only had twin beds! Decor in the rooms is a sort of dated dowdy 60's/70's Swiss. Breakfast the first morning was excellent with wait staff constantly in attendance. The following Saturday morning, when more guests were at the hotel, only one waitress was present and too busy to tke on everyone's needs. In all for the price one pays, this hotel was not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments on your stay in our hotel. We have taken good notes of your remarks which help us to improve our service towards our clientele.
We are sorry to read that you were note entirely satisfied during your stay with.
kindest regards.

Michèle L. E. Liechti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel was a very solid 4 star with a very quiet and relaxing location. The views are superb with the lake in front of you with the Alps in the background. The food was quite good, but I wish there were a few more selections on the menu or that the selections changed by day. The breakfast included in the room rate is excellent. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff at the hotel is also excellent and very accommodating. The food and drink prices were expensive to us, but then we found that to be the case throughout Switzerland. The very strong Swiss Franc CHF is responsible, so it isn't anything particular to the hotel. The hotel is good for both business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller9876123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

thank you very much indeed for your comments about your stay with us. We take very seriously the notes from our guests to improve our services.
we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon.
kindest regards
Michèle L. E. Liechti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is situated on the lake. In summer is possible to swim in the lake with own little harbour.
For visiting arounding, bikes are at disposal.
The Restaurant was nothing special. The rooms good with sea view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much indeed to have taken the time to write your comments on your stay with us.
Thus helps us a lot to improve and keep our services to your expectation.
With our best regards.
Michèle L. E. Liechti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful location on the lake. Rooms are good size and well equipped. I was staying for business, but would come back with family for vacation. No public path to walk around the lake, but morning walk on the local streets provide views of beautiful gated estates. Restaurant was not great, but a the town of Nyon is a short taxi ride away with many choices.

Room Tip: Upper floord provide best views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much indeed to have taken the time to write your comments regarding your stay with us. We do take into consideration all recommandations of our guests to constently improve our services.
With our best regards
Michèle L. E. Liechti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

It was my second stay in the hotel- boh for business. It has definitely a nice & cosy atmosphere with a country style decor in the room. Lac Leman has a great view and hotel is located by the lake. Breakfast was nice with a moderate open buffet. You may find selection of Swiss cheese as well as pastries. It is quite expensive but it is quite the case generally in Switzerland.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Berivana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Sir,

thank you to have taken time to make comments on our property. We do appreciate and are very pleased to read that you are a regular guest.
we are very much looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Michèle L. E. Liechti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Very clean, cosy rooms. Breakfast traditional and okay. Great views on lake. Missed coffee and tea facilities in room.
Staff not overly friendly, but correct. You definitely need a car to get around, no restaurants etc. in direct vicinity.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GeorginaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. It is very important for us and helps to improve our services. We are sorry to read that the totality of our services did not respond to your expectation.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
kindest regards

HOTEL LA BARCAROLLE

Michèle L. E. Liechti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is situated directly on the lake just outside Nyon. Despite this location and an outdoor pool, it is predominantly a business hotel.
Rooms are generous, with separate shower and bathtub, Bogner-branded amenities, ample storage room in the wardrobe with a sufficient number of shirt/coat hangers, free wifi. The decor is a little dated, but immaculately maintained, as is so often the case in Swiss hotels.
Parking is free, the staff friendly, competent and multi-lingual.
Breakfast (usually included in the rate) was okay, but not special, a little bit short on healthy options. Dinner at the restaurant was very good, and very speedily served.
On warm days, meals can be had on the lovely terrace looking down towards the lake.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the grounds towards the lake. Upper floors may have a better view over the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014
Google Translation

Cher Client,

Merci pour votre avis très apprécié car nous sommes très à l'écoute de notre clientèle. Les commentaires nous aident à contrôler nos prestations en permanence et à les améliorer.
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un bon séjour et espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau lors d'un de vos prochains séjours.
Avec considération
Michèle L. E. Liechti
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prangins
1.1 mi away
Base Nyon
Base Nyon
#1 of 8 in Nyon
96 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Hotel & Residence La Villa du La...
#3 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
508 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Le Rive
Hotel Le Rive
#4 of 8 in Nyon
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hostellerie Le Petit Manoir
6.1 mi away
Best Western Chavannes De Bogis
Best Western Chavannes De Bogis
#1 of 1 in Chavannes-de-Bogis
350 reviews
6.1 mi away
L HOTEL by Hostellerie du Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Barcarolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Barcarolle

Address: Route De Promenthoux, Prangins, Nyon District 1197, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Nyon District > Prangins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prangins
Price Range: £128 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel La Barcarolle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our amazing haven – a 4-star superior hotel hidden on the shores of Lake Geneva… Air-conditioned rooms | Outdoor pool | Free parking | Free wifi | 20 minutes to Geneva airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Barcarolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing