We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poorly managed restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Union - Auberge Communale d'Arzier
Ranked #1 of 2 Arzier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Gault&Millau rate this restaurant with a high 15 out of 20. The local has several very positive reviews, and then we overheard favorable comments left and right. So we said, lets try it out!

On the positive side: a very charming hostess with a genuine smile on her face capable of making you feel welcome right away. Too bad she did not have enough time to give us such a welcome! An excellent filet de boeuf, just delicious, and much better than what we have tasted in the region. The other courses we had, were okay, but nothing outstanding ( the carpaccio de st Jacques had different components that did not complement each other in their taste) A magnificent wine card, covering a number of regions, reasonably priced.

But then we come to the negative side of the ledger. And here we encountered several, quite serious, problems. First of all, waiting, waiting, waiting. After we arrived, it took 20 minutes to get the menu card, and another 35 minutes before the first course was served. This is totally unacceptable!

But here the worst is yet to come: the wine was served well after the first course was put on the table, and only because we reminded the waiter that we had ordered wine. What kind of training did these waiters receive from their manager?

The reason why we waited so long was quite clear. There were about 45 guests, and only three waiters. These poor guys did their best, running around as fast as they could, but they were unable to make up for the lack of personnel. The source of the problem is incompetent management. When you have 45 people making a reservation, and this is what people invariably do in a restaurant of this level, you should know that 3 waiters is just not enough if you offer menus with 3, 4 or 5 courses.

Mr. Restaurant Owner: if you want to have a good-quality restaurant, it is not enough to be a good cook, you also need to know how to manage your place.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
7  Thank MarcoPoloFounex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Ate there recently. The food sounds super in the menu - the reality is completely different. The menu is pretentious. The food was very simple and vastly over-cooked.

What's worse was the service - more reminiscent to the lack of service found in France than in Switzerland. Too few waiters zip around but have to be called to the table each time.

I got the impression that they are only interested in serving larger groups.

The view from Arzier is fantastic, though. One of the best views in Switzerland, with the Mont Blanc right in front.

Unfortunately, one doesn't go to a high priced restaurant just for the view.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank utvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Seb33350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank ClaireAmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank 6000SC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chrys028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jm_livrozet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arzier
2.8 mi away
Auberge de la Reunion
Auberge de la Reunion
#1 of 1 in Coinsins
42 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Club Le Risoux
Hotel Club Le Risoux
#1 of 1 in Bois d'Amont
155 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Glanis
Hotel Glanis
#1 of 1 in Gland
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Cour Pavee
La Cour Pavee
#1 of 2 in Genolier
12 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Lierre
Le Lierre
#2 of 2 in Genolier
4 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Poste
Hotel Restaurant La Poste
#1 of 2 in Saint-Cergue
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Union - Auberge Communale d'Arzier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Union - Auberge Communale d'Arzier

Address: route de Saint-Cergue 9, Arzier, Nyon District 1273, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Nyon District > Arzier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Arzier
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Union - Auberge Communale d'Arzier 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Union - Auberge Communale d'Arzier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing