We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb once again!”

Old Smiddy Guest House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laide
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Smiddy Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laide
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Old Smiddy, and we received the same warm welcome as last time.
Julie and Julian are excellent hosts, and we had delicious breakfasts and a specially-prepared vegetarian dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birgitta_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Old Smiddy Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

I don't often write reviews on anything and I'm kind of loathed to do this one as this is such a special place, you kind of want to keep it to yourself!!! But that's not fair really :) We only stayed for one night - THIS time - we will definitely be going back. Julie and Julian's welcome was superb with freshly baked scones to boot. We were offered dinner and I'm so glad we took it as we were treated to food of supreme quality. Do not hesitate to take the offer of the 3 course dinner - you will not be disappointed. Where else would you get electric blankets (switched on for you) and heated towel rails, a wood burning stove in the guest lounge and a very warm welcome for your toy poodle? Julie and Julian deserve the highest of praise for their welcome, food and standards. I just hope that there are rooms when we go next time as The Old Smiddy was recommended to me by my cousin and I haven't stopped recommending it since we were there.

Room Tip: Stayed in the red room, which was excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

After nearly a fortnight touring in the Western Isles our last night on our return to the mainland turned out to be the best. Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night but this was enough to convince us that Julie and Julian run an establishment of fine quality. We had the ground floor garden room which is more like a suite with comfortable sitting area separate from the bed etc. A special feature of the Old Smiddy is the availabilty of an evening meal - also of exceptional quality. Even if Laide had a choice of restaurants (which it has'nt - the nearest being a few miles away), no visitor would want to go anywhere else. The breakfast - with a wide choice - was also very good. The garden room is accessed from the outside but an umbrella is thoughtfully provided for the few steps to the front door (in the unlikely event of a spot of rain in Wester Ross!!!)

Room Tip: Go for the garden room if available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We phoned and booked this Guest house which has 3 rooms and a self let bungalow and were amazed at how helpful the hosts were over the phone with directions and details of the area. When we arrived were met by Julie and she offered us a hand with our cases into the house. Our room the Red room was squeaky clean with pristine white linen on the bed beautiful thick white towels and bathrobes. We also had a TV Kettle and bottled water with a full choice of fruit tea breakfast teas and coffee. In the Bathroom were lovely Scottish Fine soap bubble bath shampoo soap etc. Julie had fresh scones with home made Jam and cream with a choice of tea and coffee for us in the lounge and the fire was on. So cosy and comfortable. In the lounge were loads of books about the area with lots of maps too. Julie again was so knowledgeable and helpful about the area. Breakfast was a feast fit for a King. Fresh scones oatcake and bread and a choice of cooked breakfast to rival the best hotels we have ever been on. This area with the Lochs and mountains there is so much to see and do. All locals also polite and helpful Best beaches to rival the Caribbean. Will defiantly be back here again Julie and Julian even take dogs

Room Tip: All room s good
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toronto012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A lovely cream tea on arrival, a comfortable bed to sleep in and a beautiful breakfast made for a very pleasant stay. Our room was next to the road but the traffic did not disturb us. The views out the back are stunning.

Room Tip: We found this B&B on the Secret Scotland website.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived to a cream tea in the garden and a lovely friendly welcome from Julie and Julian. The rooms were superb, food amazing and hosts very helpful. Although we only had the pleasure of staying for two nights we could not fault the hospitality we received.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

There are many reasons why we travel from Norway to stay at The Old Smiddy. There are freshly made scones when we arrive, fantastic food, and Julie and Julian always make us feel very much at home. The Garden room is lovely, and we are looking forward to another stay this coming summer.
Marit Nygreen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maritno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laide
0.0 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Inn
The Old Inn
#6 of 18 in Gairloch
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Smiddy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Smiddy Guest House

Address: Laide IV22 2NB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Laide
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laide
Price Range: £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Old Smiddy Guest House Laide, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing