We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dolce vita”
Review of Vista sull'Oliveto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calvi dell'Umbria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vista sull'Oliveto
Calvi dell'Umbria, Italy
1 review
“Dolce vita”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This lovely place is now called: 'Vista sull'Oliveto' and Ed and Heleen, both Dutch- are the new host and hostess. And a fine pair they are! They'll make sure that their guests have a wonderfull relaxing stay, with excellent breakfasts and service.
We had two weeks of paintingclasses here, the superb location with the stunning views made it a very inspiring experience!

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious, clean and with a little kitchenette, bathroom. The 'Vista sull'Olive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Els V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Door County, WI
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2009

It was a wonderful week-long Joy of Singing Workshop. The singing was intense and inspiring. The rest of the time we enjoyed the Italian countryside, its medieval villages, and, of course, the Casale. The food was superb as we gathered for each meal on the patio with its views, and the staff of artists joined us for unfailingly interesting conversation. The pool, the chickens, the figs, the cool, quiet rooms, and the Casale! What a week!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nskadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF bay area
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2009

This past summer, I led a vocal workshop in Italy. I had the great pleasure of staying at Casale Santa Brigida for a week. It exceeded my expectations. The staff was welcoming and helpful, the rooms lovely and clean and the setting was gorgeous. We ate delicious food served to us outside, in the summer air, overlooking olive orchards and vineyards, viewing the nightly panorama of the sun setting over medieval cities. The strongest praise is in the fact that everyone wanted to go back next summer. Go there!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Beautiful country setting, especially well- situated for bike or car touring. Organic gardeners take note: we were welcomed to help out in the organic, perma-culture garden (or just enjoy eating the produce!) We really enjoyed the very talented and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleCiclista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Great folks, laid-back atmosphere, beautiful view and pool - perfect for hot summer afternoons! Between the pool, the fig tree, and the chickens, you could easily keep yourself amused without even venturing off the property.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smallmccall, Manager at Vista sull'Oliveto, responded to this review, 14 August 2009
Thanks so much for this sweet review! The travel agent we recommend is a real showstopper - Mia over at Cartolina Tours. She really works to create exactly the trip you want and has encyclopedic knowledge of Italy: mmartin@cartolinatours.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I loved my stay at the Casale Santa Brigida. It's a straight shot by train from the FCO Rome airport, and Christopher was a wonderful host. So were the others who work and live there! The rooms are clean, fresh, with big windows overlooking luscious green rolling views. I especially loved the spontaneous concert given by one of the artists in residence. I met some guests from all over the world, who were involved in many interesting projects. The food is always incredible, as are the views, the strolls in the olive groves, the rural farm culture, and the friendly locals. So many historic places all nearby! Also a pleasant surprise was the wi-fi throughout the whole property. Would be good to have one's own car, though sometimes folks staying there wound up doing trips here and there. I would definitely go back, hopefully for an extended stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roomy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Located on the elbow of a country road on a ridge overlooking an Umbrian valley, Casale Santa Brigida's accomodations were excellent: the staff are genuinely interested in your comfort, the meals provided are fresh, ingredients purchased locally as well as provided from their garden, and delicious: the infinity pool, and the entire property, overlooks the property's olive tree grove and has a stunning view of the Umbrian valley. Wonderful place to have a music workshop, plenty of lovely places to study, play instruments, sing. Easy location to take day trips from and explore the Umbrian countryside, towns, cities, etc. The travel agent they recommended was incredibly helpful in all our pre-trip arrangements, (for a group of 10 coming from several different locations), strategizing, coordinating arrivals, departures, car rentals, directions, etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalviSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi dell'Umbria hotels
1.1 mi away
Agriturismo Tenuta San Savino delle Rocchette
Agriturismo Tenuta San Savino de...
#1 of 4 in Calvi dell'Umbria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bed and Breakfast la Collegiata
Bed and Breakfast la Collegiata
#3 of 4 in Calvi dell'Umbria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casale San Martino
Casale San Martino
#3 of 5 in Calvi dell'Umbria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Fontana B&B
La Fontana B&B
#2 of 4 in Calvi dell'Umbria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Vista sull'Oliveto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista sull'Oliveto

Property: Vista sull'Oliveto
Address: Vocabolo Acquavigna 3, 05032 Calvi dell'Umbria, Italy (Formerly Casale Santa Brigida: Art Monastery Guesthouse)
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Calvi dell'Umbria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Calvi dell'Umbria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a temporary part of our international arts community! The Art Monastery Project applies inspiring aspects of traditional monastic life (ecological sustainability, communal living, contemplative practice) to artmaking instead of religion. Whether or not you participate in group meditations, yoga on the pool deck, group meals, or tons of ongoing workshops, your stay at the Santa Brigida will be truly unique. €35/person/night for a double occupancy studio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Sull'Oliveto Umbria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing