We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous town and accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castell'Arquato
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Relais Du Chateau - Casa Illica
Reviewed 29 September 2011

What a lovely town, and great accommodation with Michelle in Casa Illica. Despite trying to fly into Milan during the Italian 8 hour strike, and taking all day to arrive, cancelling our reservation in Casa Illica, remaking it when we arrived,Michelle organising for someone to be there when and if we arrived, we had a wonderful visit and loved our accomodation there. Only wished that we could have stayed longer, but one never knows what will be there. Now we know, and will stay again for longer. it is a little pricey, but Castell'Arquato is so worth it!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms and all so different. All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2010

My wife and I married in Castell'Arquato in June (apologies it has taken so long to write this review). I and my family are English, my wife and family are Italian. We needed a hotel in or close to Castell'Arquato which could accommodate a big family event and we were delighted to be introduced to Michelle who owns Casa Illica.
Casa Illica is a beautifully positioned, refurbished and furnished historic house in the centre of Castell'Arquato. Do not be fooled by the entrance from one of the narrow streets in the town, the views from the living areas and virtually all bedrooms are simply stunning.
All rooms are impeccably furnished and with pieces of modern Italian art.
My mother, sisters, aunts, nieces nad nephews all stayed in Casa Illica and had a simply fantastic weekend. Michelle could not have done more to make their stay so special. Thank you!
On a final note, my wife and I have already booked to stay at Casa Illica for our first anniversary (and many more to come!).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Chicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

To celebrate a friend's 50th we took off for a long weekend in Italy. The plan was to eat well, have fun, watch some football and drink wine...not necessarily in that order, but you get the point.
After scouting various sites, including agriturismo, expedia e t c we fell for I Borghi più belli d'Italia (the most beautiful villages in Italy) that turned out to be just what we were looking for. As we were heading to Parma for the football game we settled for what looked to be a very charming place, Casa Illica, in the town of Castell 'Arquato.
What a gem this turned out to be. Luigi Illica, a great poet in his days, wrote liberettos for Puccini and others the most famous being Madame Butterfly, Tosca and La Bohème was the former owner of the place. The current hostess, Michelle, turned out to be a gem herself. The place was very nicely restored, with great views, everything was simply great!!! We had a floor all to ourselves and enjoyed every minute in the house.
If you, like me, prefer the hidden gems off the beaten track that gives you that little extra - than this is it. The place, the town, the restaurants, the wine tasting and many other things made it a perfect weekend, not the least because of Casa Illica.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johankoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I was so looking forward to our stay in the hotel, sharing with all of our friends, despite the pricey nature of the house i thought it was going to be worth it... surely you wouldn't charge €2500 for 3 nights stay unless it was going to be amazing??? Well, my first impressions were very good although we'd travelled with a number of children and this house is NOT child friendly. The rooms were OK, but there are a number of things that let this trip down.. first the box room where someone is expected to sleep on a very uncomfortable sofa bed, then the lack of clean towels - we had to share 4 towels between 6 of us - not good - but theres no one to tell, apart from at breakfast time when you have to endure an uncomfortable croissant with the owner watching you and making you feel very much like a guest in her house - rather than a paying customer who is perfectly responsible to eat some food! I have to say my expectations arriving were really very optimistic and i have to say when i left i just felt ripped off and really wished i'd stayed in the hotel in the village instead. Sorry i can't be more positive, but that was my experience! plus the swimming clothes we'd packed for the hot tub which had been sold to us stayed dry - as the hot tub didn't work!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank busymum96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I stayed at Casa Illica last year with some friends & we had a fantastic weekend. The house has amazing views of the medieval town and is within an easy walk of fantastic little local restaurants with amazing food. Was great to hire the whole place to spend a weekend with friends.

The owners have taken great care & effort whilst restoring the house and it has retained its tradtional feel & the attention to detail makes it an extremely special place to stay.

It feels more like you are staying at a small boutique hotel as the rooms & bathrooms are fantastic and it is a fantastic place to get away from it all for a break.

I would definitely stay here again as it is a beautiful property, within close distance of the airport which makes it an easy place to get away for a well deserved break!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJinNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

What a wonderful surprise once we stepped inside the doorway of Casa Illica! The beautiful furnishings and artwork only competed with the amazing picturesque views from all of the windows thruout the house. The accomodations are extremely spacious and comfortable with luxurious bedlinens and toiletries. We were treated very warmly by the owner and her staff. Everyone went above and beyond and could not be more welcoming and accomodating.
Breakfast each morning was served in the bright sunroom overlooking the wonderful views of the countryside and all of our dietary needs were met. The owner looked after us with great care and arranged many day trips for us in the extremely interesting surrounding areas. We toured castles, vineyards, had spa treatments in the historical Terme Spa in a neighboring town, and had many wonderful dinners in the local restaurants. It is a great experience for those who are seeking travel outside the big cities. It's a wonderful place to spend a relaxing week amidst the ambiance of the charming Italian medievil town of Castel' Arquato..
We look forward to our return to Casa Illica in the near future!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samno16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Wonderful art house completely renovated and furnished with great attention. Objects of elegant design, attention to detail and friendliness are the main features. The B & B is situated at the heart of the medieval village of Castell'Arquato, where time seems to stand still. Very quiet, ideal for 2 days of total relaxation, but no more.
Recommended for couples who want to spend a weekend medieval

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castell'Arquato
0.1 mi away
Leon d'Oro Castell'Arquato
Leon d'Oro Castell'Arquato
#2 of 2 in Castell'Arquato
214 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel "La Maison de Vi"
Hotel "La Maison de Vi"
#1 of 1 in Carpaneto Piacentino
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Del Ducato
B&B Del Ducato
#3 of 6 in Castell'Arquato
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Mulino Marsa
Bed and Breakfast Mulino Marsa
#1 of 6 in Castell'Arquato
31 reviews
2.4 mi away
Locanda Sidoli
Locanda Sidoli
#5 of 6 in Castell'Arquato
48 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Cinghialina
La Cinghialina
#2 of 6 in Castell'Arquato
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Du Chateau - Casa Illica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Du Chateau - Casa Illica

Address: Via Sforza Caolzio 47, 29014 Castell'Arquato, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Piacenza > Castell'Arquato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Castell'Arquato
Price Range: £88 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Illica is a historic villa bound by the Superintend of Cultural Heritage, and has retained the name of it's original owner - poet, libretist and composer to Giacomo Puccini and Pietro Mascagni - Luigi Illica is the pride of Castell'Arquato.The house was fully renovated in 2008, and is now a maison de charme (partner of Historic Houses - Historical Fashion Hotels), offering 3 bedrooms and 2 suites with breathtaking views of the Emillian landscape. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Relais Du Chateau - Casa Illica Italy/Province Of Piacenza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing