We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heliotel stay”
Review of Heliotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ile du Levant
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heliotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ile du Levant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our first visit to Ile du Levant which turned out to be a real joy. the hotel turned out to be a highlight of the stay with a lovely pool, and a sunny terrace with a spectacular westward view over the Med. We ended up eating dinner 3 of the 4 nights at the hotel, having found it to be one of the best restaurants on the island and with a lovely view. Paul provides a level of personalized service that few 5 star hotels could match. A lovely and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Perfect chilled out weeks stay at this wonderful little hotel on this very unique island. Paul and Vincent are wonderful caring and attentive hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Great pool and wonderful sunsets on the terrace overlooking the blue sea. Great quality food and wines - table d'hotel, dinner and lunch, wonderful breakfast with homemade cakes, pastries, excellent local homemade jams and Vincent's yogurts. Comfortable, air conditioned rooms in wonderful rustic and colourful grounds. Room perfectly cleaned every day with clean towels every day, The hotel offers a suberb environment for naturism in a select and safe setting - whether first time experience or not - we met both types of couples who were totally comfortable. Obviously there are obligatory areas for naturism and not (at dinner). Totally recommended 100%.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground are adjacent to the pool terrace. 1st Floor rooms have a separate terrace overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian1096726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have actually stayed here twice - once about ten years ago, then more recently this last summer, since the new management took over and renovated the place. Fabulous!

The biggest improvement was the addition of air-conditioning; not because we so much mind the heat (though it can be very still on at night in July or August) but to control the mosquitoes, which can be quite tenacious once the sun goes down. Problem solved.

The rooms are nicely appointed, and the pool area is a small slice of heaven. They are located only a short walk off the central square (where minimal clothing is required), but you can turn the other direction our the front door and make you way down through the village to the sea without ever bothering to cover up!

The new owners, indeed, speak excellent English and run the restaurant on the adjoining terrace as well. It's a beautiful place on a unique little island. Well worth the trouble to get there, and in our opinion, this is the best place to stay while you're there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Superb location, fabulous views, comfortable and well equipped room, charming hosts and great food. Hope to be back next year. The island is gorgeous, we enjoyed some lovely walks. Peaceful and relaxing...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in September on the Ile du Levant. Paul and Vincent were perfect hosts - and fortunately spoke English since my French is so poor!

The room was attractive, with a recent paint job and attractive art. Even better, it really did overlook the sea! We preferred the delightful pool (to the minute beach) and enjoyed many glasses of Pastis in the sun!

Dinner was quite good and really does have a lovely view of the sunset dipping into the ocean. Would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oliver_selwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A week at the hotel at the end of August gave us a great first experience of this unique island as the season came to an end. A very comfortable room (with necessary air conditioning) gave access to a shared balcony with views over the bay and direct access to the swimming pool and sun loungers. The relaxed atmosphere of Ile du Levant continued in the hotel with great hospitality from Paul and Vincent. The island (as elsewhere in France) is not great for vegetarians but there was always something on the menu to choose. The fantastic sunsets from the restaurant terrace provided a visual highlight at the end of perfect days. Fair skinned visitors need to go prepared to protect themselves from insect bites so they can enjoy the freedom to be nude on most of the island. The only reliable transfers from Toulon-Hyeres airport seem to be taxis (45 Euros) We are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillWr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel on the fascinating island Ile du Levant. We enjoyed our stay very much, and it was really pleasant to stay by the pool where nudity is the rule. The pool was very clean and big enough for swimming.
The hotel is situated close to the village square, but not so close that you are obliged to wear clothes. In the restaurant and on the terrace facing the sea you have to cover up, but you can also eat without clothes at the poolside. Our room was very pleasant and had a very good air conditioning. It also had a tv, something that we would rather have exchanged for a wifi connection. On the hotel website it claims to have free wifi, but this is limited to the public areas (and possibly some of the rooms, but not ours). We would have liked to be able to use the wifi in the evening in our room, but that was not possible.
We had dinner at the hotel terrace one evening, and enjoyed it, especially the fantastic view of the sunset over the sea. Breakfast was not as good though, and not worth the ten euros that it cost. I understand that French breakfasts are not like the ones in northern Europe, but this one was a bit uninspired. It is better to take a walk to the restaurant La Fourmis where you can have a better breakfast with homemade yoghurt and jams instead of the industry made ones you get at Heliotel.
Another small complaint is that even though the information folder contains a whole page about ecology all towels are exchanged every day.
But all of these remarks are small and meant as suggestions for improvement. We would not hesitate to stay at Heliotel once more and recommend it. It seems to be a more quiet and relaxing place than the Brise Marine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kartul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ile du Levant
0.1 mi away
La Brise Marine
La Brise Marine
#2 of 3 in Ile du Levant
73 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Manoir
Le Manoir
#1 of 1 in Port-Cros
105 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel & Residence Les Medes
Hotel & Residence Les Medes
#1 of 6 in Porquerolles Island
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Villa Sainte-Anne
Villa Sainte-Anne
#2 of 6 in Porquerolles Island
301 reviews
12.0 mi away
L'Oustaou de la Mar
L'Oustaou de la Mar
#4 of 6 in Porquerolles Island
130 reviews
9.6 mi away
Le Bailli de Suffren
Le Bailli de Suffren
#2 of 5 in Rayol-Canadel-sur-Mer
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliotel

Address: Montee du Val des Moines | Ile du Levant, 83400, Ile du Levant, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Iles d'Hyeres > Ile du Levant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ile du Levant
Price Range: £75 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturist Hotel RestaurantAt the very heart of paradise on earth, in the naturist resort of Heliopolis, Heliotel, completely renovated in 2012, welcomes you for a dream holiday in a breathtaking setting away from the hustle and worries of everyday life. All rooms have sea view and open onto a terrace with a magnificent view from Port Cros to Le Lavandou through Porquerolles, Giens and Brégançon. At Heliotel you will truly enjoy living in harmony with untouched nature while enjoying the comfort of its rooms, its contemporary bathrooms with walk-in shower, its chairs around the large swimming pool. At the restaurant, you will enjoy a traditional and tasty cuisine while admiring the new terrace overlooking the sea, sumptuous sunsets over the bay of Le Lavandou. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heliotel Hotel Heliopolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing