We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hickling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bourne, Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We were given a voucher last Christmas for a relaxing stay in the country and narrowed down our selection to here. As there were two couples staying I emailed to find out available dates and the friendliness started from there. I was very impressed that they were happy to hold the rooms for us for a couple of days while we all checked we could get the time off work.

We had an extremely friendly greeting on arrival and were shown our rooms which were right next to each other. We overlooked the courtyard and stables (much to mine and my sister-in-laws delight). Rooms were a great size and the beds very comfy. We made use of the lounge area after our days out to chill and have a glass of wine, in fact my husband felt so at home he even had a bit of a snooze in the sofa!

Breakfast was amazing. We sampled both the full English one morning and waffles the following day, both were delicious and set us up for exploring. We were also provided with plenty of suggestions on places to go whilst we were there.

Highly recommend this place and as we left in the Sunday the first thing I said to hubby was 'when are we going back?'

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
75
324
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Upon arrival Gill greeted us with the offer of fresh tea and cake. She showed us too our room, Swallows nest and offered some advice on where to go that evening for dinner.

The room itself was warm and huge with a mezzanine level with the huge bed and skylights with electronic blinds. The living room space was also huge with a settee, TV, small table and chairs and a mini fridge. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate was provided. There is a cupboard with some plates and cutlery for if you bring back takeaway. The bathroom contained a massive sunken bath and big shower with a wonderful rainfall shower head. There as also a small private garden area which would be perfect in the summer.

Breakfast is served in the large barn which doubles as a venue hall and consisted of fruits, cereals, toast and a cooked to order English breakfast. The cooked breakfast was delicious, the sausages and bacon particularly yummy. Gill comes round and offers advice on places to go, she is very knowledgeable of the local area. The barns also have a cosy communal lounge area for relaxing and a garden area with games.

A big thank you to all at Dairy barns, we had a lovely relaxing time and will be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the 3 'extra special' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discoveringtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Staff really helpful especially Hannah's Mum. Recommended pub for excellent steak which we thoroughly enjoyed. Shower cubicle could have been bigger,
But overall a nice stay with good choices for breakfast

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We just spent one night here on a long distance bike ride. Arrived to find message directing us to our huge room where pieces of home made cake awaited. What a welcome ! Lots of attention to detail has obviously gone into the B and B. There are framed articles on the walls about the owner. We cyclced into Hickling where we walked around the local nature reserve.
Large breakfast room in former barn where we had a very pleasant breakfast before we hit the road again . Ladies were very personable at brekfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent two nights here from Friday through to Sunday, and really enjoyed it. We stayed in Dahlia, which is a huge room with lovely decor and felt really homely. It was also near enough to see the horses stables, which made my day! The horses are very friendly and Hannah appeared fine with guests going over to say hello. We even treated them to an apple each, which was another highlight to our weekend. The B&B itself is situated a little out of the way, but really everything you need is a short drive away. Having a relaxing drink at the hotel is also not a problem, there is a lovely lounge area to sit in and enjoy a drink and lots of space in the garden areas. Wine glasses for guests to use are available in the lounge area. We popped to a Tesco down the road and bought some wine and fizzy for our room. You can also borrow a fridge for your room, but we didn't bother as we were there such a short time. The breakfast area is also very pretty, and the breakfast is very good! They offer cooked breakfasts, such as full English or sweet and savory waffles, all made with local fresh produce. You can also help yourself to toast, fruit, yogurts and cereal. There is also plenty of fruit juice and the staff are more than happy to offer you tea and coffee by the bucketful! Breakfast is served between about 0730 and 0900, but if you need to eat earlier or later, they offer a breakfast hamper which can be left outside your room at your chosen time, which is a brilliant idea. The tea and coffee making facilities in the room is very good, and were topped up for us, even though we only stayed two nights. Our room was cleaned and bed made as well. We loved the look and feel of this place so much, we are thinking of getting married here in a couple of years time. Hannah, her family and staff make you feel very welcome and looked after. Upon arrival at 4pm we were welcomed by Hannah and given a lovely well needed cup of tea and warm scones with jam! Norfolk is truly a lovely place, we recommend going to see the seals at Horsey beach if you get time. If you go in November-December you will see the pups! Hickling is really not too far from any of the main places of interest in Norfolk, such as Great Yarmouth and Norwich. Unfortunately, much of Norfolk, including Hickling, has terrible mobile reception. Though Hannah has installed mobile signal boosters in the hotel, which is very useful. We visited Thrigby Wildlife Park, which was lovely and my partner fell in love with a cockatoo named Monty, whom we intend to sponsor. There is plenty of lovely places to go out and eat for the evening, we enjoyed some posh nosh at The Waybridge Inn, which is not far from Dairy Barns. Overall, Dairy Barns is a lovely place to stay and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We intend to go back, hopefully next year to see more of Norfolk. They offer so much more than your average B&B does at Dairy Barns, excellent value for money and some lovely me memories to take home!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is truly the friendliest and welcoming bed and breakfasts we have been to. Every facility has the customers needs and comfort in mind. The rooms are spacious, the atmosphere is relaxed and the breakfasts are gorgeous! Being a working farm, it has early breakfast times of 7.45 to 9 am but we found as we are in our 60's this wasn't an issue. The lounge area is delightful, decorated in a coastal theme it is relaxing and yet fresh, with a couple of sofas and easy chairs plenty to browse with leaflets and magazines, and wine glasses with corkscrew are provided for your own wine. If you wish to have a takeaway plates and crockery are provided in the breakfast room where you are welcome to eat.

Room Tip: All rooms are at ground level so no mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Dairy Barns, The host, Hannah ,was very welcoming and our room and en- suite were decorated and fitted out to a very high standard. The breakfasts were individually cooked to a very high standard with locally sourced ingredients, very much better than the usual buffet style breakfasts which most hotels have adopted these days. It was an excellent place to stay for anyone visiting the Norfolk Broads and the North Sea Norfolk Coast and we will certainly stay there again and would recommend it to any friends and family. Thank you to Hannah and her team for making our stay such a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hickling
9.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
890 reviews
9.1 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
863 reviews
21.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
13.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
501 reviews
9.4 mi away
Chimneys B & B
Chimneys B & B
#1 of 12 in North Walsham
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lound Farm, Hickling Lane | Hicking, Hickling NR12 0BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hickling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hickling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dairy Barns was awarded best bed and breakfast in the East of England and is based on a working farm. We are only five minutes from both the beauty of the Norfolk Broads and Sandy Beaches of the coast. Accommodation is in a self-contained barn conversion. Each room is on ground floor level and offers excellent en-suite facilities and extremely comfortable super king or twin beds. Our suites are something extra special each very spacious with fabulous bedrooms and bathrooms,lounge area and private garden. Off-road undercover parking available. 3 cosy country cottages are also available on the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Barns Hotel Hickling
Dairy Barns Bed And Breakfast
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast Hickling, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing