We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hickling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited Norfolk recently for a couple of nights away with my boyfriend, we upgraded our room to an "Extra special room", we were allocated the Cowshed. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly lady, who showed us through the breakfast barn and courtyard, to our room, which was ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS! Lovely clean bathroom, nice comfy bed and very homely upstairs, with a sofa and television. We were told as we were in a special room we could have the option of breakfast in bed, and we simply had to post our order through a little letterbox each night.

We chose this option and at half past eight the next morning there was a knock at the door, in came Hannah with our freshly prepared full English breakfast, with toast, jams, fresh fruits, yogurts and juice, tea and coffee. Piping hot!

We asked about places to eat and definitely recommend the Starr Inn at Lessingham. LOVELY!
Had a lovely time and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay for an extra special room, either the cowshed or swallows nest, totally worth the extra money fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDeane, Owner at Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words I am thrilled that you enjoyed your up-grade to the Cowshed and have given us such a complementary review We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Best Wishes

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Had a good stay here, excellent service, but it was let down by multiple gripes.

The room was very nice but the finishing was poor - exposed plaster, ill fitting squeaky doors etc - also the view out the back is, well, not a view - there is a thundering great ugly barn there.

The mattress also had a dip in it as if made by a rhino.

As for the breakfasts - the waffles were first class, but the full English - come on ladies, you didn't win those awards by using tinned mushrooms! Nasty.

Wouldn't go back unfortunately, not at £130/night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogeared2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDeane, Owner at Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am pleased you received such good customer service and of course disappointed that you felt certain things were not to the standard they should of been.

With regard to your comments on the room, I assume from the price information you gave that you were in the Cowshed or Barn Owls extra special room. We regularly check all our rooms to make sure that nothing is damaged or passed its best so I will go through both rooms in detail to ensure they are up to standard for future guests.

You mention that fact that you did not like the view. We do make it clear that the Dairy Barns is based on a working farm and that therefore means that some rooms have a view of the farmyard, and I realised the barn isn't the most attractive building, I keep trying to think of ways of making it more pleasing to the eye.

I am a little confused with your comments on the full English breakfast and must make it clear that we never use tinned mushrooms, we always use fresh mushrooms. They are sliced/chopped, seasoned and placed in foil with a little butter and baked in the oven for 20 minutes. I'm sorry that they were not to your taste.

I hope this response covers all the points that you raised to your satisfaction and if you ever decided to give us another chance we would of course welcome you to return

Best Wishes

Hannah Deane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After much searching to find a place to stay using our 'unusual stays' voucher, we happened upon the Dairy Barns in Norfolk - and we were glad we did, as it was a lovely, relaxing stay. Combining a visit to see friends in Norwich with a 2-night break at this old converted dairy, we enjoyed a warm welcome from Jill (the owners' mum) and home made scones on arrival, plus plenty of good places to eat recommendations. You are right on Hickling Broad and minutes from big empty beaches - so the location is perfect.

The standard room and ensuite bathroom were huge and comfortable. While the breakfasts were fanastic and arrived exactly at the time we requested (the kitchen must be run with military precision!) Make sure you try the waffles with fruit - yum. The breakfast area is tastefully decorated and filled with flower arrangements (think they do flower arranging weekends). Would have loved to get married there, shame we've already made all of our plans :) One thing, it would be great to have a curved mirror on the road outside, so you can see traffic approaching from the right, as it is a blind turn out of the car park. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we will recommend you to others.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDeane, Owner at Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, I'm so pleased that you had such a great time. I will have a think about how we could possibly make pulling out on the lane a little easier.

Best Wishes

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were given a experience voucher and decided to use it for a short 2 night stay in the Dairy Barns in early May 2014. Upon arrival we rang the big bell and was promptly met by the owners Mum. She was incredibly friendly and showed us to our room etc and also provided us with a pot of tea and yummy scones. We felt at home straight away.
The room was large, clean and had all the facilities we needed. Could have easily spent longer in such a room. Connected to the WiFi without trouble.
You write down what you would like for breakfast the night before. This actually worked out really well as you arrived at breakfast (with a friendly greeting!) and it was pretty much ready for you straight away. Plenty of breakfast options and the room/barn you eat your breakfast in is beautiful.
Jill offered lots of tips on places to eat and places to visit - we especially like the Greyhound pub which is a short drive away.
We would certainly recommend and would go back again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDeane, Owner at Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments on to mum or should I just call her our "walking, talking tourist information office" !

Best Wishes

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent 2 nights at Dairy Barns in late April 2014. We received a very warm welcome and shown to our room which was very spacious and comfortable. Two large slices of Victoria sponge were wating for us in our room with an ample complimentary tray of assorted teas, coffee an hot chocolate and a flask of milk. There were also complimentary chocolates on the pillows. Breakfast sets you up for the day and at Dairy Barns this is no exception. We did the "4 in bed" check and apart from the high beams, it wa spotless. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a 2 night stay here from a voucher for an Xmas present .we were greeted by Hannah's mum( Hannah was away ) she showed us to our lovely room and the we had tea and cake in the lounge very nice gesture. Breakfast next morning in the barn was delicious . Location was great for broads and coast would definitely go back .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherylclark25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed in Willow cottage for my cousin's wedding at Dairy Barns and had a lovely time. The cottage was comfortable and spotlessly clean with a well equipped kitchen and very fast WiFi! The wedding went without a hitch and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, fun and friendly. All in all couldn't recommend this place enough. Fiona

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hickling
4.4 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
527 reviews
9.1 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
971 reviews
15.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lawson Cottage B & B
Lawson Cottage B & B
#2 of 2 in Hickling
24 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Barns at Thorpe Market
The Barns at Thorpe Market
#2 of 4 in Thorpe Market
162 reviews
12.5 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lound Farm, Hickling Lane | Hicking, Hickling NR12 0BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hickling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hickling
Price Range: £83 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dairy Barns was awarded best bed and breakfast in the East of England and is based on a working farm. We are only five minutes from both the beauty of the Norfolk Broads and Sandy Beaches of the coast. Accommodation is in a self-contained barn conversion. Each room is on ground floor level and offers excellent en-suite facilities and extremely comfortable super king or twin beds. Our suites are something extra special each very spacious with fabulous bedrooms and bathrooms,lounge area and private garden. Off-road undercover parking available. 3 cosy country cottages are also available on the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Barns Hotel Hickling
Dairy Barns Bed And Breakfast
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast Hickling, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing