We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality- highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hickling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality- highly recommend”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for three nights for a friends wedding that was being held nearby. The suite was superb, and well appointed, the management were super friendly and helpful. A thoroughly brilliant place to stay- could find no faults whatsoever. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank aussie_aimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDeane, Owner at Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It is great you enjoyed your stay with us when attending a local wedding, hopefully you can return in the future and have time to explore the area and the beaches as I'm sure you didn't get a chance on this occasion

Best wishes

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
318
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

From the setting to the comfort and quality of furnishings to the welcome to the FOOD to the genuine welcome and generosity of the hosts this is the most brilliant stay you will find anywhere ever. It is interesting too, not a sterile could be anywhere type stay. It felt to us like a true taste genuine Norfolk. Jill is arguably the best cook in the world. Hannah and helpers are the most relaxed, kindly hosts you will meet. Nothing to criticise (and I can be critical on occasions!) Well priced too. We will be back as soon as we possibly can.

Room Tip: All are lovely. Cottages good too - you feel as though it is your very ownplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDeane, Owner at Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I will pass on the cooking complements to mum! It would be lovely to see you all again in the future

Best wishes

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We really did not expect Dairy Barns to be the Norfolk equivalent of the Ritz. But once you find it - don't confuse with a similarly named farm a mile or so away - it is splendid. Our room was a split level suite with huge bed and two televisions (but no DVD player) plus an outdoor area. The breakfast was very good - besides the "English" breakfast, you could feast on sweet or savoury waffles. There was local apple juice although the bread was basic.
The local pub, the Greyhound, did great evening meals - there are chip shops and other takeaways nearby.
We took our bikes - the local lanes are ideal (even when the wind is blowing as it does on this part of the coast). And it is convenient for a day out in Norwich.
On top of all this, Hannah and her staff (and family) are wonderfully laid back so it is truly relaxing.
Yes, one to recommend definitely!!!
Definitely

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondontonyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDeane, Owner at Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Lots of our guests either bring bikes with them or hire them locally and really enjoy the experience. All rooms should have DVD players either built into the TV's or separate so I will take a look and make sure there is one in the room.

Thank you for considering us the "Ritz" of Norfolk it made everyone's day!

I hope you will return sometime

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just returned from our 2nd visit this year, This is the best BB we have ever stayed at, The Breakfast were great as always, Hannah her Mum and the rest of the Staff provided excellent service throughout our stay.
Dairy Barns are ideally situated to visit the lovely beaches of Norfolk, with so many places to visit wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDeane, Owner at Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
I always hope when people return for another visit that they enjoy it as much as the first and are not disappointed! I'm pleased your stay lived up to expectations, and hope to see you both again soon

Best Wishes

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We are staying at dairy barns at the moment and felt compelled to write a review whilst here because this a hidden gem in norfolk, lovely from the moment we arrived, nothing is too much trouble, beautifully presented and clean rooms, cracking breakfast. I have stayed at five star hotels and not enjoyed it as much. Well done Hannah and her team, I am booking again for my 25th wedding anniversary in a few weeks for definite.

Thank you xx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauramaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDeane, Owner at Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you ladies for your kind words, and the chocolates they were really appreciated! See you soon for your next stay

Best Wishes

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from two nights at Dairy Barns. It's hard to add anything that the other reviews have not covered. To summarise, best service, best staff, best accommodation and definitely the best breakfast we have had at a bed and breakfast. All the others could learn a lot from this establishment, well done Hannah and team. Will be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnboynotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDeane, Owner at Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review, I am incredibly lucky to have such a great team at the barns helping me with everything which does make it easier to ensure everyone enjoys their stay with us! I hope you will stay with us again in the future

Best Wishes

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Brilliant quirky place with very friendly staff,beautiful setting and cute pony!! We stayed in the barn own suite and it was stunning, everything was done to a high standard! Very lovely cant recommend enough!

Room Tip: Barn own suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandLuelue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDeane, Owner at Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Its great that you enjoyed your time with us, I think the horses and ponies enjoy the attention from the guests as much as our guests enjoy seeing them! We hope to welcome you back here again in the future

Best Wishes

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hickling
9.1 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
826 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
15.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,104 reviews
13.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
12.5 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#2 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lound Farm, Hickling Lane | Hicking, Hickling NR12 0BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hickling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hickling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dairy Barns was awarded best bed and breakfast in the East of England and is based on a working farm. We are only five minutes from both the beauty of the Norfolk Broads and Sandy Beaches of the coast. Accommodation is in a self-contained barn conversion. Each room is on ground floor level and offers excellent en-suite facilities and extremely comfortable super king or twin beds. Our suites are something extra special each very spacious with fabulous bedrooms and bathrooms,lounge area and private garden. Off-road undercover parking available. 3 cosy country cottages are also available on the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Barns Hotel Hickling
Dairy Barns Bed And Breakfast
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast Hickling, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing