We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL,WONDERFUL,WONDERFUL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorlands Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Levisham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorlands Country House
Ranked #2 of 3 Levisham B&B and Inns
BLACKPOOL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL,WONDERFUL,WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

This hotel shines above others, Ron on his delightful cooking and Gill on the decor and cleanliness of the rooms, Gill's humour will stay with us until our next visit in September.
This was our first visit but will certainly not be our last, the surrounding area and the views are outstanding we could not have wished for a better holiday.

Room Tip: Room 2 looks over the back garden and pond, with plenty of wild life
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shorty259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had an outstanding few days in the North Yorkshire Moors at the Moorlands Country House Hotel, Levisham.

The weather was at its very best in October and views wonderfully clear.

There is always a warm welcome from Gill and Ron.

The Hotel accommodation and attention to detail is excellent.

Ron's food is very appealing.

The Moorlands deserves its Tourism Awards.

We are booked in and looking forward to our 2012 visits.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Levisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Would thoroughly recommend the Moorlands Country House. It is welcoming, cosy, comfortable, the best you could ask for. Gill and Ron are a great couple and you are really pampered when you stay. They make you feel like old friends. 10 out of 10 and the location is beautiful. Would most definitely stay again.

Oliver Kunze

Room Tip: I travelled with a friend and we had two out of four rooms and both rooms we had were excellent. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We have just returned from the Moorlands and as the title says its a FANTASTIC place the food the rooms the hotel position everything is just GREAT you will be well looked after by Ron and Jill (THANKS TO BOTH OF YOU) .We will be back

Graham & Shirley Daniel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gollydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Once again we spent a wonderful three days again, at this beautiful hotel.
Gill & Ron make everyone so welcolme, excellent food and accommodation as always.
Wonderful countryside, which makes it the perfect place to stay.
Gill & Ron cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: All rooms are spotlessly clean, so don't worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2208Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is probably the only place I've seen on Tripadvisor with 100% excellent and it so deserves it! We've just spent the most wonderful 4 nights in Moorlands and enjoyed every second of it. The rooms, the house, the location, the food - everything is faultless. We will definitely be returning next year for a well earned rest. Thank you Gill and Ron

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at Moorlands based on our daughter's recommendation, we was not disappointed, from the moment we wound our way up the hill into Lavesham & entered the sole street our breathe was taken from us. You will be amazed at the small & very friendly community, at how time has in some respects stood still, one look at the local rail station will convince you that this is one very special place.

Moorlands has been decorated extremely tastefully & our room was generous in size overlooking the beautiful garden & the far reaching views, Ron & Gill are the perfect hosts, absolutely delightful, friendly & that unusual quality in this day & age of being prepared to go out of their way to do what was needed to make our stay perfect, from the moment you arrive & are greeted with a friendly smile, the pot of tea & homemade cake you know that this stay is going to be one of pleasure.

The food prepared & cooked by our hosts was wonderful not only the taste but also the perfect presentation, in short we could not fault this establishment, we will be returning next year to continue exploring North Yorkshire & we will absolutely be booking with Moorlands again.

If you are planning a visit then you need look no further than Ron & Gill for your perfect starting point to your stay, our thanks to them for our best break in years.

Roger & chris Austin

Room Tip: It makes no difference, all the rooms are good, there is no noise other than people going to work
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levisham
6.4 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
13.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
4.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
4.6 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorlands Country House

Property: Moorlands Country House
Address: Moorlands Main Street, Levisham YO18 7NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Levisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Levisham
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorlands Country House is an elegant Victorian award-winning guest accommodation residence with 4 acres of garden. Set within the North York Moors National Park in the beautiful village of Levisham with stunning views across Levisham Valley. All rooms elegantly decorated with king size or larger beds. All breakfasts and dinners cooked to order using the finest and freshest locally sourced produce. Fully licensed. Ideal location for discovering North Yorkshire and what it has to offer. The Moorlands Country House has won many awards in the past 10 years including guest accommodation of the year 4 times, Excellence in England silver award twice. We offer a warm welcome and relaxing time to all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorlands Country House Hotel Levisham
Moorlands Country House Levisham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing