We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Worth Every Penny!'”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Levisham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorlands Country House
Ranked #3 of 3 Levisham B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Worth Every Penny!'”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Worth every penny!

Ron & Gill are fantastic - nothing is too much trouble for them.
The food is delicious. We always look forward to the splendid evening meal.
On arrival we are very warmly welcomed.
Lovely, well appointed room with a very comfortable bed.

A lovely quiet village setting. A real gem in the country!

Room Tip: All rooms are are of a high quality with good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_g_hodgkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Both my wife and I had the pleasure of once again visiting the Moorlands Country House. We have been a number of times and never fail to be disappointed. The hosts Ron and Gill are so helpful and kind and make you feel so welcome. It is in a great location for those who enjoy the outdoors or who just want a peaceful stay. It has our fullest recommendation and you will not be disappointed on arrival. It is like a second home to us and we have already booked for next year.
The food is of very high quality and in all the years we have been there we have not had one poor meal, just incredible really in this day and age. It is just a delight to visit and always will be for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of high quality with good views across open countryside. The rooms are extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

What a truly fantastic place! We were so stunned by the view from the garden we ended up admiring it before we even knocked on the door. Gill is just THE friendliest lady and welcomed us with tea and cake (yey!), and bundled more goodies and food on us during our stay. The place is second to none. Ron's breakfast made with local produce was top notch and our room was super lovely. Very nicely decorated with lots of thoughtful touches, Very comfortable night sleep. So peaceful and quiet! Gill was very helpful with suggesting walks and day trips and was such a pleasure to chat to. My friend and I had a great time. Yes, it's a pricer B&B in the area, but trust me, you won't regret it - well worth it. We wish Gill and Ron well (enjoy the elephants!) and hope to see them again :) Levisham is also a stunning village and the walk to the Hole of Horcum is superb. Million stars! Can understand why this place high such a pristine TripAdvisor score.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I spent a week last July at this splendid B&B. Gill & Ron are the best hosts you can dream of. They are kind, friendly and pay attention to the smallest details to make your stay as relaxing and memorable as possible. The views from my bedroom windows were spectacular. The room was elegant, tastefully decorated, cozy and comfortable. The house sits on such a splendid spot. You walk out the door, up the main street of this quaint village and after a short distance you are standing in awe at the steps of the Moors. This B&B is a perfect base to explore this romantic region. Last but not least, the food is just a dream. You never have the same menu, the choice is tremendous and you can tell that the food is prepared with love and a lot of savoir-faire. I could tell that they only use organic and fresh produce from the local markets. Now Gill deserts are to die for. I do have a sweet tooth and I certainly was not disappointed. I highly recommend this gem of a B&B and I hope that I will be able to revisit the Moorlands. All their awards are well deserved. Chris H. from Englewood, Florida

Room Tip: The room with a view to the gardens are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Nobody does it better than Gill and Ron - they really do think of everything to make sure that your stay is as peaceful, relaxing, comfortable and memorable as possible. We'll certainly be heading back to Moorlands. After a long and tiring journey we were greeted by Gill with homemade cake and tea in the lounge and were shown to our wonderful room. The guest house is beautifully decorated. Gill is an interior designer and you can tell that she has lovingly chosen the furnishings and artefacts that fill the house and has thought of absolutely everything imaginable to make sure your stay is a comfortable one.

We loved the fact that the menu changed each day and was dependent on the availability of meat and fish provided by local suppliers. Ron is a fantastic chef and the food was beautifully presented. Homemade chutneys were a must and you could even order locally cured meat to take home. The views and local walks were fantastic. I can't think of a better location to stay for a relaxing break. We can't wait to go back for a longer break next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuesdayClubGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albourne, West Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at Moorlands recently after booking at quite short notice (due to a cancellation) and soon realised how lucky we were. This is a luxurious little place with spectacular views set in beautiful grounds. Gill and Ron could not be more friendly or helpful, and Ron's cooking is very accomplished. We agree with the comments about the soft beds and the fantastic breakfasts!
I knew this area a little from trips across the North York moors to the Yorkshire coast from Sheffield as a child, and it is a delight to rediscover it now as a visitor from the South coast. There is so much to see, so much variety, and staying at Moorlands in the quiet village of Levisham is a perfect base.

Room Tip: All excellent. The 2 we used were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

In truth probably a '4.5' - because a top-of-the-line B&B will never have the facilities of a large hotel, but Moorlands comes close. Comfortable rooms with good beds and nice bathrooms (lots of hot water) plus really excellent evening meals with a medium-short but interesting wine list. Good breakfasts with lots of fruit, home made yoghurt and fresh eggs from the chickens at the back of the garden, local bacon and sausages etc. The house also boasts a small but well stocked bar - or a short stroll away there is a pleasant pub. Finally there is a nice area to sit out and have coffee or a drink and admire the view. The informal but very friendly welcome is pitched 'just right' as well - making you feel at home rather than 'uncomfortable' in the way some hotel Management can..

Levisham is accessible via a short one-track road first down and then up a steep hill - but this serves to keep passing traffic to a minimum. All in all a haven of peace with good food and soft beds!

Room Tip: Two of the rooms face out onto the view down the valley - and probably represent the best value and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Part-Time-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levisham
4.5 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
279 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
307 reviews
1.7 mi away
High Dalby House
High Dalby House
#3 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Sinnington
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorlands Country House

Property: Moorlands Country House
Address: Moorlands Main Street, Levisham YO18 7NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Levisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Levisham
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorlands Country House is an elegant Victorian award-winning guest accommodation residence with 4 acres of garden. Set within the North York Moors National Park in the beautiful village of Levisham with stunning views across Levisham Valley. All rooms elegantly decorated with king size or larger beds. All breakfasts and dinners cooked to order using the finest and freshest locally sourced produce. Fully licensed. Ideal location for discovering North Yorkshire and what it has to offer. The Moorlands Country House has won many awards in the past 10 years including guest accommodation of the year 4 times, Excellence in England silver award twice. We offer a warm welcome and relaxing time to all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorlands Country House Hotel Levisham
Moorlands Country House Levisham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing