We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect country retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorlands Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Levisham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorlands Country House
Ranked #2 of 3 Levisham B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A perfect country retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I booked the Moorlands hotel as a present for my dad's birthday. From the moment I picked up the phone and spoke to Gill regarding a booking I knew I (and more importantly my parents) would not be disappointed! My parents have stayed at lots of beautiful places all around the world over the years but said that the luxurious standard of accommodation and the service they received surpassed the 5 star rating. Nothing was too much trouble for their guests. My mum forgot to bring her toiletries bag so had none of her essentials, she was all set to drive to Pickering to buy what she needed but Gill would not hear of it and instead produced every kind of toiletry needed including face cream! The food was beyond delicious and the little extra touches that make staying away from home a pleasure were all there. They will definitely be returning for another visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Summer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We visited in late May and had four fabulous nights stay. We could not fault the hospitality, the bedroom with wonderful views down the valley, the tastefully decorated and furnished rooms and the perfectly prepared and presented food which was unforgettable. Thank you Gill and Ron for making our stay with you so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Moorlands is an extremely outstanding and beautifully-located guest accommodation. During my stay I was waited on hand and foot by Gill & Ron who are very friendly. I felt like it was a home away from home and the food was amazing. I would definitely recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: They have stables so if you're a horse person - you can bring them for a ride along the moorland...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

just returned from 1night stay. from the moment you arrive you are made to feel at home everything is perfect.the gardens and view are fantastic.
Gill is the perfect hostess so is Ron when Gill lets him out of kitchen !! but can cope with not seeing him as he produces such great food. our evening meal was exceptional and our breakfast this morning followed suit.I could write lots more but everyone else has said it for me .cant wait to return.thanks Gill for card and chocs

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Unfortunately we could only fit in a one night stay over a weekend but are so pleased we chose this beautiful house in Levisham. We appreciate the local scenery and as keen walkers, we intend to return later in the year and would recommend to friends and family. If you are looking for relaxation, breath-taking scenery from the rooms, good hosts and excellent food this is the place to stay. We can only support all the previous good comments submitted by other travellers. Gill & Ron obviously both work hard and strive to please their customers. The house is perfectly situated for exploring Levisham, the NYMR and walking the "Hole of Horcum", whilst also being in a good position to visit Dalby Forest and the coast. Nothing negative to report!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to be offered the 4 poster room with great views into the valley from the large wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISON E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned from another exceptional visit to The Moorlands. Everything is always of such a consistently high standard, from the accommodation to the food and the lovely warm welcome.Gill and Ron are a very special couple with such a lovely sense of humour. It is always a treat to stay at The Moorlands. We have yet to find anywhere to match it. It really does "stand out from the rest". We have booked to return again in October.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somewhereelse186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

another wonderful stay at the moorlands. situated amongst beautiful countryside with endless places to visit. gill and ron as usual looked after us marvellously.the food is excellent and the room was as usual immaculate

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levisham
6.4 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
13.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
4.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
4.6 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorlands Country House

Property: Moorlands Country House
Address: Moorlands Main Street, Levisham YO18 7NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Levisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Levisham
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorlands Country House is an elegant Victorian award-winning guest accommodation residence with 4 acres of garden. Set within the North York Moors National Park in the beautiful village of Levisham with stunning views across Levisham Valley. All rooms elegantly decorated with king size or larger beds. All breakfasts and dinners cooked to order using the finest and freshest locally sourced produce. Fully licensed. Ideal location for discovering North Yorkshire and what it has to offer. The Moorlands Country House has won many awards in the past 10 years including guest accommodation of the year 4 times, Excellence in England silver award twice. We offer a warm welcome and relaxing time to all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorlands Country House Hotel Levisham
Moorlands Country House Levisham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing