We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far surpassed all expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Levisham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorlands Country House
Ranked #3 of 3 Levisham B&B and Inns
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
“far surpassed all expectations”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The hotel was a delight from start to finish. The service was first class with personal service paramount. The owners were very welcoming and the whole weekend was a truly memorable experience.

Mr & Mrs Fletcher

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diwalnut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlton Nottingham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Hotel has a wonderful setting with rooms 3 and 4 plus the lounge and dining room looking straight down the unspoilt valley.The decor has been beautifully designed by your hosts Ron and Gill and then maintained to the highest standards.Bedrooms feature bathrobes, water, sweets and biscuits as well as a plentiful supply of tea, coffee etc. We were surprised to find so few people staying for dinner as these are a real delight and cooked by the multi talented Ron ( the meat is local and delicious), the meal is further enhanced by Gills "front of house" skills. The garden has everything you could want, chickens, geese, koi, fountains, lawns, woods, log cabin which is full of the aforementioned biscuits etc. It may sound too good to be true, but we have stayed at many top class hotels in this country(preferred to stay 3 nights at a higher price than 7 nights somewhere cheaper) and this one rates as highly with us as some that have been 3 times the price. Indeed, we have booked again already.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank chunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2006

We stayed at the Moorlands Country House Hotel for four nights. It is really a high class bed and breakfast, though Ron does cook evening meals if requested. Levisham is a beautiful location and the website doesn't really do justice to the tranquility and relaxation that you can get at the hotel.

The breakfast is an indication of the quality of stay you will enjoy. Ducks eggs or hens eggs from Ron's own stock, bacon, black pudding and sausage from the butcher/farmer in the village etc. Beware steak for dinner, it is likely to be one of their own Highland cattle, so no question the food is fantastic, fresh and local.

Ron is a "retired" builder and the refurbishment of the Moorlands by Gill and Ron provides one of the best quality buildings I have ever stayed in. All fixtures and fittings and decoration is excellent, it was one of the comfiest beds I have slept in away from home and my wife and I really enjoyed our stay.

To complete my summary, it is Gill and Ron that make this place even more special than its spectacular location and decor. They are full of life and interest in what you want to achieve from your break. Their attention to detail is exceptional and their ability to make you feel like close friends helped us to have a superb walking holiday.

The Hole of Horcum can be walked directly from the hotel, and you can walk down a steep hill to Levisham station (NYMR) in about ten minutes.

The hotel does not welcome children.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MycroftAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2005

Returned from a 4 night stay at the Moorlands Country Hotel in Levisham. It was absolutely gorgeous, Gill and Ron were most welcoming and made us feel very welcome at all times. When we arrived we were offered tea and cake in the lounge which was a very nice touch. The breakfasts were certainly most delicious and you could have as little or as much as you wanted. The bedroom we stayed in was luxurious (we had booked the last room due to Royal Ascot week) so if this was the lowest grade bedroom then I can only imagine how luxurious the others are. Dining room looks out onto fabulous views of the forest and moors and the garden is lovely. Would not hesitate in recommending to stay here and would certainly go back again. Lovely quiet, peaceful and wonderful people.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kitty1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levisham
4.5 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
279 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
307 reviews
1.7 mi away
High Dalby House
High Dalby House
#3 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Sinnington
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rectory Farm and Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorlands Country House

Property: Moorlands Country House
Address: Moorlands Main Street, Levisham YO18 7NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Levisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Levisham
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorlands Country House is an elegant Victorian award-winning guest accommodation residence with 4 acres of garden. Set within the North York Moors National Park in the beautiful village of Levisham with stunning views across Levisham Valley. All rooms elegantly decorated with king size or larger beds. All breakfasts and dinners cooked to order using the finest and freshest locally sourced produce. Fully licensed. Ideal location for discovering North Yorkshire and what it has to offer. The Moorlands Country House has won many awards in the past 10 years including guest accommodation of the year 4 times, Excellence in England silver award twice. We offer a warm welcome and relaxing time to all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorlands Country House Hotel Levisham
Moorlands Country House Levisham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing