We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorlands Country House
Ranked #3 of 3 Levisham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Our second stay with Gill and Ron and one which we would repeat more often time permitting.We were greated with a smiling face a pot of hot tea and home made cakes. Decided to stay in the room with the four poster bed. Great views over the valley. Ron and Gill were fantastic hosts. We chose the evening meal option and werent dissapointed "best steak ever" All food on the menu is sourced locally where possible and home prepared by Ron and Gill. Looking forward to going again very soon. Highly reccommended to those who enjoy style, quality and comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollythecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

All round excellence:- Gilll and Ron are wonderful hosts, superb cuisine, a well thought out menu, superior accommodation, lovely views and quite surroundings.
Lovely walks, wide selection of wild life and a famous heritage steam railway in the area.
A real gem. Well worth a repeat visit.

Joan and David

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Ron and Gill are wonderful hosts who make you feel very welcome. The evening meals, prepared by Ron, are of the highest quality and based as much as possible on fresh local produce with great choice and variety, a real treat every evening. The rooms are beautifully furnished and very pleasant. Our room (room 4) had a wonderful view of a lovely wooded valley. The garden is delightful and includes a pond and a very comfortable garden room overlooking a nice lawn. Before you set off for the day (walks, train ride to Whitby, visits of interesting houses) a superb breakfast awaits you, a very good start for the day! We have traveled a lot and have seldom felt so well looked after.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquesLondonOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Such a friendly welcome, with delicious homebaked cakes and tea. The room, with its beautiful view, was so comfortable and well-equipped you could have relaxed in it all day, reading and watching the birds on the large nut-feeder outside ,..but we were in Levisham for a family party.
The breakfast was exceptionally good...compote from homegrown fruit, homemade yogurt with local honey, Whitby kippers etc , and after all this we were offered croissants!
An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The hotel was a delight from start to finish. The service was first class with personal service paramount. The owners were very welcoming and the whole weekend was a truly memorable experience.

Mr & Mrs Fletcher

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diwalnut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Hotel has a wonderful setting with rooms 3 and 4 plus the lounge and dining room looking straight down the unspoilt valley.The decor has been beautifully designed by your hosts Ron and Gill and then maintained to the highest standards.Bedrooms feature bathrobes, water, sweets and biscuits as well as a plentiful supply of tea, coffee etc. We were surprised to find so few people staying for dinner as these are a real delight and cooked by the multi talented Ron ( the meat is local and delicious), the meal is further enhanced by Gills "front of house" skills. The garden has everything you could want, chickens, geese, koi, fountains, lawns, woods, log cabin which is full of the aforementioned biscuits etc. It may sound too good to be true, but we have stayed at many top class hotels in this country(preferred to stay 3 nights at a higher price than 7 nights somewhere cheaper) and this one rates as highly with us as some that have been 3 times the price. Indeed, we have booked again already.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank chunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2006

We stayed at the Moorlands Country House Hotel for four nights. It is really a high class bed and breakfast, though Ron does cook evening meals if requested. Levisham is a beautiful location and the website doesn't really do justice to the tranquility and relaxation that you can get at the hotel.

The breakfast is an indication of the quality of stay you will enjoy. Ducks eggs or hens eggs from Ron's own stock, bacon, black pudding and sausage from the butcher/farmer in the village etc. Beware steak for dinner, it is likely to be one of their own Highland cattle, so no question the food is fantastic, fresh and local.

Ron is a "retired" builder and the refurbishment of the Moorlands by Gill and Ron provides one of the best quality buildings I have ever stayed in. All fixtures and fittings and decoration is excellent, it was one of the comfiest beds I have slept in away from home and my wife and I really enjoyed our stay.

To complete my summary, it is Gill and Ron that make this place even more special than its spectacular location and decor. They are full of life and interest in what you want to achieve from your break. Their attention to detail is exceptional and their ability to make you feel like close friends helped us to have a superb walking holiday.

The Hole of Horcum can be walked directly from the hotel, and you can walk down a steep hill to Levisham station (NYMR) in about ten minutes.

The hotel does not welcome children.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MycroftAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Moorlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorlands Country House

Address: Moorlands Main Street, Levisham YO18 7NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Levisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Levisham
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorlands Country House is an elegant Victorian award-winning guest accommodation residence with 4 acres of garden. Set within the North York Moors National Park in the beautiful village of Levisham with stunning views across Levisham Valley. All rooms elegantly decorated with king size or larger beds. All breakfasts and dinners cooked to order using the finest and freshest locally sourced produce. Fully licensed. Ideal location for discovering North Yorkshire and what it has to offer. The Moorlands Country House has won many awards in the past 10 years including guest accommodation of the year 4 times, Excellence in England silver award twice. We offer a warm welcome and relaxing time to all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorlands Country House Hotel Levisham
Moorlands Country House Levisham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing