We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING, Best break we've had in a long time!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorlands Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Levisham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorlands Country House
Ranked #2 of 3 Levisham B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING, Best break we've had in a long time!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Our 1 night mid week stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary was so lovely and the best treat ever. Gill has the most amazing hosting skills and really made us feel welcome. The effort that both Ron and Gill go to is fantastic - homebaked goods at afternoon tea, beautiful dinner and awesome breakfast. There were many great treats in the bedroom as well for us to snack on whilst looking out at the amazing views of the Levisham valley.

It's a great location for exploring the Moors.

We've stayed in hotels with michelin star chefs and I can truly say we had a better time at Moorlands at a fraction of the cost. The food is local and beautiful presented. You will not be disappointed if you book a stay here.

Thanks Gill

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J&L22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Our second stay with Gill and Ron and one which we would repeat more often time permitting.We were greated with a smiling face a pot of hot tea and home made cakes. Decided to stay in the room with the four poster bed. Great views over the valley. Ron and Gill were fantastic hosts. We chose the evening meal option and werent dissapointed "best steak ever" All food on the menu is sourced locally where possible and home prepared by Ron and Gill. Looking forward to going again very soon. Highly reccommended to those who enjoy style, quality and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollythecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

All round excellence:- Gilll and Ron are wonderful hosts, superb cuisine, a well thought out menu, superior accommodation, lovely views and quite surroundings.
Lovely walks, wide selection of wild life and a famous heritage steam railway in the area.
A real gem. Well worth a repeat visit.

Joan and David

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Levisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Ron and Gill are wonderful hosts who make you feel very welcome. The evening meals, prepared by Ron, are of the highest quality and based as much as possible on fresh local produce with great choice and variety, a real treat every evening. The rooms are beautifully furnished and very pleasant. Our room (room 4) had a wonderful view of a lovely wooded valley. The garden is delightful and includes a pond and a very comfortable garden room overlooking a nice lawn. Before you set off for the day (walks, train ride to Whitby, visits of interesting houses) a superb breakfast awaits you, a very good start for the day! We have traveled a lot and have seldom felt so well looked after.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquesLondonOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Such a friendly welcome, with delicious homebaked cakes and tea. The room, with its beautiful view, was so comfortable and well-equipped you could have relaxed in it all day, reading and watching the birds on the large nut-feeder outside ,..but we were in Levisham for a family party.
The breakfast was exceptionally good...compote from homegrown fruit, homemade yogurt with local honey, Whitby kippers etc , and after all this we were offered croissants!
An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

The hotel was a delight from start to finish. The service was first class with personal service paramount. The owners were very welcoming and the whole weekend was a truly memorable experience.

Mr & Mrs Fletcher

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diwalnut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton Nottingham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2006

Hotel has a wonderful setting with rooms 3 and 4 plus the lounge and dining room looking straight down the unspoilt valley.The decor has been beautifully designed by your hosts Ron and Gill and then maintained to the highest standards.Bedrooms feature bathrobes, water, sweets and biscuits as well as a plentiful supply of tea, coffee etc. We were surprised to find so few people staying for dinner as these are a real delight and cooked by the multi talented Ron ( the meat is local and delicious), the meal is further enhanced by Gills "front of house" skills. The garden has everything you could want, chickens, geese, koi, fountains, lawns, woods, log cabin which is full of the aforementioned biscuits etc. It may sound too good to be true, but we have stayed at many top class hotels in this country(preferred to stay 3 nights at a higher price than 7 nights somewhere cheaper) and this one rates as highly with us as some that have been 3 times the price. Indeed, we have booked again already.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank chunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levisham
6.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
13.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.6 mi away
High Dalby House
High Dalby House
#3 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Sinnington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorlands Country House

Property: Moorlands Country House
Address: Moorlands Main Street, Levisham YO18 7NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Levisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Levisham
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorlands Country House is an elegant Victorian award-winning guest accommodation residence with 4 acres of garden. Set within the North York Moors National Park in the beautiful village of Levisham with stunning views across Levisham Valley. All rooms elegantly decorated with king size or larger beds. All breakfasts and dinners cooked to order using the finest and freshest locally sourced produce. Fully licensed. Ideal location for discovering North Yorkshire and what it has to offer. The Moorlands Country House has won many awards in the past 10 years including guest accommodation of the year 4 times, Excellence in England silver award twice. We offer a warm welcome and relaxing time to all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorlands Country House Hotel Levisham
Moorlands Country House Levisham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing