We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorlands Country House
Ranked #3 of 3 Levisham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We pulled in to the drive to see a breathtaking view down the valley .We were given a very warm welcome by Gill, the owner, and taken to our room which was very nicely decorated and very comfortable. Gill offered us a cup of tea in the lounge which came along with cakes and biscuits. There were lots of tourist information and magazines, books and board games . The breakfast was excellent, with all the produce sourced locally and some lovely homemade museli and yoghurt, fresh eggs from the resident chickens too. We had a very relaxing time and Gill and her husband Ron were so lovely to talk to, very friendly, warm and helpful , we will look forward to seeing them again next year and sharing their beautiful home with them .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtanottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

I am a bit loathed to write a review about the Moorlands as to be honest if it gets any more guests and we cant go again I will be absolutely gutted.
From the moment we arrived and were met by Gill the hostess to the time we left we were treated to the best service, best hospitality and the best food either of us have had, ever. The locally sourced food is an absolute treat. The steak I had on the Saturday night hung over the edge of the plate and was so tasty I cant imagine ever having one as good again until we go back. The dining room has a magnificent view back over the valley towards Dalby Forest and the picturesque village is such a surprise as you round the steep climb on the approach.

We cant wait to go back and see Ron and Gill again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaunie_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Our 1 night mid week stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary was so lovely and the best treat ever. Gill has the most amazing hosting skills and really made us feel welcome. The effort that both Ron and Gill go to is fantastic - homebaked goods at afternoon tea, beautiful dinner and awesome breakfast. There were many great treats in the bedroom as well for us to snack on whilst looking out at the amazing views of the Levisham valley.

It's a great location for exploring the Moors.

We've stayed in hotels with michelin star chefs and I can truly say we had a better time at Moorlands at a fraction of the cost. The food is local and beautiful presented. You will not be disappointed if you book a stay here.

Thanks Gill

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J&L22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Our second stay with Gill and Ron and one which we would repeat more often time permitting.We were greated with a smiling face a pot of hot tea and home made cakes. Decided to stay in the room with the four poster bed. Great views over the valley. Ron and Gill were fantastic hosts. We chose the evening meal option and werent dissapointed "best steak ever" All food on the menu is sourced locally where possible and home prepared by Ron and Gill. Looking forward to going again very soon. Highly reccommended to those who enjoy style, quality and comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollythecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

All round excellence:- Gilll and Ron are wonderful hosts, superb cuisine, a well thought out menu, superior accommodation, lovely views and quite surroundings.
Lovely walks, wide selection of wild life and a famous heritage steam railway in the area.
A real gem. Well worth a repeat visit.

Joan and David

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Ron and Gill are wonderful hosts who make you feel very welcome. The evening meals, prepared by Ron, are of the highest quality and based as much as possible on fresh local produce with great choice and variety, a real treat every evening. The rooms are beautifully furnished and very pleasant. Our room (room 4) had a wonderful view of a lovely wooded valley. The garden is delightful and includes a pond and a very comfortable garden room overlooking a nice lawn. Before you set off for the day (walks, train ride to Whitby, visits of interesting houses) a superb breakfast awaits you, a very good start for the day! We have traveled a lot and have seldom felt so well looked after.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquesLondonOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Such a friendly welcome, with delicious homebaked cakes and tea. The room, with its beautiful view, was so comfortable and well-equipped you could have relaxed in it all day, reading and watching the birds on the large nut-feeder outside ,..but we were in Levisham for a family party.
The breakfast was exceptionally good...compote from homegrown fruit, homemade yogurt with local honey, Whitby kippers etc , and after all this we were offered croissants!
An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Moorlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorlands Country House

Address: Moorlands Main Street, Levisham YO18 7NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Levisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Levisham
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorlands Country House is an elegant Victorian award-winning guest accommodation residence with 4 acres of garden. Set within the North York Moors National Park in the beautiful village of Levisham with stunning views across Levisham Valley. All rooms elegantly decorated with king size or larger beds. All breakfasts and dinners cooked to order using the finest and freshest locally sourced produce. Fully licensed. Ideal location for discovering North Yorkshire and what it has to offer. The Moorlands Country House has won many awards in the past 10 years including guest accommodation of the year 4 times, Excellence in England silver award twice. We offer a warm welcome and relaxing time to all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorlands Country House Hotel Levisham
Moorlands Country House Levisham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing