We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sauble Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sauble Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a wknd stay and it was beyond our expectations. Location is perfect nestled in a quiet treed area and just a few minutes walk to the beach. Price was very good and reasonable. We had a 1 bdrm family suite on the ground level, #31. Just a few steps up so its good for those who have a difficult time with stairs. The room was very clean! Happy about that since i am quite particular about cleanliness. Beds were comfortable, sheets felt and smelled clean. Room AC worked well. Our room was in the back of the bldg so it was quiet. My 2 yr old loved the pool, which was warm even at 7 pm, the playground and the hilly garden area. Was a joy watching him and other kids run up and down the hills! Overall it was a great experience! Will definitely be back. Kudos to the friendly and polite owners and to their son who was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cfoodiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    35
    13
    3
    19
See reviews for
83
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent 3 days here and were very happy with this place. Owners are great people, very service oriented and friendly. Heated pool was great in the morning and evening as we spent most of the day on the beach - a 2 minute walk :) beach is amazing and the water was nice, not freezing cold. Room we had was comfortable for 2 adults and 3 kids, beds not very comfortable, but did the job for the two nights we stayed. Room was very basic, small fridge and microwave but very clean and also had an air conditioning. They do offer rooms with small kitchen, with stove and reg. size fridge, which we'd to book for our next visit. Overall we had a great time here and we'll be back next summer!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfeeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We are currently staying in a large hotel room in sauble lodge this weekend. I am so glad we have come back here for the 2nd time this summer. The first time was one weekend about 2 weeks ago, we regularly go up to muskoka but wanted to try something different. Let me say, i am so impressed with the location, service, and value of this lodge. We are one block away from the beach, the grounds are very well kept, the pool has a resort feel, and the owners are friendly and kind. My children are having more fun than they ever have before. We will be back again, esp because its half the cost of what our muskoka vacation ususally is.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesaloneastgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place was pretty rough. We paid $129 for a cabin. It was an attached cabin. The floor was so rickety and slanted I almost fell out the front door when I got out of bed. They only good thing was the high water pressure and nice hot water which was nice after a few days of camping. The lady at the desk was friendly as was the 3 legged dog that was tied in front of our cabin. It looks like the building was just patched together with glue and stucco.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidTownDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saublebeachlodge, Manager at Sauble Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking time and writing a review. The floor in the cabins was done last year and they been there at least last 20 years. I do not think glue would last that long. We do have have some family suites and motel rooms much nicer but little bit more money. Looking forward to see you in near future.

Jas Grewal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauble Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our stay at the Sauble Lodge was the highlight of our summer so far. Our family of five stayed in a room large enough for all of us (rare when you have 3 kids). The lodge is one block from the beach which is amazing. 11 km of sand beach with the worlds best sunsets. Top it off with a large heated outdoor pool with a separate kids pool. There are nice patio loungers to relax in while watching the kids swim. The hotel provides outdoor bbq's and our room had cooking facilities and a fridge which is great so you don't have to eat in restaurants every meal. We were only a short walk to the main street where there are nice shops to poke around in or if you are in search of an ice cream or some other tasty treat. The owners are very accommodating and the property very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saublebeachlodge, Manager at Sauble Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your stay was comfortable and relaxing We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best regards,

Jas Grewal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family and I stayed at the sauble lodge last week as we do every summer. Once again the service was great and very kind. The location could not have been better, you can see the beach from the hotel and walk there in seconds. My kids very much enjoyed the pool and my room was very clean.
another great stay in sauble and I recommend sauble lodge if you are looking to take a trip up this summer

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saublebeachlodge, Manager at Sauble Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your stay was comfortable and relaxing We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best regards,

Jas Grewal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a birthday celebration of 6 women all turning 50. We had the family suite which was 2 bedrooms, 1 and a ½ bath, a kitchenette and a small living room area. The size was super, more than ample for 6 people.

This place is very old and dated but it was cleanish. The furniture and fixtures looked like they came from valu village in the 60’s era. The one bedroom had a large closet but the closet rod was on the floor, no place to hang up anything. The sheets on the bed were old, stained and frayed. We all kept our shoes on as the carpet looked yucky too.
Both bathrooms had no towel hooks in them, our handtowel had no place to hang from .The kitchen sink had no stopper in which to wash your dishes in.
The pool which was nice and warm had a dangerous slide that was held together with duct tape. The legs of the slide had just 2 legs imbedded in the concrete instead of all 4. The diving board was extremely slippery as it was painted with the wrong kind of paint. There is a sauna but you need pliers to turn it on as it was missing the knob.
The pool was noisy each afternoon as the owners’ kids had their friends over for swims and 15 year olds can be loud! However, the owner father did tell them many times to quiet down but kids being kids, they were only quiet for a bit.

The owners were always seen working: changing garbage, bringing towels etc. They were very friendly and tried their best to accommodate.
I think they should start working on updating these rooms as I would go back if some of these issues were fixed/addressed and for the high cost (over $325 per night), I expected more.

This location is awesome, which is probably why they charge over $325. A 2 minute walk to the beach and a 20 minute walk to the downtown area.
This place also had air conditioning and free wifi.

All in all, if you don’t mind old and dated, this place is ok for the great beach access.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saublebeachlodge, Manager at Sauble Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for taking your time and writing a review. We are very disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay with us, but must respond to some of your concerns. Regarding the water slide health inspector comes every month and does the inspection and the paint on diving board was his requirement if the slide is unsafe he would not pass it. Most of the furniture was changed 3 years ago and every body has a different taste. The reason for the knob for the sauna is under 16 is not allowed in the sauna perviously we had problem all the kids were going into the sauna. So we took the knob off if someone wants to use it they just have to ask one of the employees to turn it on. As far as the noise in the pool area kids do make noises and most people are there with the kids and they do not mind while their kids having fun. The rod in the bedroom was not broken it was just taken off it is very easy to put it back on. We are looking forward to see you in the future.

Best regards.
Jas Grewal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauble Beach
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
133 reviews
16.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
458 reviews
10.5 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bel-Air Motel & Cottages Sauble Beach
1.7 mi away
Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina
14.8 mi away
Super 8 Port Elgin
Super 8 Port Elgin
#1 of 6 in Port Elgin
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sauble Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauble Beach Lodge

Property: Sauble Beach Lodge
Address: 213 Second Ave North, Sauble Beach, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Sauble Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sauble Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Sauble Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauble Beach Hotel Sauble Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing