We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and beautiful river views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were 2 couples who enjoyed our stay at the Kit Wat for 2 nights in Aug. What a beautiful location, and knowing it's a popular spot because we've been vacationing in Sauble for many years, we booked well in advance & were pleased with the cleanliness & comfort of our side by side rooms in the building separate from the main motel. The rooms need some up-dating, but the bed was sparkling clean & comfy, & the TV, fridge, & A/C all worked well. Upon check-in, we were pleased as requested, to have the rooms facing the road, in order to accommodate my husband who can't negotiate stairs easily. At night after some good food & drink at the restaurant, we played cards at the tables down by the riverside where it was beautiful & quiet & we had some ducks interested in learning Euchre come by. The lovely riverview and the friendliness of Jackie & her family & her staff, and their excellent service in the restaurant & throughout the motel are what make the Kit Wat worth going back to. We felt well taken care of, and will look forward to future stays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Katherine23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilove2bamom, Owner at Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Hi! Katherine, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Rooms 19 & 20 and look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you for your feedback!
Kit-Wat Management, family & staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

The rooms are very clean and have older furnishings which are well kept. Most of the rooms face the river; the view is amazing, the first night I saw a beautiful sunset - right from the balcony of my room. I had very memorable trips kayaking the river upto the Sauble Falls and down to Lake Huron. I stayed here for 5 days (just after Labour Day), the restaurant was closed during the week and open on Saturday and Sunday - I had two tasty breakfasts with very good service. The room rate is very competitive - definitely good value. It is very well run establishment with friendly staff that go out of their way to assist.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rtcapone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilove2bamom, Owner at Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased that there are people that actually appreciate all of the effort our staff and management put forth in providing a clean friendly resort. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Best regards,
Kit-Wat Management and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and myself stayed for 3 nights. The motel is in need of some updates, such as a new shower, new linoleum. Staff are very nice. Food was fair, we ordered the special, they had NO mashed potatoes and NO vegetables ?????????????????. The view was very nice, as we were on the ground level with a kitchen. I must say the kitchen was stocked with dishes, utensils and pots and pans. Would I recommend this place possibly, it is a beach/party town, so you just go and enjoy and ignore your sleeping quarter surroundings. I asked if I could bring my dog as we dont go anywhere without him, but I was told NO dogs allowed, but we saw not just 1 dog but 2 ???????????????????????????? Never did see the owners???????????

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilove2bamom, Owner at Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Hi! Sylvia5557,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our fabulous location, well stocked kitchenette and friendly staff. At no time have we ever ran out of vegetables and since opening for dinners for the first time this summer I am very proud to say that we have only once had to substitute our
mashed potatoes for our homemade fries and that was our last night of suppers this past Sunday and for our last customer. That must have been your husband's liver dinner because you ordered your dinner with our homemade fries and gravy. Please tell him we will give him an extra large scoop next time!! We do accept dogs always!! Service dogs! and we had a nice young boy that stays with us regularly and requires a service dog to assist him. The other pets you may have seen are likely people that come to the waterfront for their daily walk and they often have their dogs with them and sit along the waterfront,fish off our docks, or enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at our waterfront restaurant. We have been doing extensive updating and renovating since taking over 6 years ago and will continue to do so. Our mission is to provide all of our guests with a clean comfortable place to stay while vacationing in Sauble Beach.
Best regards,
Jacqueline Van Gerven
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed the labour day long weekend with 2 small children under age 4. Our room over looked the water. Was a NICE view. Yes rooms are dated but can tell the management is updating slowly. We didn't find the room small for 4 people at all. All rooms are very clean and had HOT water which is always a good plus. Yes water isn't the greatest but what do you expect when staying on the waterfront, you would get that anywhere expect in your own home in the city. The resort was very clean inside and out along the tables. Restaurant food and staff were great. The beach is a 5mins walk and very clean and having swings there was an added bonus for small kids. I would definitely come back here next summer and even recommend to family and friends. Jackie was a very nice lady and always had a smile.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilove2bamom, Owner at Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback we truly appreciate it and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Best regards,
The Van Gerven Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We came with the family on 30st aug and still got one more night till morning of 2nd of september. Worst room ever. Too small for 4 people for sure, shower very very old, but worst of all? The water. The water is sulfur treated and tastes very very disgusting.. so bad it even stinks horribly. It is undrinkinable. Also the wifi connection reaches about 1/4 of the room to one side only... bet its a very old router. The good things include EXCELLENT staff service, very affordable and tasty restaurant food and the motel is 5 mins away walk from the beach and main street. The rooms also look at a nice river. But would I recommend this motel to a friend? ABSOLUTELY NOT.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrayZi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilove2bamom, Owner at Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for complimenting us on the great detail and effort we aim to achieve in providing great service to our customers. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our waterfront restaurant, this was our first year open for breakfast lunch and dinners and we put forth a great deal of effort in offering as many homemade items as possible (Lasagne, schnitzel, meat loaf, spaghetti, burgers, deep fried ice cream, homemade pies etc. as well as the usual pub style favorites all at family friendly pricing. Our router is actually only approximately 1 month old so I am not sure why you were having difficulty. We had a hot water pipe burst in the main building on the holiday Monday morning and it effected our system for approximately 1 1/2 hrs. Our water is treated and tested and is no different than city water and does not smell. Our regular guests call well in advance to ensure that they get a room that will accommodate their party comfortably as we do have rooms that will sleep up to 6 people facing the water. We are always fully booked for the Labour day weekend and all other weekends during peak season for that matter so if you decide to visit us again in the future please call ahead. Our rooms do book up very quickly as we are the only marina motel and restaurant on the water in Sauble Beach and offer extremely competitive rates.
Best regards,
Kit-Wat Management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Booked a room for my mother for 3 nights at the motel expecting at least 3 stars for the $145/night price tag. Disappointed with the whole experience from mold and dirt in window air conditioner screen. Then to find mold in and around sink not so appealing. Rooms are dated which is the norm for a summer town, which also is the reason for musty old smell. To the credit of the staff, we did get to change rooms for the second night, but that was also not up to par, with a rusty standup shower stall...hmmmm just signs of neglect. We decided that we would like to check out and not stay a 3rd night. When we finally had the chance to speak to the owner/manager for a partial refund on the 3rd night, we were totally disgusted in his abrupt and customer service attitude. Goes along with the shape of the motel. He is here just to make money and not a reputable business. Too bad, good location and staff!

Room Tip: As a trusted reviewer, I would never suggest an accommodation/business where the owner/manager has i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pellydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilove2bamom, Owner at Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Our regular customers will contest to the fact that we have been making drastic improvements to our business and take great pride in providing our guests with a clean and comfortable place to enjoy their holiday. Our rooms are definitely not mouldy or musty. (They are old though the motel was built in the 60's) We have a fantastic group of cleaning staff! Our customers do come first and we go out of our way to please, unfortunately we are not able to please everyone all of the time especially when they insist on a waterfront room and we cannot offer them one because they are fully booked. The author's mother called on July 17th and booked a room for August 5th -8th, 3 nights. She specifically asked for a waterfront room, however because we are the only waterfront Marina motel & restaurant in Sauble Beach our rooms book up very quickly during peak season. I explained in great detail that the room did not face the water and that we had a 72 hour cancellation policy. She agreed to the terms and booked our room for $135.00/night+tax. She checked in at 5:45 pm on August 5th and once again asked for a waterfront room, we informed her that we still did not have one available as the motel was fully booked. Tuesday August 6th, at 8:00 pm. after occupying the room for 24 hours she came to the office once again and decided that the room was no good for her and she asked for a refund. My colleague offered her another room, she looked it over thoroughly and accepted it. (This room did not face the water either) August 7th. The following morning she asked for another refund on the remaining nights stay and was told once again about the 72 hour cancellation policy and offered yet another room (once again not facing the water) She then handed in her key and chose not to stay. At 7:30 pm on August 7th she came to our door with her son whom we had never seen or met to this point and he proceeded to yell at my husband! In order to avoid any further confrontation with this seemingly irrational and ignorant person my husband boldly explained the cancellation policy to them once again and walked away to avoid any further confrontation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I contacted the motel in July to book rooms for Aug. 1 and 2. Initially, I was given a quote by email of $145 per night. When I called to confirm, I was told the price for Aug 2 was going to be $185 because it was the Friday of the long weekend. They would not stand by their initial quote so I cancelled the reservation.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travellers704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilove2bamom, Owner at Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Hi! Our rates are very competitive and in par with our surrounding seasonal tourist area. August 1st would have been $145.00/night as stated, however if you wanted the Friday night which was part of the civic long weekend then the rate is $185.00/night+tax. and we do instill a 3 night min. booking on all long weekends. You may stay 1 or 2 nights any time mid week (Sunday - Thursday) or off season ($75.00/night+tax) During peak season it is a 2 night min. on weekends during July & August and 3 nights for long weekends. Our rates are very competitive. We do not at any time take reservations via email and always confirm all reservations and quotes by either calling our customers or having them call us. We always go over the rate details, dates and cancellation policies precisely with each customer over the phone at the time of booking so here are no misconceptions. We regret that that was not clear for you. Perhaps an inland motel would suit your needs better as their prices are generally a bit less expensive during peak season as they are further from the beach and not waterfront. We do offer reduced budget friendly rates off season.
Best regards,
Jacqueline Van Gerven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauble Beach
1.7 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
146 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lakeview Motel & Cottages
Lakeview Motel & Cottages
#2 of 6 in Sauble Beach
94 reviews
9.6 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
149 reviews
17.6 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sauble River Marina and Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina

Address: 71 Sauble Falls Rd, Sauble Beach, Ontario N0H 2G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Sauble Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Price Range: £79 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only marina motel restaurant on the water in Sauble Beach and offer a fully licensed waterfront patio and restaurant. Our Restaurant is open 8 am - 8 pm all summer and open 8 am - 2 pm off season weekends. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinners during peak season. We are just a 5 min. Walk to the beach and offer free parking onsite, fire pits, BBQ's, free unlimited usage of our canoes & kayaks and fishing from your doorstep. We offer air, heat, cable TV, fridges in all of our rooms. Efficiency units and free wifi onsite. We look forward to your visit! Please forward all inquiries to our website as we no longer reply or respond to messages on public blogs on this website or any other public websites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kit Wat Motel Restaurant And Marina
Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina Hotel Sauble Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing